We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel but unfriendly staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum

Save Saved
You added Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Main Taunus Zentrum 1, 65843 Sulzbach (Taunus), Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Seligenstadt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean hotel but unfriendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here last Sept 2012 for our wedding anniversary with my 1 year old baby. Location is super close to Taunus Zentrum (large shopping mall) so we selected this hotel. It was clean but there's no kettle for boiling water and I have my 1 year old baby with me and she needs boiled water for her milk. I called the reception to ask if we can have a kettle for my baby but the receptionist told us in an unfriendly tone that that's all that are included in our room. He said though that there's a coffee maker where we can also boil water water but i told him its for my baby and the coffee maker smells of coffee so we can't use it. Still, we didn't get any kettle.

We had a lot of problem with this because we didn't bring bottle warmer too since i was expecting there's a kettle and my baby doesn't like drinking cold milk. we ended up putting water on the coffee maker and putting the bottle with milk on the warm water. It took so much time heating the milk. And when we left we didn't have hot water for my baby that can be mixed with her milk during our travel back home.

For this hotel as big, without kettle? and worst is even if you explain to receptionist, they wouldn't care and try to help you even a bit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doframt, Manager at Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you did not feel 100% comfortable with us due to a very unfortunate situation with your family. We provide free tee- and coffee-facilities with a special maker/kettle in all guest rooms. However we could not provide an extra kettle in order to heat water for your babys milk. Please allow us to make your next stay a most enjoyable one. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    74
    24
    13
    2
See reviews for
4
18
13
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in the Dorint while in the Frankfurt area on business. It is away from the city - but connected to the Main Taunus Zentrum, a large shopping center, by a short walk (though I wouldn't buy anything too heavy to carry back....). I had stayed in this location 6 years ago, and I was a bit surprised at my perception of the hotel's quality this time. The hotel is clean and comfortable - and that's what mattered most. However, some little things are starting to look like they could use some attention. The carpeting in the hall on my floor appeared to have large spills (even bleach spots) on it, there were chips out of the textured wall in my room. At times, both the hallway outside my room and the hallway off the lobby on the main floor smelled as if they had sewer gas in them. Food in the bar was average and expensive. Front desk staff were very cheerful and helpful. Mini bar is very expensive in the room. At the Main Taunus Zentrum there is a Rewe supermarket. I bought bottled water there and brought it back to my room - this was orders of magnitude cheaper than using the mini bar. For the location, this hotel was fine for me - it is just starting to show its age a bit and could use some updating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doframt, Manager at Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jason, Many thanks for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks to the closeness to the MTZ shopping mall and the excellent connectivity to the A66 Autobahn which connects us with the city of Frankfurt and/or the International Airport of Frankfurt, the hotel has a very good location. Many thanks for your imput in regards to the overall status ot the hotel. You can imagine that we do our outmost to satisfy our client´s needs and therefore we are very thankful for getting imput to improve the situation. Looking forward to welcoming you next time. Enjoy your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed here in July with 2 children. The location is great as it is outside of Frankfurt and has the feel of being in the country as the hotel is near farmland. The Taunus mountains offer lovely walks and the towns and villages nearby are pretty and worth a visit. The rooms are quite spacious and very clean. The bathroom is well laid out and very clean. The food here is of a very high standard with the variety of fresh food at breakfast being particularly impressive. Our family has members who can not tolerate dairy and they were very pleased to find soya milk and yoghurt on offer. The hotel had a 'summer beach' area which was enjoyable for the children. The hotel would be perfect if it had a pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hergenrath, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Greeting on arrival from reception staff was very nice. Room we got on the third floor was more than adequate 28 m2. Bathroom was very clean with a walk in shower. Writing desk was large enough for doing more than the normal paper work from the office. Didn`t use the bar as it was very busy at the time. Main Taunus shopping mall within 5 minutes walking distance with up to 200 stores and a very large Cinema. Free Parking is also a big plus. Only negatives you have to pay for Internet if you use it and breakfast at € 23.- per person is a rip off. Take the walk across to the Shopping Mall breakfast is served by most Cafes and Bistros at a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Generally, this hotel is not so good comparing to other German hotels. Room is normal, breakfast is just normal, bar also just so so. But the price is to high. The only thing this hotel has is near from Samsung office, and I think that's the reason of high price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

The first thing about this hotel is that the highway is right next to it and you can hear the cars perfectly, especially during the night.
The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere and by walking you only can go to a shopping mall... besides that you need to take a taxi to the city (or bus).

Probably you will go there for some conference and therefore won't be in your hands to decide or not to stay there but if you have the option you could stay in any other hotel in Frankfurt.

Room Tip: If you can select a room away from the highway... if that is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

didn't like the hotel from the first Day, staff attitude didn't help
one most nagging feature is that they always speak in German and just translate back to you when they agree on something
no tolerance for customer request (i understand that they MIGHT be contractually correct, but i was still very offended by the attitude)
i would definitely say I'll travel next time to a more English speaking hotel with more tolerant people on its staff that can accommodate requests.
and by the way joining their loyalty program doesn't add any value when you get to an argument with the hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum

Address: Am Main Taunus Zentrum 1, 65843 Sulzbach (Taunus), Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Sulzbach (Taunus)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Sulzbach (Taunus)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior business hotel Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum Frankfurt/Sulzbach is ideally located right at the entrance to the city gates of Frankfurt, the metropolis on the river Main, and very close to the international airport (FRA). Business guests, in particular, appreciate this advantage as do congress, meeting and seminar organizers. With 282 guest rooms (including 2 suites), 2 restaurants and bar, exclusive wellness area and a very large conference center, the Dorint hotel is, quite simply, THE business hotel in the Rhine-Main region!But leisure travelers also choose the Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum as the starting point for their visits, as they set out to explore the vibrant city of Frankfurt with its rich, multi-facetted cultural and historic heritage, as well as the world-renowned Rheingau and Rheinhessen wine growing regions and the romantic Taunus district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum Hotel Sulzbach (Taunus)
Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum Sulzbach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorint Main Taunus Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.