We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Nest Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bodden Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Turtle Nest Inn
Save
You added Turtle Nest Inn to your Saves list
166 Bodden Town Road, Bodden Town, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bodden Town
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in beachfront apt. #4 (April 2013) and could not have asked for more. While palm trees partially obscured our view of the water, they also provided very welcome shade. We could sit on our patio and enjoy a meal or one of the hotel's excellent pina coladas just about any time of day. The rental car that was part of the deal was small but was enough for the two of us and its gas mileage was appreciated. Most of the "action" was closer to 7-mile beach but we preferred the quiet of the Turtle Nest Inn pool and beach and the drive was not that far. Snorkeling off the beach was very nice and, though the beach was a bit on the rocky side, that was not an issue. The kitchen was well-equipped, bed was comfortable and the whole apartment was clean. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Beachfront view and patio is worth the extra expense if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    79
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
241
623
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our stay in the Castaway Cottage couldn't have been better! The owners (Thom, Susan and Koda) and the Turtle Nest Inn Staff were amazing. The Cottage is close enough to the hotel to take advantage of the amenities but still private to feel like your own little home. The house is right next to the main road and it has direct access to your own private section of beach. Having breakfast in the deck behind the house is the perfect start for a day... and even better because of Thom's rum cake!

The house was spotless when we arrived and it has a fully equipped kitchen in case you want to cook your own meals. You can also use herbs from the garden behind the house, and the BBQ. Just make sure you bring some bacon for the lizards :D They would pose for pictures for as long as you feed them.

The house is located just far away enough from the busy (and touristy) beaches on the west, but close enough to visit them if you feel like it. There are also other things to do on the less populated east side of the island. You can have lunch or dinner at: Grape tree (only on weekends), Chester's (better for take out) and South Coast.

We can't wait to have the opportunity to visit again. You should do it, too!

Room Tip: If you want the privacy choose the cottages. If you want convenience get a room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
appleton, wi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here at the end of March 2013 and loved the place! The condo-style accommodation is so nice to have, can eat in whenever you want to. It's a nice quiet place, has a wonderful beach with Absolutely Excellent Snorkeling out front. In fact, one afternoon I saw barracuda, peacock flounder, file fish, queen angels, peacock fish, huge crab, lobster, etc, etc. with an easy snorkel out front! This is a definite Favorite Stopover for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #7 and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was a fabulous vacation for our family of five...three of which were teenage boys. We stayed at the Moon Bay condo #2, which is an affiliate of the Turtle Nest Inn located about 2 miles up the road from Turtle Nest Inn. It was a very clean and spacious 3 bedroom/2 bath condo on the ground floor with the most incredible view ever! Literally three steps from our private patio was a beautiful white sand beach that we practically had to ourselves the whole week. The water is crystal clear and good for snorkeling, but you will need water shoes as there are sharp rocks leading into the water and a fair amount of turtle grass. There are iguanas, lizards, and even a friendly cat named Jessie who visited us daily. The condo was well equiped with a full kitchen, plenty of towels and a washer/dryer combo. It was plenty of room for our family...very safe and quiet with a refreshing pool as well. The booking included a rental car which is a must! While Moon Bay condo is located in quaint Bodden Town with a few shops and local eateries nearby (I highly reccommend the Grape Tree Cafe), you will want to explore the island and drive to larger shops and restaurants for more variety. It is a quick 15-20 minute drive to a larger grocery store (Fosters Food Fair) in Savannah and just 30-40 minutes from most other large attractions like George Town, Seven Mile Beach or the East End.
Overall this is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, beach house feel far enough away from the tourists but close enough to enjoy all that Grand Cayman has to offer!

Room Tip: Moon Bay #2 is in a better location than the other affiliate rental unit in this complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here with another couple in March. The condo unit is large, well equiped, clean and well laid out for two couples. Beach is just about perfect and very quiet with great snorkeling in crystal clear water running no more that 10-12 feet deep with a nice reef right at your doorstep. The pools are nice but you don't need them. Staff is exteremly nice and helpful. They know just about everyone on the island so they can easily arrange dinner reservations if you need them and can also recommend places if it is your first visit. You need a car to get around the island but it is included and had enough trunk space for four bags - much to everyone's surprise. Great place and I would definitely stay again and again. Oh, and the island is also great!

Room Tip: Be sure you get ocean front as there are other rooms with no view which I would not recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Turtle Nest Inn for the second year in a row. The condos are beautiful and right on the beach. Both stays we were in a beach front property that was two stories with two bedrooms/two full bathrooms upstairs and a full kitchen, dining room, living room, washer and dryer downstairs. We had a small balcony off the master bedroom overlooking the ocean and a patio out the back that lead to a pool and the beach...all within 20 feet. We enjoyed seeing all the fish and reef life while snorkeling right in front of property. The staff was helpful, pleasant, and went out of their way to make our stay outstanding. In addition to the wonderful accommodations, the package also included a car that made getting around the island easy. We would highly recommend staying at this well priced venue.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I spent a week in one of the condos, with my husband and son (condo #9). I was very pleased. It is the closest I've found so far to what my family needs for a vacation.
* my family doesn't like to eat out more than once a day. The condo had a full kitchen, including an oven. It had a lot of pots/pans/utensils.
* the condo is very large so you don't feel cramped. It is also well made, of solid concrete (I guess to protect it from hurricanes).
* We don't like to stay in a hotel that is in a long line of hotels that seem to have been built by some large international conglomerate that builds long lines of hotels everywhere in the world. We prefer to be in a place where people actually live. Bodden town is working class. I have to imagine though, that the family whose modest home is right next door to the hotel wasn't too thrilled when it went up. The town is fine, and has many colorful roosters of various sorts. Most of the time I found their incessant crowing interesting, although I will admit that occasionally it made me want to cook them up in a stew.
* the hotel is a short walk form the interesting "mission house" museum.
* the hotel is a short drive from the gorgeous botanical garden, and the interesting "pedro saint james" museum. it was interesting that the tour guides at both mission house and pedro saint james were descendents of the original inhabitants.
* the hotel is a short drive from a large grocery store
* the hotel is a reasonable and very scenic drive from several nice restaurants and from Rum Point.
* We had trouble adjusting to the left-hand driving. That was okay on the east side of the island, where the hotel was located. The traffic was so light that it didn't matter if once in a while we turned into the wrong lane. However, the times we tried to drive to seven mile beach were unsettling (although we made no wrong turns).
* the snorkeling at the hotel is fine. It beats the snorkeling in Maryland. It isn't as nice as rum point. however, the nice thing is that the beach is quite isolated, and its just you and the small number of other families staying at the inn. if you dislike crowds, snorkeling at the inn is just great.
* Duane makes the world's greatest pina coladas.
* the pool has a great view. It isn't a full size pool, but it isn't the smallest, either.
* the condo comes with plenty of towels and blankets.

Room Tip: The ocean front would be best but are expensive. If ocean view, choose one on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Nest Inn

Address: 166 Bodden Town Road, Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Bodden Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bodden Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman hotels' exotic beachfront lodging offers Caribbean elegance, pool, superb snorkelling, and full luxury apartments costing less than most Grand Cayman hotel rooms. Located on its own sandy beach, only ten miles from George Town and the airport, the Inn is away from the tourist crowds, in a genuine island setting. Cayman's only Travel Holiday Magazine's Editors' Choice Award winner for 2003. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Turtle Nest Hotel Grand Cayman
Turtle Nest Grand Cayman
Turtle Nest Inn Grand Cayman/Bodden Town, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Nest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.