We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday at the Mareblue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mareblue Apostolata Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mareblue Apostolata Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mareblue Apostolata Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porou Skalas, Skala 28086, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 hotels in Skala
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday at the Mareblue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Returned from an amazing week's holiday at the Mareblue Apostolata.
Anyone who gives it a bad review needs their head testing.
From the moment we arrived, we knew we picked the right place. Peaceful and beautiful.
The staff were very friendly and helpful even transporting us and our luggage directly to our room.
Our apartment i could not fault in any way and we had the most beautiful view of the coast which i miss seeing now we are back. Listening to the sound of waves crashing is wonderful.
We went half board and the food was great. Something for everyone.It was tasty and plenty of it.
The pool area was excellent and whilst there were a good amount of people around it didn't feel busy and cramped. Comfortable sunbeds too!
The shuttle bus provided to transport you into the resorts of skala and poros was good. although it would be better if the hotel ran it a bit longer into the evening.
The hotel isn't suited for those wanting parties and extreme nightlife, its great for those who want to unwind.
I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior-sea view room and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    116
    35
    23
    9
See reviews for
64
215
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wantage
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just returned from a weeks holiday with my wife and 4 friends.
We had an excellent holiday. Hotel and food excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Bit remote but if you want it peaceful and quiet then this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a sea view. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We booked our last minute holiday at the MareBlue Apostolata only days before we were due to depart so didn't get around to reading any of the reviews on Tripadvisor until the day we were leaving. Having read them I was dreading our arrival. I could not have been more pleasantly surprised. It's a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. Yes, it is a good walk into Skala but taxis are plentiful and theres also a hotel shuttle bus that runs 3 or 4 times each day. The staff could not have been more helpful and were polite and cheerful at all times.

Our room was large with a great walk-in wet-room and a balcony overlooking crystal clear blue waters. The pool was down about 90 steps but there is a golf buggy available for those unable to make the stairs. The pool itself was big enough that it never felt crowded and there were always plenty of sun-beds for everyone.

The Spa was fantastic. My husband almost moved into the Gym and I had 3 great Massages by Nikki during our stay who was extremely professional and an excellent therapist.

All in all a fantastic hotel that we would highly recommend and look forward to visiting again soon.

PS: The Scaninavian Restaurant in Skala served the best swordfish we have tasted in many years.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner last year and was very excited as I had heard good things about this hotel. It was very nice, the room was good, there is a gym & beauty salon as well as a large pool, an infinity pool & brilliant bar & restaurant setting. Our room was a short walk down to the large pool- but there is quite a few steps- nothing to overly complain about but if elderly people go keep this in mind.

We are very much a couple who like to go away & relax in the sun. The 2 pool areas are nice with lots of loungers. However, the 'beach' that the hotel is on is like a rocky edge with steps goin into the sea (not my idea of a beach). The first day we went for a walk down there to 'explore' and I was bitten 11 times by Mosquitos- (make sure u take plenty of repellant). The nice beach is a short shuttle bus away 10 mins or so I would recommend that definitely- stick to the poolside at the hotel.

There is a cocktail bar near the very posh reception area & a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea with sofas & tables for chilling out & drinking in the evenings. The restaurant is similar on a large balcony (some outside seating and some inside). The food was good- buffet style with lots of choice.

All in all, I was v happy with our stay here. The only complaint 'really' was the beach at our hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Well...where to start really. The happiest day of your life is to get married and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect day. It was such a shame to have our honeymoon spoilt by a very inept resort. When I say inept I mean all the way through, from the bell boy at Reception all the way up to the Manager.

There were that many faults on the holiday that to go into a short story would turn into a very long one, so I'll stick with the bullet points to help future travellers / honeymooners.

• Room not set up for honeymoon. – First impressions are everything. So, on your honeymoon you expect that little bit more. The room they took us to was not welcoming. We were supposed to be getting flowers, sparkling wine, fresh fruit and water. Well...we got none of those, but a nice fresh smell of faeces coming through the air conditioning system.

• WASPS, WASPS, WASPS. – This resort simply has an infestation of wasps. There are wasp nests everywhere. On the ceilings on the top of ventilation systems, next to the pool. So where there is food and drink, there were hundreds of wasps. You could not go 5 minutes without one near you. After 2 weeks of this it gets very frustrating.

