We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Bar & Grill Breakers

South Coast Bar & Grill Breakers
Queen's Highway, Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
+345-947-2517
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 Restaurants in Bodden Town
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Managed by the Powell family,South Coast Bar & Grill is located in the village of Breakers, amongst swaying coconut palms and the ocean, in the district of Bodden Town and is approximately 20 minutes drive from George Town the capital. We specialize in local and Caribbean cuisine.We have various dining options, choose from on our seaside patios, Beach dining or in our AC dining room. The atmosphere is relaxing and the prices beats all the restaurants in east end.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great view, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Whilst the staff weren't that knowledgeable of the menu the food was quite tasty and fresh. View was lovely (eventhough there was construction of a new bar underneath taking place while we were there). I imagine it would be a bit more lively in the evening with a bigger crowd. Would go back again for the fresh local cooked food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Maybe I had bad luck...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Am hoping I caught them on a bad day...but I tried ordering 6 listed dishes, for a lunch to go, and bar server said (rudely) "we are out"...instead of volunteering what was actually available at each request I was wondering if, indeed, they were serving food. I will never know, as I gave up in frustration...it looked like guys at the bar enjoying drinks but I cannot recommend at this point. (I left in frustration).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Service was good, menu and water came promptly with a smile. White wine was dark and tasted off, other drinks were okay. I ordered a barbeque chicken sandwich and pulled chicken came which was not what I expected. Bun was big and not too fresh but ok, burger with bacon and cheese and two frozen patties with not much taste. Would have thought that they would have an idea how many burgers they serve a day and they could whip them up fresh...?
Conch chowder was tasty, a bit on the cool side and salad came with honey mustard dressing...that was a first. Pizza was heavy on the sauce and not much cheese and very dark...best way to describe it.
All in all will probably skip next time unless I am stopping at the bar for a drink and maybe a local fish lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
“Awful food and even worse service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I went to this restaurant with my kids one weekday evening around 3pm.
We walk in and the waitress doesn't greet us with a smile, instead we feel like we disturbed her afternoon break or something.
We place our order, she at least gives us water and took our drink orders.
I order a bacon cheeseburger, my kids order chicken tender and fries.
The food comes but guess what? The waitress doesn't bring us cutlery, she didn't even provide us with napkins. We shouldn't have to ask for cutlery I don't care what we are eating!
The bacon on my burger is not cooked properly, it is half raw, so I don't eat it.
The burger meat is freezer burnt and wasn't even seasoned not even with salt!
By far it was the most disgusting meal I have ever had!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Night to finish our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We drove past the South Coast Bar & Grill everyday for a week commenting what an interesting place it seemed to be. On our final night we called to make a reservation and we happy to find out Thursday is Lobster night. We had a nice table (not on the beach) overlooking the water. A pretty view without the sand. My husband and I orderd the lobster, one son had the rosemary chicken, my second son had glazed porkchop, and the youngest had a cheese pizza. The boys chicken and pork chop were very tasty! I am not a huge fan of lobster, but thought it was ok. Some courses I liked more than others. I thought the prices here were reasonable for the quality of food that was served. Compared to many other means we had on the island that were comprable in price but not in quality. The service was very nice, and we enjoyed a wonderful last night in the Cayman Islands

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Coast Bar & Grill Breakers also viewed

Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
 
East End, Grand Cayman
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to South Coast Bar & Grill Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Coast Bar & Grill Breakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.