We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Skala Hotel & Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Skala Hotel & Village Resort to your Saves list
Porto Skala Hotel & Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Atsoupadon Skalas, Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

The hotel is fantastic and is very clean and well kept. The swimming pool is also very well looked after even though it is cold, but makes a welcome relief to the heat. It was very hot about 90c and this was mid May. There are two minuses to the hotel.. firstly I would say that the food is pretty dire, which is such a shame. Its a buffet type meal, but its very bland and pretty much everybody I met started dreading meal times and started eating out.

The other minus is the hotels position. Its about a 45 minute walk from Skala. We enjoyed the walk as we are still pretty young, but some people may find this difficult. Its downhill to town which is great and you can get a taxi back for 5 euros..though these stop before midnight so don't have a late night.

I would highly recommend First Choices Meza night which is the Greek night and is held in a wonderful Taverna in Poros. Makis who owns the Taverna has a bit part in Captain Corelli and is such a character..

All in all we loved Kefalonia and will definitely be going back.. We may not stay at this hotel but we shall certainly stay in Skala.. and next time I will definitely be taking Car Hire.. this is a must in Kefalonia to get around//

  • Liked — Pretty hotel
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    31
    12
    3
See reviews for
33
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lancs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

we stayed for 1 week at the start of July and loved every minute. It was just before the main school holidays, so hotel was quite quiet. Nice mix of nationalities and all very friendly. We went with our 5 year old who adored the pool area and small play area, so we didn't do too much exploring. Yes the rooms were basic, but spotlessly cleaned every day and little niggles were sorted out immediately. Air Con was free and freezing - Fab! We were half board and the food was mostly good. Skala itself was a disappointment although the beach was good. It's mosly one road with restaurants (some VG) and gift shops, and lacking Greek charm, but at least there's a nice little park at the top of the main road. Only did one organized trip - the castaway cruise to Xi beach, which was a great day out (try not to be snobby about the karaoke on the way back - best to just join in!) All the staff were welcoming and eager to please, and you can't often say that! It was our first hot holiday abroad with our daughter and we will certainly go back, but will definitely hire a car to see some true Greek villages.

  • Liked — great location and sea views, welcoming staff
  • Disliked — skala was a bit of a let down
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

My wife and I had a fantastic week in Kefalonia staying at the Porto Skala.

This hotel is highly recommended for both couples and families who will both enjoy the pool, well kept gardens, friendly staff and abundant breakfasts.

Skala town is a pleasant 30 - 40 min walk away and is full of great restaurants. Our favorites were Flamingo (request a table in the rear garden courtyard); Mi Abela and Galleria.

Hiring a car is highly recommended to get the most out of the island including trips to Fiskardo and Asos in the north via the scenic west coast road.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

this hotel has everthing if you a ,way from it all holiday ,skala is only 5 euros in a taxi away and the hotel is has good as the photos
We are a family of 2 adults and 1 child and would go back again !!!!

  • Liked — the relaxation of it all
  • Disliked — pool needs cleaning more often ,but was not that bad
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire,UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

We stayed at this hotel end June , start July 2007.
Overall the hotel is very good , the swimming pool and the views from the pool area accross the Ionian are superb.The pool area was never crowded and very few people in the pool ; it appeared that most people went out for the day exploring the lovely island.The rooms are pretty basic as is a lot of Greek accomodation , but it did have very good air conditioning , free safe and were well cleaned every day.Ask for a sea view if staying as some of the lower level rooms , are without the view.
The buffett was well presented , with plenty of choice and fresh hot food was always coming out to replace empty dishes , even if it was 9 o'clock at night.Normally there are only 2 choices of pudding , plus ice creams.
The staff are all very good and friendly throughout.Would recommend this hotel if staying in Skala.

  • Liked — Views from pool area
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2006

At the price paid, really can't complain at all. Staff friendly and helpful. Great view from private balcony. Comfortable room, good chice of TV channels, fridge in room. Went half board - food plentiful and varied. Veg - top marks. Meat - obviously not of the highest quality but then you're crazy if you think you'll get that at any buffet outfit! Guests well behaved. No chavs. Lots of lively Italians who certainly added to the atmosphere. Evening entertainment was very hit and miss. If you're into Butlins type stuff you might enjoy it I suppose.

