We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel recommendation I've ever gotten from Trip Advisor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Nest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bodden Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Nest Inn
Save
You added Turtle Nest Inn to your Saves list
166 Bodden Town Road, Bodden Town, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bodden Town
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best hotel recommendation I've ever gotten from Trip Advisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited in early May, and requested Apt 8 based on recommendations here. We loved everything about our stay. We mostly saw Duane behind the desk, and he was always very nice and helpful. Everyone we ran into was very friendly, and the atmoshere could not be beat. Both the common areas and are unit were kept clean, and did not show signs of wear and tear. This place deserves every award it has received.

The hotel is only 8 units, and then there are the condos next door. We wanted a 2nd floor beach unit, which gave us room 6, 7, or 8 to choose from. Six has a big tree in front of it, so the view may be somewhat impeded. Seven is in the middle, but the view is good. Eight is on the end, and has a balcony on the beach and on the side. Included in the bedroom is a white noise machine, which I found very helpful after being woken up at 3:30am by a nearby rooster (the chickens run wild on the island, as they were all freed in 2004 by Hurricaine Ivan).

As the reviewer Dana (who we met while there, and even had dinner with... it's that kind of friendly place) said, make sure to bring your water shoes. The surfline has lots of rocks if you are taking a walk, and the shoreline has lots of turtlegrass. It is because of the turtlegrass that I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families with little kids (unless you plan on keeping them in the pool and taking them to other beaches). Really, though, the beach set-up looks like it would work best for couples or groups of adults. It's a practically private beach, with chairs and shady trees provided. And if the trees are all occupied, they have beach umbrellas you can borrow.

If you like snorkeling, this is a great place for you, as you can snorkel for free, all day every day if you want to, right in front of the inn. They even have snorkel equipment you can borrow (though if you already know you like to do it, I would recommend bringing your own for personal comfort).

They have a large DVD collection, so if you want to spend an evening in you can check one out, or you have many TV channels (including HBO and the US networks like ABC, NBC, and CBS) to choose from. Free wi-fi in the rooms was nice to have, so we could easily stay in touch with home.

One of our favorite things about the inn is the location. We drove up to Seven Mile Beach and Georgetown, and it was just too crowded and touristy. We drove around the East End and over to Rum Point, but all of that was too far away from the touristy. Boddentown and the Turtle Nest Inn are centrally located and not in a touristy area, but not too local-centric either.

If we ever get to go back to Grand Cayman, we will definitely stay here again. As it is, I've been telling everyone I talk to that they simply must go, and must stay here! :)

Room Tip: Six has a big tree in front of it, so the view may be somewhat impeded. Seven is in the middle, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    79
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
241
623
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in Condo #6 in early May, and had a fabulous time. The setting is idyllic and peaceful, with nearly deserted beaches, unlike the more touristy Seven Mile Beach. Our Condo was well-furnished and comfortable, with absolutely incredible views of the ocean. There is a large picture window downstairs in the living room, and upstairs in one of the bedrooms. Do pay the extra for beach front, to get the full-on view. It's worth it. The kitchen had everything we needed (except the food!). The condo was well equipped with plenty of towels and linens. There is central air conditioning, plus free wifi, allowing us to keep in touch with our family at home. The staff was very attentive, and made us feel welcome. A note about the beautiful beach - this is a snorkler's beach. The water is clear and aqua, but has patches of turtle grass, meaning that you should consider wearing water shoes. The reef is just a short swim from the shore, with a good assortment of fish and corals. It was a joy to just walk out from the condo, and swim right to the reef. We enjoyed the quaint local attractions in Bodden town, and it's just a short drive to both ends of the Islands, where's there's plenty to see and do. The Caymanians are great people, from multiple blended cultures, including parts of Europe and Jamaica. We found them to be polite and meticulous. Cayman felt like a "kinder, gentler" Jamaica in many ways. We really recommend a visit, particularly to Turtle Next Inn.

