We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelari Taverna

Kelari Taverna
Old Skala, Skala 28086, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 43 Restaurants in Skala
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Crouch End
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Go for the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have visited this restaurant several times over three years. We always have a good experience, although this isn't necessarily on account of the food. The beauty of the view in the late evening light is amazing, and the staff have always seemed friendly and efficient to us. I would say the food is actually better this year, and a bit more varied - more fresh fish in particular. The goat with cheese is tender and tasty, but my partner was less keen on the lamb cooked in paper - too much, too dull. The swordfish and the sea bream are plainly but well cooked. There is no fancy food here, and I think the prices are a bit above those in town, but it's worth going for the view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such expectation -such disappointment!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in Skala in summer of 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed the whole dining experience the view was and still is superb, the service was excellent and the food - the best we ate all holiday. We returned to the Kelari this year and we were so disappointed. The service was lacking and the food was seriously substandard. Elements were stone cold. The goat in red sauce - last year such a highlight - had almost no sauce at all. We will not be returning again this year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic food with fantastic views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited the kelari after a walk around old skala. We both had versions of the goat in red sauce - which was delicious and plentiful - followed by some delicious walnut pie. The waiters were both really friendly and efficient. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this taverna - great food coupled with lovely views of skala made it our favourite meal of the holiday. Well worth the taxi fare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice view, shame about the food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

After coming highly recommended by a friends sister who had been there before we were really looking forward to visiting this restaurant when we went to scala, also the reviews on trip advisor looked mostly good (we decided to ignore the bad reviews about microwaved food, which seem to have been taken off here now!) Well I can honestly say it is the most disgusting meal we have ever had. We had the mushrooms to start which came drenched in vinegar, and decided to have the goat for the main which turned out to be a pile of bones with a little bit of meat in the middle somewhere and it was cold! obviously cooked ahead and reheated so was just glad we were not ill the next day! Also they kept trying to send us bread which we did not want and sent back twice but when they let us think it was part of the mushroom starter put it on the table anyway then had the cheek to charge us an extra 5 euros for it! The waiter was very rude and offhand, we should have complained really but we were up in the mountains and relying on him to ring a taxi for us so decided we would just prefer to get back to the hotel. Such a bad experience of disgusting food!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A real gem.............. I love love love this place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Must go to this place 6 or 7 times every visit to Kefalonia from lazy lunches to romantic evening meals. Everything is homemade and delicious I adore Grandmas meatballs and the goat is stunning old family recipes passed down by the generations. The views are stunning the waiter doubling as the local fire watch man during the day. Can honestly say this will be my first meal on our visit this year and we always make it the last one before we return home. Bit of a jaunt to get there but well worth the visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelari Taverna also viewed

Skala, Cephalonia
Skala, Cephalonia
 

Been to Kelari Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelari Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.