We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Skala Kefalonia, Skala, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Skala
Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

After reading all the reviews on trip advisor we felt we were making a good choice of hotel and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is modern, clean, spacious and of top quality, built like a little village. the rooms are away from the main hotel in blocks and very pleasantly situated. We were greeted by a most cheerful receptionist and was given the hotel information whilst we sipped a pleasant fruit drink; we were taken to our room on the buggy which was not too far from the main hotel. We had upgraded our room and were pleasantly surprised as the room was clean, modern and very spacious with plenty of cupboard, drawer space. The bathroom had a bath and a large walk in shower, a decent hair dryer and magnifying make up mirror; the only criticism was that when you showered the water travelled over most of the bathroom floor making any further visit to the bathroom wet and slippery. The air con was very quite and easy to use. When we arrived it was lunch time and decided to sample the Caesar salad that we had read about in the previous reviews.....it was beautifully presented and delicious, with enough for two people. The buffet breakfast and evening meal was again beautifully presented with the chef on hand to enlighten you on names of dishes and ingredients which was a lovely touch and he seemed so proud of what he had produced; there was not a lot of choice as we have experienced in other hotels but what was on offer was delicious; the staff were so pleasant and extremely polite and attended to you very efficiently. Whilst you ate Ollie entertained you playing his trumpet and singing, he was very good and it was nice music to have a dance to, one evening we were entertained by 'Hollis' who was a rock singer, he was very good too. The bar staff were friendly and efficient and very good at making cocktails!
The gym is not big but has quite a selection of machines, weights, skipping ropes and towels. The pool is quite chilly but was welcome as the weather was really hot for the time of year, it's large, deep and spotless and pool towels are supplied; we went on a boat trip with 'Captain Vangellis' about 600yds from the hotel and the hotel kindly lent us the pool towels for the day. We hired a jeep for 2 days from 'Greekstones' in Scala and toured around the island, which was very pleasant.

All in all, it was a most pleasant experience and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    87
    17
    7
    0
See reviews for
13
470
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Fantastic hotel and very memorable holiday. The room was superb and the bed extremely comfortable. The shower was probably the best I've ever come across! The pool area was good and we never had a problem getting sun beds, whatever time of day. Cocktails after dinner a must!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in this beautiful hotel. Everything about is perfect for a holiday, not sure where to start with specifics but the infinity pool is beautiful, the restaurant and the quality and choice is beautiful, the chef is very enthusiastic and is in attendance on most evenings. The rooms are modern and good size, the bathrooms are beautiful. The location is perfect, short walk, 15 mins. from Skala and the beach is directly in front. The evening entertainment is lovely, the restaurant and bar staff are so cheerful and attentive. The hotel is family run and the family members are always around to assist if required.
We had such a lovely time, our only mistake was to book for 7 nights, we should have booked 10 or 14. We highly recommend it and we will be booking again for next year, all being well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Visited the lovely Tesoro blu at the end of September. We researched the hotel so we were aware of the hotel layout and are at a loss to understand it as an issue. In fact the rooms being at the back of the plot provided real peace and quiet at the end of the day. No door banging in the middle of the night, no road noise and lovely views of the hillside behind. A buggy was always available for anyone wanting a lift - but the short stroll did not bother us at all. The room was great - really comfortable beds and spotlessly clean. The bathroom and shower were fantastic. The illuminated make mirror is great for us long sighted ladies! There is a plasma tv but English channels very limited - however who goes to Kefalonia to watch tv! There were more channels in the bars which kept the football fans happy! The air conditioning is really quiet and very effective.
I initially thought having the White bar in the middle of the buffet restaurant was odd but actually turned out to be inspired. Most guests chose to eat a relaxed evening meal and stay in the bar/restaurant to enjoy the low key musical entertainment. Both my husband and I were particularly pleased to get ICE-CREAM with the evening meal...yeah! We always found something we enjoyed at breakfast and dinner ... You really have to be very picky to fault the buffet. The chef and owner were always on hand to sort any problems and they kept the restaurant running very smoothly.
The black bar upstairs was never open and there seemed to be a lot of under used space on this floor. The events co-ordination had the best job in the world. No sign of him during the day and he propped up the bar in the evening....didn't bother us personally as we just wanted complete R&R but some may have wanted a bit more in the way of organised activities.
The pool area is a bit cramped when full but there was always sun beds and no need to get up early to get a bed. The position of the pool means a lovely see view while sunbathing.
We went on the premier island trip which was advertised as having a maximum group size of 30 people but there was a coach full...not the hotels fault but naughty of Thompson. It was a good day but very tiring in the heat.
Skala itself is within easy strolling distance and there is a great choice of very nice restaurants. The beach is ok but not fantastic but there are limitations on what can be done with it because of the Turtles who use the Island beaches.
The big positive of this hotel has to be the adults only status - we love kids but can no longer eat a whole one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this modern, designer hotel however we probably will not be returning.

Positives - lovely room and bed, modern bathroom, fab showers, good selection for breakfast, beautiful pool, spa looked gorgeous, nice staff, quiet and plenty of sunbeds.

Negatives - The hotel did seem unfinished to us which lets the outside down visually which is a shame, beach opposite is a let down, long walk to restaurants/bars, impersonal, smell from the drain in the bathroom which we complained about twice, was apparently fixed but still smelt, tried to book massages at the spa but they had no staff to this, very oriented around Thomson Couples guests as opposed to guests who are not!

The main issue we had is having stayed in Fiscardo and Ithaka for a week at the beginning of the holiday in lovely little family run B&Bs and having seen a lot of the beautiful island, we were disappointed with Skala and this bigger hotel.

We will definately return to Kefalonia and Ithaka but not to Skala.
We would recommend this hotel to older friends and family, who are happy to spend the majority of their time around the pool, eating at the restaurants and restricted to Skala.

Please hire a car and as much of Kefalonia as you can - you will not be disappointed.
HTH

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel Tesoro Blu is absolutely fabulous just like the other reviewers had said. Our only disappointment was the beach, there was no sand just really hard to walk on shingle it was almost impossible to get into the sea off the sun beds, which was a shame because the sea was lovely to swim in. The Hotel has a fantastic pool so the beach probably would not bother most people. Staff were excellent, food was very good. Overall very enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberside
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is the best hotel I have every stayed in the rooms were huge, 6 foot bed and so quiet. Adults only what bliss. Took a trip to Fiskardo which is definitely worth seeing. Quite a long walk to the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa

Address: Skala Kefalonia, Skala, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala
#5 Family Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tesoroblu Hotel Skala
Tesoroblu Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TesoroBlu Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.