Room Tip: Get an beach front unit, they are spectacular. The Ocean view gives you a side view from your patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Fox Den April 29-May 6 2013. And had a blast Annie Rose is the best she picked us up at the airport and got us a rental car. The cottage is behind her house nestled in a beautiful garden. It was amazing you have a full kitchen washer dryer living room and a queen size bed. The bed was comfortable and it was so quite at night. Super clean which is a must! We loved staying with a local and not in the tourist trap. If we needed advice on what to do etc. Annie Rose always helped out. We ate allot at Rankins, Chesters, and the fish hut. Amazing and didn't break the wallet. Also we spent the days at Turtle Nest Inn relaxing by the pool and snorkeling. Which by the way was the best on the island! Oh and Donna is the BOMB she made the best Pina Colada's:) It is simply PARADISE! My favorite island. We could have not asked for a better vacation. Thank You Annie Rose and Donna you two are jewels of the islands!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Turtle Nest Inn is an excellent place to stay. The room had all of the expected amentities and more. The location is central on the island so it's no more than 20-25 minutes away from any point on the island. The staff was excellent and the owners made a great effort for their guests' comfort. Truely a great place to stay. We're going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Turtle Nest was booked for our birthday weekend in Feb, so the Turtle Nest management offered us Fox Den. What a wonderful, quiet, romantic getaway it turned out to be! Wonderful hostess, CLEAN, Pool to ourselves, and the MOST BEAUTIFUL PRIVATE GARDENS! The only reason I didn't give a five point rating is because I was under the impression that it was on the beach and it was not, but we were able to use the facilities at Turtle Nest just down the road. Wonderful, private, setting. Was short distance to seven mile beach, but also close to many local eateries like "Fish on the Beach"

Room Tip: Fox Den is a converted pool house that is just down the road from Turtle Nest Inn. Sleeps two very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TNI_Mgmt, Owner at Turtle Nest Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We thank you very much for staying in Fox Den Cottage, and for taking the time to post a favourable review. We're delighted that you appreciated this lovely property and its beautiful grounds. However, we do feel it unfair to dock a point because you were "under the impression that it was on the beach and it was not". It's clearly stated at our website that, unlike Turtle Nest Inn & Condos, Fox Den Cottage is not on the beach. We describe the Cottage as accurately as possible: "While not on the sea, you'll have full guest privileges to all common facilities at the Inn including the beach, pool, washrooms, terrace, kayak, snorkelling equipment, etc." We do feel it unfair that we're penalized for not having what we don't claim to have. But, we are happy that you enjoyed the facilities at the Inn, located less than a mile down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in beachfront apt. #4 (April 2013) and could not have asked for more. While palm trees partially obscured our view of the water, they also provided very welcome shade. We could sit on our patio and enjoy a meal or one of the hotel's excellent pina coladas just about any time of day. The rental car that was part of the deal was small but was enough for the two of us and its gas mileage was appreciated. Most of the "action" was closer to 7-mile beach but we preferred the quiet of the Turtle Nest Inn pool and beach and the drive was not that far. Snorkeling off the beach was very nice and, though the beach was a bit on the rocky side, that was not an issue. The kitchen was well-equipped, bed was comfortable and the whole apartment was clean. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Beachfront view and patio is worth the extra expense if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our stay in the Castaway Cottage couldn't have been better! The owners (Thom, Susan and Koda) and the Turtle Nest Inn Staff were amazing. The Cottage is close enough to the hotel to take advantage of the amenities but still private to feel like your own little home. The house is right next to the main road and it has direct access to your own private section of beach. Having breakfast in the deck behind the house is the perfect start for a day... and even better because of Thom's rum cake!

The house was spotless when we arrived and it has a fully equipped kitchen in case you want to cook your own meals. You can also use herbs from the garden behind the house, and the BBQ. Just make sure you bring some bacon for the lizards :D They would pose for pictures for as long as you feed them.

The house is located just far away enough from the busy (and touristy) beaches on the west, but close enough to visit them if you feel like it. There are also other things to do on the less populated east side of the island. You can have lunch or dinner at: Grape tree (only on weekends), Chester's (better for take out) and South Coast.

We can't wait to have the opportunity to visit again. You should do it, too!

Room Tip: If you want the privacy choose the cottages. If you want convenience get a room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Nest Inn

Address: 166 Bodden Town Road, Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Bodden Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bodden Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman hotels' exotic beachfront lodging offers Caribbean elegance, pool, superb snorkelling, and full luxury apartments costing less than most Grand Cayman hotel rooms. Located on its own sandy beach, only ten miles from George Town and the airport, the Inn is away from the tourist crowds, in a genuine island setting. Cayman's only Travel Holiday Magazine's Editors' Choice Award winner for 2003. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle Nest Hotel Grand Cayman
Turtle Nest Grand Cayman
Turtle Nest Inn Grand Cayman/Bodden Town, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Nest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.