• Hotel at Capacity - During the booking we were told the hotel was completely full, so that was why the price was higher. For the whole 2 weeks there was hardly anybody there.

• Cleanliness – Over the whole 2 weeks the pool was cleaned twice. This led to hundreds of flies floating around the pool, dirty decking and horrible smells.

• Entertainment – A bit of a laughing stock really. The singers were nice enough, but it reminded me of a bad Karaoke night at a local bar in England than a supposedly 5* resort.

• Animation Team – For me animation means liveliness and having spirit. This animation team were more like 2 of the 7 dwarves, Dopey and Grumpy. At no point in the trip did I actually see them work, apart from serving a drink once, which the girl actually shouted ‘I hate doing this work’. The rest of the time they either looked hung over or were eating their free food at the buffet.

• The Reception Staff – Favourite quote of the holiday. ‘I don’t know’. They didn’t seem to know much about anything and when we had an issue the response was like a frightened cat. Customer service is going that extra mile for the customer. Not to stand there with a blank face and solve absolutely nothing. This leads onto the bell boy, whose favourite task at work was to watch TV not to help people who were staying there with their heavy suitcases. A bit weird to be honest.

• Private Pool, not so private – We paid for a private pool, which was stunning. Only the problem was other guests came into our pool. This deems the pool not private. Again, when we asked for the issue to be sorted it was stated ‘Are they really bothering you’. Well...yes, because we paid a lot more money for a PRIVATE pool. The issue was not sorted.

• View – You looked to the left and the view was beautiful. You looked straight forward and had a nice view of derelict buildings and a dumping ground for what we presumed were staff of the resort. Pipes, old air conditioning units, bricks. Lovely!

• Resort on Shut Down – We went in the middle of August for 2 weeks. A word of warning...the resort seems to be winding down at this point. This meant less chefs, bars in the resort shutting down and even less entertainment than a couple of nights. So, basically nothing in our last week. This led to less of everything and quality dropping.

• Drainage Smell – As mentioned earlier on the smell of faeces in this resort was nothing short of vile. The front of the hotel had about 50 grids all venting a disgusting smell. This floated over to the air conditioning system, which then pumped the smell all over the room. Not nice!

A short insight into the Resort Management of the Mareblue Apostolata. The management were rude and it came across that there was a clear hierarchy of class divide between staff members. We live in a time now where equality is important. We realise that clear staff and manager boundaries have to be set, but we did not expect the manager and other staff members of higher positions to be stood around doing nothing all day and literally barking orders at staff who were working very hard.

In fact, the only time we ever saw the manager move was when he sat down for a convenient fully serviced meal brought to him and his family by the staff who were also serving resort guests. They were treated better in that half an hour, than we ever felt during our stay. If only the management worked as hard as staff like Gerasimos, than this resort might have been a really nice place to stay. But, all we were left with was a string of broken promises and an underlining impression that something is just quite not right at the heart of the Mareblue Apostolata.

If you are looking at booking this Resort think twice about your options. You may want something nearer to Skala, as there is no beach in walking proximity. We would recommend getting a hire car. We got this from CBR in Skala (€160 for 3 days) and we had a fantastic time exploring the Island. It says a lot when your best time of your relaxing honeymoon is spent away from the resort you are staying at.

The one bright spark, that made the honeymoon not a total disaster was the standard of food. We stayed on an All Inclusive basis and the food was always great. They had a great selection for meat eaters like myself, but catered well for vegetarians also. Chefs like Theodoras were the only saving grace for a poorly ran resort.

Overall, it is quite clear that this resort is far from the 5* rating it gets. Looking at previous comments from other travellers it is clear that problems do exist at this resort. Managing a place like this means you have to take into consideration customer issues and collate information to improve standards further in future. Looking at the lack of responses on Trip Advisor from management suggests their issues are deep. Whether it's laziness or they do not value customer comments I do not know. An absolute major let down.

Stay somewhere else. The proof is in the Pictures.

Room Tip: Do not upgrade. Not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had a great time at the Mareblue.

Like mentioned in other reviews, it is a little way out of Skala, which adds to the appeal because it is quieter and not full of children. This is truely an adult holiday!

