We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Aeolos !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aeolos Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aeolos Beach Hotel
Save
You added Aeolos Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Skala
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Loved the Aeolos !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the Aeolos in July this year and we so enjoyed our stay we have booked already for next year ! Angela Chris Michael and staff are brilliant ..tending to your every need . Keep up the good work guys !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    23
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
54
184
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent 2 fantastic weeks at The Aeolos Hotel with our 7 year old son the end of August/Sept 2013. This is our 3rd visit and as always we had a great time. As seasoned travellers we have rarely returned to the same location, but the Island of Kefalonia and specifically this Hotel incapsulate all our best experiences.
It's lovely to read all the positive reviews and see how many other holiday makers have enjoyed this location. We were sorry to hear Elizabeth b of London was unsatisfied with so many aspects of her holiday. We could not fault the Hotel in any way.
We will resist making personal remarks and hopefully offer a balanced review of the Hotel rather than it's guests.
Angela and Chris work tirelessly to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is freshly prepared and delicious. There is a varied menu for all tastes. The Pool is extensive and one of the cleanest and best maintained we have experienced. During the School holidays it should come as no suprise to find families with children. On all the occassions we visited we had no issues sharing the pool with adults or children alike. Angela and Chris keep a close eye out for unreasonable activity whilst allowing individual freedom, which is often stifled in the UK . Parents were always on hand to make sure the children behaved respectfully to other guests. There are Hotels close by that cater for couples only and if you travel during School holidays, and struggle with children, this is an option you could consider.
Topless bathing is not uncommon either on the beach or by the pool.It is common place thoughout Europe, even in the UK. Most modern thinking individuals are unsurprised by this and tend to respectfully mind the preferances of others. If you are offended by the topless sunbathers, it is something you are likely to encouter at Hotels catering for families as well as couples whilst travelling to sunny locations, maybe with the exception of Saudi Arabia.
We did not find the music by the pool too loud as in some other Pool locations where it has been known to employ DJ's. If you locate yourself at the far end of the Pool the Music is barely audible, even to a bat. Old habits I think will die hard and we will hope to revisit this location again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our 1st visit to Aeolos and as other reviews state the owners Chris and Angela were very friendly. The hotel was very clean and in a great location, 20 minutes walk from the centre of Skala. There were some lovely restaurants within a 10 minute walk from the hotel and the meals were reasonably priced. The supermarket at the bottom of the slope was well stocked with all the holiday essentials. We requested, and were given an upstairs room. The balcony, although quite small, had a great view over the sea. Our room had a small fridge( could have been slightly cooler),kettle,coffee cups and a couple of glasses.
Our main disappointment was in and around the pool area, it wasn't as quiet and relaxing as previous reviews suggested. We appreciate the hotel isn't ' adult only',but at times there seemed to be a lot of children and inflatables in the pool and this made it difficult to have a relaxing swim. This however didn't really spoil our holiday as we went to the beach if the pool was busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaMags
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We returned for the second time this year having arranged the holiday with 2 other couples who we met 2 years ago at the Aeolos . In total 13 of us arrived and found other couples that had been there in 2011 were also there.Angela and Chris greet you like old friends and treat everyone the same . Nothing was ever to much trouble for them and always went out of their way to make your stay perfect . Hotel spotless ,Food excellent , Angela , Chris family & Staff priceless .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We returned to Aelolos Beach Hotel this year and it was like coming home... it is rare, I feel, to go back anywhere that you have been so highly impressed by and find that it exceeds your expectations again! We were there towards the end of August/ beginning of September. Angela and Chris welcomed us like long lost friends, and I don't think we were the only returning guests! Words are not enough to express my admiration for the way the family run this hotel- it is always immaculate, from the bedrooms to the restaurant,pool area, bar and flowerbeds. Customer service and satisfaction are clearly top of the agenda and they are quick to deal with any request or query voiced. There was a sense of belonging, many of the guests got talking to each other, and often there were shared games and conversations in the pool- with couples, children, families and varied ages all intermixing and enjoying each others company. It is lovely that our children had others to play with and that the other adults, as well as the hotel staff, were so inclusive of youngsters- without hotels like this it would be impossible for parents of young children to enjoy such a stress free environment during the Summer holidays ( and the kids welcomed the alternative companionship). It seems to be a standard, on the island, that pretty much most of the hotels and pool bars will welcome outside visitors to their pool facilities, as long as refreshments are purchased on site... personally we found this benefical as it gave our kids new playmates and therefore they were less likely to be bored and argue with each other (as invariably siblings will do eventually and therefore annoy other guests). Also we were able to talk to people staying at other accomodation-which only strengthened my opinion that this hotel, and the way it is run, truly is a jewel. We will definitely be back as, I'm sure, will many others ( in fact I understand many are already re-booked for next year)!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Having just returned from two wonderful weeks at the Aeolos Beach Hotel this August, I would agree with Elizabeth B’s comments on how hard Angela and Chris work to offer their guests the complete package when it comes to a summer vacation. It’s precisely for this reason that we find our self’s totally incensed at the remainder of her report. Having been at the Hotel during that same period with our 7 year old son, we find it to be at best misleading and at worst totally unfair and inaccurate.

