We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Socrates is the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Socrates Taverna

Socrates Taverna
Socratis Grouzis, Skala 28100, Greece
2735 6972524554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 50 restaurants in Skala
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Socrates is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife, Anne and I have just returned from Skala where we had the pleasure of staying and eating at Socrates Taverna. If you want the most authentic Kephalonian food you must give Socrates a try! The owners, Socrates and Eleni, are two of the nicest people we have ever met and the taverna is a real family concern. This is the fourth year that we have been going there and the third year we have stayed there.
John and Anne, Bradford

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    78
    19
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have been going to Scala for many years now and always return to Socrates. If you want good traditional Greek food with a relaxing atmosphere then this is the place to go. You are made to feel very welcome and the food cannot be faulted.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My happiest memories are made here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The restaurant is a family run Taverna where the meals are made with homecooked, loving tradition. We are not talking about touristy plate smashing shows. We are talking about the food that would have been on family tables in Greece for decades.
Spetsifi, Kleftiko and Pastichio are our faves, forgive my spelling. They are melt in the mouth delights.
We have visited the Island 9 times and we love to go to the warm welcome of the wonderful family that is Socrates, Eleni, Dimitri and the amazing Rebecca.
Kick your flip flops off, relax, take in the smells and be prepared to fall in love all over again... So romantic.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“WITHOUT A DOUBT THE BEST TAVERNA ON THE ISLAND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Being a regular visitor to kefalonia, I cannot think of another taverna that even comes close to socrates. It has always been my fave... the food is always amazing, as is the service. Staff all do everything they can to make your experience special, and as for the wait for the food, I have never experienced it to be too long. Besides, surely a small wait for your food is all part of the Greek experience, right? Don't have a single bad thing to say about this place.. chicken souvalaki is a must, also stifado and feta on the grill! u'd be missing out for sure if you don't visit during your hols! :)

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

As a party of 5 we sat down in Socrates around 8.15, the waiter then took our drinks order which they got wrong (we only ordered beer & water). Our order was then taken and we waited another hour, we asked the waiter who assured our food was on its way. When our food arrived again mistakes were made with side orders (chips instead of veg, no potatatoes etc) and the sea bass was dry and overcooked. The portions were more like children's in size. When we finally got the bill they had charged an extra 6 euros for bread.
If we had not already arranged to meet up with friends at 10.00 we would have walked out and eaten somewhere else. The waiters were surly, there was no apology for the service. This was the only bad meal we had in Skala and I wouldn't want anyone else to
have their evening spoiled like ours was. Try Galera, The Pines or Flamingo if you want to be well looked after.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socrates Taverna also viewed

Skala, Cephalonia
 
Skala, Cephalonia
Skala, Cephalonia
 

Been to Socrates Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Socrates Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.