We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Beach - South Water Caye

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Water Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye
Save
You added Pelican Beach - South Water Caye to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dangriga, South Water Caye 00000, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Lexington, North Carolina
1 review
“Perfect relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Terri, Leonard and Kevin treat you like family. The food and service are fantastic. The island is beautiful, and there is never a crowd. If you like natural beauty, pure relaxation and simplicity, this is your place. We have been 3 times and will go back again. If you love ultra-high luxury, go somewhere else. There is nothing stuffy about this place.

Room Tip: The view from the Osprey is one of the best in the best in the entire world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    17
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Everyone at Pelican Beach Resort was wonderful, from the staff on the mainland to our new "family" on the island. Terri and Leonard were the best hosts we have had on a vacation. The room was romantic and the view from our bed was made in heaven. Don't go if you need internet and TV to entertain you. Here you have clear water and lazy days spent in hammocks. You can exercise by snorkeling or taking a kayak ride around the island. We stayed in Osprey's Nest South and it was spectacular. What a view from our back deck over the calm clear water out to the reef. The sound of the waves on the reef and the constant breeze through our room made us sleep like babies every night. And then there is the food! Every meal was wonderful. The fresh juices are like nothing we have tasted. If you want a true island paradise, visit Pelican Beach Resort and stay at Pelican's Pouch in South Water Caye.

Room Tip: Heron's Hideaway and Osprey's nest will have the best ocean breeze and view. Kingfisher Cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville,VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff at Pelican Beach made our stay so comfortable and easy. Meals were delicious and the rum and fruit drinks were fabulous. We were often the only people snorkeling at the reef, enjoying the clear water, corals, purple sea fans, green anemones, rays, angel fish, and parrot fish.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spent 5 wonderful days at Pelican Beach Resort. A big thank you to Theresita who answered all my many questions and arranged for a perfect stay. The boat ride over to and from Dangrigia is quite bumpy and you will leave rain or shine. It is great to see all the little islands out over the reef. We arrived after about 45 min. and were met at the dock by Daniel with a super, warm welcome. The chilled, fresh coconut water was so refreshing and made us feel as though the island adventure was starting! After reading many of the TA reviews, we had requested Heron’s Hideaway. We were thrilled when Daniel led us up the path, opened the back door and looked out past the wonderful deck to the reef!! The cottage is very private and the deck extends out over the water. It is about half way between the main dining house and the beach. We just loved it! The bathroom is very large. The water is solar heated, quite plentiful and runs between scalding hot and lukewarm. It would have been nice to have some hooks or pegs in the bathroom to hang up beach towels and bathing suits though. Our room had a ceiling fan and louvered windows on all 3 sides. Most of the time there was a nice sea breeze blowing in. Morning sunrise was just beautiful right off our deck over the reef. Osprey’s Nest cottage was right next door and seemed nice too. It was a duplex, but it had its own nice dock. Most of the staff were friendly and very helpful, especially Daniel and Dayton.
We enjoyed the snorkeling and went for a wonderful trip out to “Angel’s Reef”. The reef colors and fish seemed better there than the reef right off the beach. Be sure to hang out at the end of the main dock around sunset as one or more spotted eagle rays usually swim around the cove! Food was plentiful and filling. The breakfasts were great. Love those Fry Jacks! We had a lovely island adventure.

Room Tip: Heron's Hideaway was wonderful,private,romantic yet close to beach and dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I had the most relaxing and peaceful night at Pelican Beach Resort on South Water Caye. The meals were all delicious and it was great to be able to wander the island and swim/snorkel at our leisure with nothing but hammocks to tempt us!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

If you love peace and solitude this is the island to visit. It is clean and pristine. Water is clear and crystal blue and in the 80+ degree range. Very comfortable for snorkeling which you can do very easily from right off the beach. A fairly Easy swim to the reef and even if you stay right in front of the sandy beach area you will likely see Nurse Sharks and Spottrd Eagle Rays along with many tropical fish which you will also see on the reef itself. Perfect place for children although you might want to leave them with grandparents and enjoy the romance this place precipitates. We spent 6 nights on South Water Caye at Pelican Beach Resort and one night each in Dangriga also at the Pelican Beach Resort going and coming back which was a nice way to ease in and out our trip. We felt like we were treated like royalty in both places without feeling overwhelmed or over served. The staff could not be more pleasant in either place. All rooms were spotless and smelled fresh. Margarita and Lucinda in Dangriga will make sure you are comfortable along with every other staff member there. On the island you are in for a special treat especially if Leonard, Terry, and Kevin are there when you are. Also, Linette, the Chef/Cook, will prepare wonderful balanced meals with fresh fish, fruit and vegetables that are all local and scrumptious. And if you stay more than one or two days you will feel like they are members of your family. At meals if you want seconds you will get seconds. You may not even see the cleaning teams as they somehow get in and out of your abode without so much as a shadow. We stayed in Kingfisher cottage with sunrise in the morning right off the front deck and unbelievable sunsets off the back deck rising and setting over the water with view unimpeded by anything but nature itself. I'm sure all the bungalows there are just as nice. I think that the only decision I had to make on the entire stay on the island was whether to use Ranch or Italian dressing on my salad. Not kidding about that. The menu is written on a whiteboard and then Linnette prepares breakfast, lunch and dinner so your only issue is when to show up. We went there for the snorkeling and were not disappointed. Saw different marine life each day. With highlights being 6 ft. Nurse shark, multiple spotted eagle rays, large green and spotted moray eels and a stingray with wingspan of 7 to 8 ft. And video to back me up. To me this visit to Pelican Beach Resort on South Water Caye was my favorite place yet to visit comparing it to ,Utila, Bonaire, Turks and Caicos, Corn Island, and Loblolly Bay on Anegada. In each of those places we stayed at least a week so I feel like I can make a fair comparison. We were in Belize during the latter part of May, 2013. Sure hope you get to go to this fine place, I know that we will return. Again, if you want nightlife go somewhere else, if you want peace and as close to perfection as you would wish for go to South Water Caye in Belize and stay at Pelican Beach Resort. And please tell Leonard, Terry, Kevin and Linnette that we miss them very much. Bob and Gayle. P.S. we heard we might experience a sandfly problem but that was not to be. I swished a total of three flys away from my legs during our stay. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

It's taken a while to write this review. We visited as a family of four in late August 2012 after spending a week in the rain forest. We were on the caye for 4 days and it proved to be just what we wanted. Relaxing, beautiful, fascinating, other-worldly, and the most welcoming place we've ever visited.
August is low season over there, so for three of the days we had the island to ourselves. Bliss. we were fed and watered well, we snorkeled on the reef and saw amazing fish. We just chilled.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Beach - South Water Caye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Beach - South Water Caye

Address: Dangriga, South Water Caye 00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > South Water Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Water Caye
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Beach - South Water Caye 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two special locations, one great vacation - South Water Caye and Dangriga! South Water Caye, our island getaway-seaside cottages and rooms with fantastic views and cooling trade winds. On a gorgeous beach, atop the barrier reef and within South Water Caye Marine Reserve. Snorkel from shore, dive, fish, kayak or do nothing at all. Environmentally-friendly facilities with separate student group accommodations. For the simple pleasures - spending time together, sharing new adventures and making new friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye Hotel South Water Caye
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye Belize

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Beach - South Water Caye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.