We would like to give an accurate account of what individuals with reasonable expectations can expect from this magnificent location. The booking for this Holiday is via Thompsons Holidays and that being the case any requests that an individual may have of a reasonable nature or otherwise should be made to your travel agent or travel operator. I would not expect to be able to ring or email the accommodation directly with a list of demands relating to where my room should be located and how soft my pillows should be. After all, the Holiday companies are paid to provide you with the appropriate package, leaving Angela and Chis to take care of you whilst you relax by the pool and not be occupied replying to hundreds of emails.

The Hotel and it’s Pool caters for families with children. During the school holidays you would be sensible to expect children in such a location. There are couples only residences available in Skala for those who find children offensive. The children at the Pool during that period (including my son) played reservedly and were closely supervised. The music by the pool is not loud, and barely audible if you located yourself at the furthest end of the Pool. This gave residents the option to either listen to the background music or not. The rooms have air conditioning and safes. The air conditioning is certainly required at times, the safes less so as it is not the sort of place you would expect anything to go missing.

I do however have a warning. If you have difficulties with, rooms on the ground floor, pillows that aren’t soft enough, children splashing or indeed just children, large or small inflatables, Badminton, music, security issues, the heat and topless bathers, I suggest looking elsewhere for your summer vacation. You will certainly find peace and quiet wherever that may be, as you will be the only ones there!!!

We think 182 out of 188 reviews on this site rating this accommodation as Excellent or very good speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Speak to your Holiday Company
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just read Elizabeth B's review and felt very remiss at only just getting round to doing mine. We were there in August and had a really great holiday, I'm sorry she obviously had some problems. Management and staff work incredibly hard and can't do enough for you. The pool was spotless as was everywhere in the grounds and rooms. We found the music unobtrusive and just pleasantly in the background. We had checked the hotel on line and already requested a higher room with a sea view (via Thompsons)so had no complaint with that. I also love swimming and alternated between a stroll down to the sea and in the pool. Again we were lucky and there was always plenty of room. Quite often I was the only one in! When the children were playing they weren't a problem and the parents kept an eye on them to ensure no upset was caused to other guests. We ate out most nights but had a snack (and cocktail) most dinner times. The meals were fresh, tasty, and large! Their salads are huge and we often shared a sandwich or wrap because one each was just too much. I watched in fascination as Angela forced enough chicken to feed 4 people into one wrap! Sunbathing almost naked, this is a difficult one, personally the sight doesn't bother me but if you are offended by this a hot country is probably somewhere you'll be hard pressed to avoid it. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you Angela and Chris.

Room Tip: If it is available 205 (middle floor) has lovely views and is in a good position. Anything higher ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aeolos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeolos Beach Hotel

Address: Skala Beach, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skala
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Aeolos Beach Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aeolos Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.