We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paspalis Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paspalis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paspalis Hotel
Skala 28082, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 hotels in Skala
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have just returned from a lovely weeks holiday. A big thank you to all the staff who helped to make our stay a happy one. The breakfast is one of the nicest we have come across on our Greek holidays and our room was more than adequate. Will definitely holiday here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    59
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
35
128
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was our first visit to Kefalonia and we chose the right spot. The Paspalis is just across the road from the beach, sitting on the terrace you get a wonderful view of the bay. Nikos, Chris, Rhia and all the staff are lovely. Our room was perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable. All the hotel was kept immaculate. The restaurant menu was very good plenty of choice and always delicious, which showed as popular with locals and holidaymakers from other hotels. We had a lovely relaxing holiday and would definately recommend staying there.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room & had No26 over the reception, which was quiet. It was at the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

I would like to reply to reply to the pervious review. What a load of rubbish the maid and staff are amazing very helpfull. September weather is alway hit and miss but would Definatly recommend staying here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly but a distinct feeling that if you had visited before, you were part of the 'in crowd'. That said, the staff were lovely, particularly Rhia and Panos. Room and bathrooms were basically clean, but I dropped a pill on the floor, and it was there for five days! Beds perfectly comfortable - could have done with the top sheet being a bit larger though. These are not major complaints. Only disappointment really was the fact that there was no hairdryer in the room or tea making facilities. I know the latter is probably an English thing, but when they are catering basically for the English .....- this would have made it so much nicer. Beach lovely - beds only 5 euros for the day which is cheap, and there were lots of them. Beach is however horrendously painful to walk on; take some beach shoes!! We felt however is was unnecessary to have a menu for those on half board ( which was us). Felt a bit like second class citizens. You can choose from the main menu though, and are given a basic price of 30 euros for your meal. Anything you spend over that, you pay extra for. Why not just use the one menu and explain that in the first place? There is a notice in the room which states that the towels are changed every three days. Well, this didn't quite happen - was 3 the first change and then nearer to five. However, we had a lovely time. Pool area very clean with lots of sun beds and is surrounded by palm and fig trees. I will add that the restaurant was very busy in the evenings compared to some other tavernas, and that says a lot about the food.
( 2 OAP's)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our first visit to Kefalonia and couldnt have chosen a better location for our stay. Paspalis is set on the beach about a 10 minute walk from the restaurants and tavernas of Skala. The theme here seems to be 'laid back', very peaceful. On our arrival the manager checked us in and insisted on taking our cases to our room. We were in room 25 situated above the reception area with views over the pool and the sea, very central to everything but quiet too. Beautiful at dawn seeing the sun rise over the sea. The rooms themselves are typical greek fayre fairly small and basic but clean and comfortable. Our bathroom was small but with a good shower, it did the job.The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed when required no problem. The pool area is spacious with plenty of sunbeds, we never had any problem in finding one any time of day and the pool clean and a good temperature. Fairly deep in the middle so not suitable for small children. The view from the restaurant is super, looking out over the sea. Breakfast is a fairly simple affair, hams, cereals, yoghurts, fruits although a cooked alternative is available for 4 euros, nice for a change. The restaurant is popular with locals in the evenings and gets fairly busy. We found the staff friendly and helpful and had no real complaints about our stay.Skala itself is very chilled, mainly family run tavernas and resaurants in the main street. For something a bit more lively (though not over the top) try the Captains Bar with its wide range of cocktails...happy 'hour' 6-9 every night. Kefalonia is a beautiful island strongly recomend hiring a car to explore, there are some lovely coves and villages. Overall thouroughly enjoyed a chill out week , felt totally relaxed the whole week, ideal for couples but probably not enough night life for younger holidaymakers.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room as some lower rooms seem to be cramped and have no views at all. A pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in September. Firstly, we arrived and waited 15 minutes at reception. Eventually we went looking for a member of staff at the bar and a woman came, made us point out our names and then took us to our rooms. Not a great start.

The room:
Basic would be an understatement. Two twin beds, which were rock hard (think this is common in Greece). The room itself was small, about the size of our bedroom at home, with a wardrobe, desk and one chair. The bathroom was tiny, I hit my head on the sink when sitting on the toilet. There was just about room for a small shower cubicle. You can't flush toilet paper down the toilet ( but you can in the hotel next door). No English tv channels bar CNN news (American) on a tiny old tv which didn't really work. The balcony was nice thought. When we stayed we had 3 days of thunder storms and heavy rain. Unfortunately due to a 2 inch gap between the front door and floor, and the same with the balcony doors, the room flooded from the front and back.

The service:
Whilst it was pouring with rain we decided to stay in our room and sleep as the thunder had kept us up all night. Unfortunately the maids couldn't understand this and came in 3 times despite us clearly telling her no. Then she went to reception, who called our room telling us the maid HAD to come in. We eventually agreed to do the sheets ourselves so we could get some sleep. The next day the owner came up with the maid to ensure we got out our room. Isn't it OUR holiday? We just wanted some sleep! Ironically the maid didn't change the pillow case for the entire week we were there. There was no hair dryer, but fortunately I brought my own anyway.

We had an evening flight, but we were told we had to be out the room by 12. They said there was no where for us to leave our bags and no courtesy room. In fact they went as far as to say "the only rooms you can use tomorrow is the toilet and reception". I don't think this is very good in this day and age.

Outside:
The pool is nice, but deep and not suitable for children. It's also very cold! (probably due to our weather). The sunbeds are about 20 years old, they don't match and look knackered, you sit on the metal bars as lots of them have sunk under the weight of years of use.

Food: didn't try breakfast as our room neighbours told us it consisted of "boiled egg and dodgy ham" (their words!) the lunch was not great, so we went elsewhere after the first day. Didn't try evening food after the bad lunch experience.

Entertainment: we didn't see any.

Overall:
2 years ago we stayed in the anassa hotel which is next door (we could see our old room from this one). It's a 4* hotel with a lovely couple who run it, the rooms are split level and beautiful, modern and large with plasma tvs and English channels. The air con was also free (€30 for a week at paspalis!!). They let you enjoy the holiday the way you want it and also provide a great rock night. And it's cheaper than a week at the paspalis!!

This hotel is also for the older person, I think the average age is about 60, and it seems many people come back year after year which can make you feel a little uncomfortable, like you shouldn't be there.

This hotel is definitely nearer a 2* than 3*. Thomson also forgot about us and we had zero contact from a rep. So my advice, if you're thinking of a week at the paspalis, check out the anassa first. For less money you can have a much better hotel and holiday if you go next door!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We didnt stay here but ate in the restaurant a few times and never had a bad meal. Staff friendly and attentive, happy to help and the Typical greek cuisine was very good. Good value, nice location with sea views. Only minus was smoking allowed in bar area but apart from that excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paspalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paspalis Hotel

Address: Skala 28082, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Paspalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paspalis Hotel Cephalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paspalis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.