The food choices were excellent with the food being very tasty - my partner hasn't stopped talking about the desserts!! The staff are friendly and the hotel was lovely and clean.

We arrived very late and the manager was very accommodationg, keeping the restaurant open past its hours to ensure we could all get dinner. We had a problem on one day with the toilet not flushing. We rang reception and it was repaired with 2 hours!!

Lovely hotel. Beautiful island. Friendly staff. Relaxing and lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Firstly, it has taken almost 2 months to write this review. Our honeymoon was a sincere let down. We spent almost £4000 for 2 weeks all inclusive at a supposed 5* hotel. It is a watered down 5*, making it more of a basic 3*. Throughout our stay, we found that people staying in a basic room, using the main pool and on h/b basis, has a much better time than us. We booked a shared pool room to give us that extra privacy and to make our trip extra special...but were we ever wrong.

Our Welcome
When we arrived at the hotel, we were not wished 'Happy Honeymoon' despite prior emailing them at least 2 months before our trip. As we arrived between the buffet lunch and dinner, we were quite hungry. We were not told about the cafe by the pool and that we could get something to eat there on our all inclusive basis. We were however promised, by a prior confirmation email, flowers, sparking wine, fruit and water in the room. What we did get was a water and fruit. When I went to ask about the sparkling wine, they said that they would send it, I had to go back a second time and remind them that we still had not received it. I showed them the email and also mentioned the flowers. The receptionist said that they couldn't do that. This was clearly stated in the Olympic Holidays brochure. It is not an oversight that a 5* hotel should be making.

Location
We didn't mind the location because we had booked a shared pool, so we didn't have to bother with the stairs going up and down to the pool. We did rent a car for 3 days for 150 euros which was amazingly worth it. The rest of the island is simple beautiful (Assos, Myrtos Beach, Fiscardo, Antisamos Bay).

Shared Pool Room
Please take a look at my pictures as I am showing the true view from outside the room door. It now makes complete sense why no one had shown the true view, because it is a dumping ground for the hotel with bits of roofing, tubes, chairs, bricks, air conditioning units being strewn about. Once every few days, a hotel truck drives in where 1 or 2 guys dumps some more stuff.
Also, there is no definitive line for the lower-half of the pool (coming off of the hotel lobby for use by ALL guests) and the shared-pool (for use ONLY by guests with that room). I had to complain time and time again. Once when I went to the hotel reception, which I really shouldn't have to even complain about something in a 5*, the girls asked me if they were bothering me. Well yes, they were, because we paid for the shared-pool room and they were using our pool. The only way to convince the girl was to say 'Ok, so I can go and use the villa pools because it doesn't matter'. They got the bartender to ask the guests to move. This happened at least 3 times within the first week.
Unfortunately, our air conditioning unit would also often smell of feces at any given time of the day. There was also a general untidiness surrounding our room (stains on sheets, mold all over bathroom floor, outdated furniture/tv), pool area (on a poster by our pool, it said, vacate the pool at 6pm each night for maintenance...we only saw this twice, bugs floating all around) and our terrace (never properly cleaned as at 10am each day we were already outside).

All Inclusive Basis
I have lots of experience in all inclusive hotels, especially in the Carribean, and this did not make the cut. Yes, overall the food was good, and no we didn't ever go hungry but we did notice something very interesting. The food quality in the second week (last week of August) significantly decreased. We noticed less staff and less food (ie. no risotto chef, less waiting staff). The value was in the drinks. They do make you feel very awkward though if you are constantly at the bar. Also, they make you feel awkward when ordering a bottle of sparking wine during the day/night, which is allowed according to their poorly-written in English leaflet in the room. Also, during the second week, we noticed changes with the lobby bar (the closest bar to us in the shared-pool rooms). It was now going to be closed until 5pm, meaning we would have to walk 20-25 minutes (we timed it, down and back up stairs carrying drinks, just to keep us hydrated during the day). My husband had to write a review in their lobby guest book just for them to realise. So from then on, it was open every other day after that. This is when the bar staff started to be extremely rude to us, insinuating that our room wasn't a honeymoon suite....well, it was OUR honeymoon suite.
The biggest shame of the eating facilities is the massive wasp problem. We tried eating outside for breakfast 2 times and resorted to eating inside for the other days. Lunches we ate outside, not sitting beside the shrubs and with my husband frequently putting them underneath his glass. Upon noticing this problem, it was VERY obvious to us that there were at least 10 very large wasps nests around. This also resulted in us not drinking outside our room, we had to keep the drinks inside or run about with wasps flying after you.
It's probably better if you own/manage the hotel...because when you go to eat in the main dining area, you get heightened service of bread brought to you in a basket and 2 or 3 waiters taking care of your table.
As we rented a car for 3 days, it says that All Inclusive basis guests can order a takeaway lunch. The first day, we ordered 2 tuna lunches between the options of ham and tuna. When it came time to eat, we were given 2 greek-style PORK tin cans of spam. Needless to say, we did not order after that. What a waste.

