We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Year's at Turtle Nest Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Nest Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Turtle Nest Inn to your Saves list
Turtle Nest Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Bodden Town Road, Bodden Town, Grand Cayman   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bodden Town
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great New Year's at Turtle Nest Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was a perfect getaway. (You do need a car.) The location on Grand Cayman was excelent (20-25 minutes from anywhere on the island) and it was close to a shopping center for those of us who perfer a mix of condos, cooking and restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful with many good suggestions. The Turtle Nest provides fins, sunblock and many other amenities. The apartments and condos have white walls and blue tile floors, great relaxing decor. We were there over New Years and enjoyed a bonfire on the beach. You cannot beat the location and the view, condos with porches that overlook pools, a beach and the carribean. There is also fun snorkeling in just 3 feet of water for some distance from the beach with rays, lion fish, and a variety of other interesting creatures for those who like snorkeling.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Apartments near the office overlooking a pool and the beach. It was great. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    85
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
270
661
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Bottom-line--fantastic view, right on the ocean (1st floor), poorly outfitted for cooking, strange lay-out, maintenance issues. We booked late and the condo at Moon Bay, about 2 miles down the road from the TNI was the only available property. It is a 3 BR/2BA, but has a strange layout.

Dislikes-there were really no good pyrex dishes for cooking in the oven or microwave. There was a tiny dishwasher, inappropriate for a 3BR place. We were only provided one kitchen trash bag. It smelled mildewy and musty. And our clothes retained the smell when we got home. One of the patio doors wouldn't open and the other had a screen that didn't work. There are mosquitoes, bugs so you need the screen. I couldn't open the window in the Master Bathroom (my husband could muscle it open but anyone shorter would have a problem) and there is no vent for A/C so you need to be able to open the window. The A/C didn't work. We didn't call since it was the weekend, but apparently we should have. Donna said they have someone on call all the time for A/C, so I didn't factor that in the rating too much. The housekeeper should have noticed since she was cleaning it when we arrived and it was 86' inside. They need lamps in the bedrooms. The MBR had 2 tiny ones, but they were pretty dim. They also need a more comfortable bed if they're using this as a rental. The headboard wasn't attached, it was just leaning against the wall. There aren't too many nice restaurants close-by, other than The Lighthouse. Unfortunately we can't afford to eat there every night! Rankin's Jerk Pit was okay for take-out and the South Coast Bar was okay.

Likes-the view is fantastic. We didn't swim in the ocean but there is an area inside the reef that probably isn't too rough, although the neighbor said there's current. The pool was nice. It was cold in January but bearable. They have a little beach area and it is well-maintained with lots of beach chairs/chaise lounges. Donna, at the front desk, is super nice, and documented the problems we identified. Also, when booking the reservation, they were incredibly responsive. We were only at the condo for 3 nights but we booked our car through them for our 2 1/2 week stay. It was cheaper than what we found with Avis directly.

We'll give the TNI another try, and hopefully stay at the Inn next time. We met a fellow diver from Ocean Frontiers who stays there every year with his wife and other friends. It's a 20 minute drive to Ocean Frontiers from the Inn so he must really love it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a lovely long weekend stay at TNI. Had been to Grand Cayman once before and stayed on Seven Mile Beach, nice, but crowded and touristy. We stayed in one of the very clean and spacious condo's and enjoyed the patio, the pool, and the beach; all just steps away. How nice to enjoy morning coffee while sitting under a palm tree on the secluded and peaceful private beach! And how awful to return home to snow and ice! Oh well, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just returned from our third stay at TNI all rested and ready to return to the grind. We were there just a few months ago, but left hubby at work this time, vacationed with my 2 teens and loved it – again. We booked late and the only opening was in a partial view apartment, #5, on the upper floor. This was a 1 bedroom unit, tastefully decorated, with kitchen, queen bed in the bedroom and sofa-bed in the living room and every imaginable amenity. It was perfect and always a joy to come “home” after a day on the beach or cruising around the island. If we had been 4 though, a 2 bedroom condo would have been better. TNI staff was as always knowledgeable and courteous but never in our face, and a rental car was included in the package. The car allowed us to explore the island and do grocery shopping and we ate breakfast and lunch at “home”. For dinner we either ate out at one of the island’s many good restaurants, or cooked on the inn’s terrific poolside grill. When we checked out, Donna and Duane encouraged us to post a review here which we’re happy to do. They both seemed sincerely concerned that TNI lived up to our expectations. It did as it did in the past and we look forward to coming back next year to escape the Canadian winter (and 45cm of snow) again. For us TNI is the perfect vacation spot - comfortable, friendly and laid back!