Do yourself a favour and hire a jeep while you're here. The roads are safe and the views stunning and plenty of opportunity for off roading.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2006

Porto Skala Hotel

We stayed 11 days at the Porto Skala first two weeks in September.

Our room (910) was very well positioned on the first floor of the Greek Style village chalets and had an excellent view out to sea. I would recommend asking for a sea view on the first floor as many chalets are not so attractively situated and you may just end up facing into someone elses balcony or one of the walkways.The room was comfortable with efficient air conditioning, a fridge with ice tray was very handy for our pre and post dinner drinks and our supply of chilled water to take on day trips. The hotel gardens are attractive and well kept.

The room made up every day and bedding and towels regularly changed. Our room had a small bath containing the shower. This worked well and the shower screen was impressively water tight, so the bathroom floor didn't get flooded.

The hotel's best assets are outdoubtably the swimming pool which is immaculately kept and the terrace restaurant which is attractively designed and has a fantastic view out to sea at the front and over the pool from the side. The side aspect is more comfortable for breakfast as there is little shelter from the sun at the front. The restaurant staff are very helpful and efficient, greeting us each evening to take our drinks order before we helped ourselves to the buffet dinner. However, the staff were occasionally a little over keen in removing plates that were still in use during meals. Children are welcome and the staff showed a genuine interest to those we saw during our stay.

The menu rotated daily, so there was always something new amongst the regular offerings
I would have liked fresh coffee at beakfast and a selection of fresh fruit, and I personally found the orange juice revolting! However there is always a good choice of meals and plenty of it.
Spaghetti Bolognaise was available every night.

Reception was very welcoming when we arrived and dealt with our further enquiries well. We even requested an iron and ironing board and this was made readily available at no charge.

Entertainment was a little thin,on our second night there was a Greek Night with dancing which filled us with optimism for the following nights entertainment, but we were to realise that that was the last Greek Night for the season. A singer strummed with Guitar on a couple of evenings, his humour infinitly better than his singing, however he played the guitar well. However, we did find good entertainment at the adjacent Sans Georgio Hotel(Thompsons).

A basic bar was available in the evening with some reasonable canned music.

An unsupervised excercise room was available next to the pool, containing a basic range of equipment, and a CD player which unfortumately didn't work.

We used the pool snack bar a couple of times for lunch. The food was freshly prepared and good, if you are half board you can,by prior notification to reception, take lunch instead of dinner. We did this on our last day, but despite notifying reception twice we still got charged for lunch!

The Hotel location is excellent, next to the sea and with a couple of attractive pebble beaches, however it is quite a walk into Skala, and a late walk back at night certainly needs a torch. You really need to hire a car to see the Island to the full, the Hotel has an untarmaced car park opposite, there is attractive lighting on the pavement opposite to guide you safely to the Hotel. Being next to a main road made no difference to our enjoyment of the pool or restaurant, in practise there is little traffic, but because the road is straight what traffic there is travels fast, so be careful when leaving through the main gate, especially with children.

To sum up, Porto Skala Hotel was a good choice for our first visit to Kefalonia, you will get value for money, it is clean, friendly and the food is good and plentiful, excellent views of the islands and a great uncrowded pool.

Our special thanks to Julie on reception, Liana and Vierka for keeping our tables clean, Koula for her dedication to duty and humour, even at the end of a long shift and finally the lovely Maria with her haunting Greek eyes and explanation of how to use the Greek Coffee kit!

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly
  • Disliked — Repetative menu, no fresh coffee, orange juice that tasted like sherbert
  • Tips/Secrets — Choice a room with sea view on first floor - hire a car
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Skala Hotel & Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Skala Hotel & Village Resort

Address: Atsoupadon Skalas, Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Skala Hotel & Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porto Skala Hotel & Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Skala Hotel And Village Resort
Porto Skala Hotel & Village Skala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Skala Hotel & Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.