We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merrijig Motor Inn Resort

Merrijig Motor Inn Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Merrijig Motor Inn Resort to your Saves list
Merrijig Motor Inn Resort
1915 Mt Buller Road, Merrijig, Victoria 3723, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Merrijig
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had Room 14. Older style motel room. A lot of space and very comfortable with a kitchenette. Meals at the restaurant were great. Their meat is especially good. Tried the homemade frozen meals one night and warmed them up in the microwave in the room. A brilliant meal. A great base for exploring Craigs Hut. Bulla, Howqua Hills and the like but not much info available at the Resort due to local Tourist Office in Mansfield being a bit short sighted and stingy thus not giving them sufficient material.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    32
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
34
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We hadn't been to this area of Victoria for many years so we stayed at this resort for 3 very enjoyable nights, the accomodation is definately not 5 star,more like 1, but was satisfactory bearing in mind the price. Except for breakfast we didn't eat at the resort mainly because the type of food wasn't to our liking and we wanted to discover what was available in Mansfield,which is the nearest town,10mins. by car, and we're glad we did because we found two little gems. At the Delatite Hotel they have an excellent menu and we had the best meal we have had out for many a long time and in second place was the Mansfield Thai Restaurant and we were very pleasantly surprised at the Quality and authenticity of the meals we had.
The biggest iritant during our stay was the poor lighting in the room, for older eyes like ours, and I suspect for younger eyea as well, it was almost impossible to read unless we sat outside and you can't do that in the winter.
Other places in the area to visit include Jamieson and Kevington where the Hotel serves fine dining food from Wednesday night and was highly recomended to us by another Hotel, we didn't have time to try it out.Mount buller is also a short drive but in the summer there isn't much to do or see, but worth a look.
For a quiet time away from home this resort is definately one to add to the list.

Room Tip: All the rooms face Mount Buller and are on the shady side of the resort which is good on hot days.We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We took the family children & grandchildren and ttwo American friends on a hi country horse ride with McCormack"s mountain valley trail rides over the weekend. 10 people altogether. We arrived at the motor in about 7pm or a little later on Friday and the staff and owners were terrific staying late to give us some of the best pizza's we have had and again on the Sunday night we stayed. Again we were looked after in an excellent manner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

What a great place to stay, eat, drink and relax.

Great rooms. Great service. Great food and drink.

Wood fired pizza on a Friday evening.

Fantastic hosts in Michael, Mandy, Kathy and Jake

Recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Merrijig Motor Inn is a great place for school camps especially those heading to Mt Buller. The accommodation is great, rooms comfortable, meals terrific and the staff are friendly and always willing to help at any stage to ensure we have a great stay. I recommend the Motor Inn for any school groups who are thinking on travelling to the snow for camps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Where to start.... The Merrijig Motor Inn is an excellent discovery! The staff are super friendly & nothing is too much trouble. The location was ideal for the perfect getaway close to river, Mt Buller. Room clean & tidy, gardens a relaxing area to read or indulge in a drink. Locals friendly & will give you a laugh.
I will be back again & again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Room fine, location excellent, hosts great company, meals excellent (esp. the steak), fair prices, directions to places we wanted to see, got us there and back ok. Really enjoyed our stay. (Brett owes me a beer!!!!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merrijig Motor Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrijig Motor Inn Resort

Address: 1915 Mt Buller Road, Merrijig, Victoria 3723, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Merrijig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Merrijig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Merrijig Motor Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrijig Motor Inn Resort Victoria, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrijig Motor Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.