Sue

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Five stars, absolutely, but not for you if five stars means a place like The Ritz Carlton on Seven Mile Beach. This felt more like a lovely, simple, European inn. My husband and I stayed in Apartment #5 at the Inn rather than the condo building. It was private, immaculate (and I am very particular about cleanliness), and cheery. Yes, there was some street noise, but it was not a bother to us. You could avoid that by staying in one of the apartments that face the ocean or, as we did, turning on the air conditioner at night. From our private balcony off the kitchen we could see and hear the ocean. In fact, we were supposed to upgrade to a condo unit mid-way through our stay, but we opted to stay in our apartment. We liked the location of the room, the view, and the daily maid service which was excellent. We used our well-equipped kitchen and the great outdoor grill to fix some meals that we often ate on the ocean-facing terrace, and we often dined with other guests who were doing the same thing. There was plenty of room to chat with other guests or have your own, intimate table.

It was such a treat to have included in the price snorkel equipment, chairs, an umbrella and a cooler that we could take with us anywhere on the island. While we snorkeled at many of the island's beaches, the coral reef was close to the beach at the TNI and we saw the most fish right there on the days when it wasn't too windy. (Our visit was in January when the winds come from the east.) We also enjoyed using the sea kayak that was available. The pool was immaculate, and they cleaned the beach in front of the property daily. The adjacent beaches were not as clean, so bring something to wear on your feet for beach walks. There was a fair amount of washed up glass, seaweed, and trash on those beaches. Bodden Town is not 7-Mile Beach with its long stretch of white sand and fancy resorts, but it has far more character and the feel of real island life. You might see some of the local people playing dominoes by The Grape Tree fish fry place near the inn. Don't hesitate to chat with them. They play lively games and might invite you to join in. In our opinion, the people all over the island and at the inn couldn't have been kinder or more helpful, from Donna and Duane at the front desk, to the Marleine and Alaine the owners, to Paulette who did mountains of laundry every day but still found time to chat with me about gardening and living on the island. Donna has the best personality ever and is a real asset to the TNI.

Take Donna's suggestion about going to the lobster fest on Thursday night at the South Coast Bar & Grill. The food was delicious! And try one of her famous pina coladas, too. She claims she taught Duane, so I'm sure his are great as well. Also, the inn has excellent Cuban coffee that you can purchase to brew in your kitchen. Enjoy it there, because you can't bring any Cuban products back to the US.

Hope this is helpful to prospective visitors who enjoy going off the beaten track. We travel frequently, but this is my first review because this place had such a special feel to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I could go on and on about the Turtle Nest Inn, I have nothing but good things to say about it. What you are getting for your money is by far the best deal on the island. The people are very friendly, the rooms very clean and best of all you are away from Georgetown where all the big hotels and cruise ships are. The snorkeling is awesome right out in front of the Inn but we had our best snorkling experience right outside of Georgetown where we had our first encounter with a reef shark, I thought my wife was going to drown she was freaking out so bad! We are already planning our next trip back, what a beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I spent my January birthday at TurtleNest Inn with my 18 and 12 year old kids.Our condo (#1) was very large and spotless. There are 2 lovely pools but best of all fantastic snorkeling right out on the beach. The inn is away from the crowded touristy hotels. It is laid back and super friendly Marleine, Donna and Duane (didn't meet Alain) were wonderful. We loved Mango the dog and Kabob the cat. We loved our delicious pina coladas on the beach! I loved all the beautiful conch shells surrounding the pools.
We can not wait to go back!
Joan A.

Room Tip: We had condo#1 and did not really need such a spacious condo for 3 of us although we enjoyed the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Turtle Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Nest Inn

Address: 166 Bodden Town Road, Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cayman Islands > Grand Cayman > Bodden Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bodden Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Nest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayman hotels' exotic beachfront lodging offers Caribbean elegance, pool, superb snorkelling, and full luxury apartments costing less than most Grand Cayman hotel rooms. Located on its own sandy beach, only ten miles from George Town and the airport, the Inn is away from the tourist crowds, in a genuine island setting. Cayman's only Travel Holiday Magazine's Editors' Choice Award winner for 2003. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Turtle Nest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Nest Hotel Grand Cayman
Turtle Nest Grand Cayman
Turtle Nest Inn Grand Cayman/Bodden Town, Cayman Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Nest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.