Entertainment
Most 5* hotels are spot-on with their entertainment. During the first week, there was a guy in the hotel lobby area bar singing to backing tracks with a horrible speaker. A karaoke-singing couple, a horrible excuse for a "Greek Night" by the pool. The second week was much the same but everything was by the lobby.
In terms of daily entertainment, there was absolutely nothing. The 2 people hired as 'Animation Team' looked frequently hungover and angry (see picture of them in the morning). They were never seen doing any activities, instead they were often serving drinks around the pool.

Honeymoon Upgrade?
Since day 1, I was inquiring about a possible honeymoon upgrade. They told me that they would get back to me. Which after 7 days they didn't, so I re-inquired. Nothing. What happened next truly RUINED our trip. As we were in a more private area of the hotel that was quieter and more sheltered from others, it seems a great place for couples. Unfortunately, we knew our neighbours were leaving 1 week into our trip, but what we didn't know is who was coming in. We had 1 day of pure relaxation, no one around and then that night, there was big commotion around their balcony with the Manager/Owner (someone looking important) fussing about outside. Little did we know that who were moving in was a family with a special needs adult child. As a Teacher, I am completely aware of special needs and disabilities, but to knowingly place a family beside a honeymoon couple is more than rude. They were upgraded to that room free whereas we PAID for our room. Well, I had to complain time and time again about our neighbours. They were especially noisy, rude, splashed a lot in the pool and at one point, the son was touching his private parts while lying in his sun lounger and staring at me. My husband and I felt absolutely disgusted. I complained to reception who just said 'oh yes, the couple with the special needs child'.
It was only at that point where we were offered 2 choices.
1) We change rooms (for 5nights of our 14) to another room in the shared-pool area.
2) Pay 100 euros a day to move rooms into a villa room.

I can just say that I told them no, we are not paying to move rooms and also, that we would not be moving 2 rooms down as it is more hassle for us. Instead, it resulted in us blaring our music when they left their balcony door open with the tv blazing and also saying rude comments.

No true 5* hotel would have their guests being as visibly stressed as we were...ESPECIALLY on our honeymoon.

I have been reading the past reviews, and I am sure that we were at the same hotel, just that we had heightened expectations...yes, we know 5* in Greece isn't always 5* but it wasn't even close. They did nothing special to enhance our vacation and were often reluctant to help. I had requested to speak to the manager on countless occasions, and he was conveniently never around.

Please send me an email for more pictures and more information.

If we were to ever return to Kefallonia, we would very obviously not stay there but instead stay in a self-catering residence on the more-beautiful Eastern side of the island.

Room Tip: Don't get the villa, it's only 1 floor and not private. Choose a new hotel. Shared pool room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mareblue Apostolata Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareblue Apostolata Resort & Spa

Address: Porou Skalas, Skala 28086, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Skala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Skala
#6 Family Hotel in Skala
#13 Romantic Hotel in Skala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mareblue Apostolata Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrender to comfort at the Apostolata Island Resort & Spa. Beautifully situated on a hillside slopping gently to the sea allowing dazzling Mediterranean views. Enjoy pampering spa treatments, sailing, swimming, followed by delicious meals. Visit the village of Scala, famous for its Roman Villa or explore the village of Poros all within easy reach of our Kefalonia hotel. Discover the personal service and amenities of this hidden gem, a perfect retreat for a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mareblue Apostolata Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Apostolata Hotel Skala
Mareblue Apostolata Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mareblue Apostolata Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.