We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Balance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Beach - South Water Caye

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Water Caye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye
Save
You added Pelican Beach - South Water Caye to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dangriga, South Water Caye 00000, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Balance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had been to Belize 4 times prior to this trip and this was our first trip to South Water Caye. While it does take some effort to get here it is worth it totally. The location and ambience is spectacular. The ability to walk out to the reef in amazing. The service and food are all first class.

Room Tip: The are all good. However there are some duplex buildings which may offer less privacy. Our cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    17
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
62
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My lady and I have been fortunate enough to visit the three largest reefs in the world, #1 in Australia! #3 in Providencia, Columbia and now, #2 in Belize. And in our opinion, Belize tops them all, on the important factor of coral health. The snorkelling was truly phenomenal, with turtles, rays, sharks and barracuda on view within a hundred meters from shore. Great beach, too! Leonard, the manager was awesome, as we're most of the rest of the small staff. This is quite a small island, but very intimate and relaxing. Great swimming, kayaking (the Smithsonian research centre on the next caye is not too far to reach by kayak). We loved our stay and plan to come back soon. Thanks Leonard!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights at Pelican Beach during our honeymoon. The hour long boat ride to the island was awesome, and we were greeted by the manager, Leonard, when we arrived. We stayed in Heron's Hideaway, a small cabin on stilts over the ocean. Our deck was very private and looked out towards the reef. The cabin was basic but very clean and the hammocks on the deck were perfect. The beach was white sand, and we went snorkelling off the beach every day - lots of fish to see! During our stay there was only one other couple at Pelican Beach so it felt like we had our own private island to enjoy.

The meals were delicious, and the chef did a really great job accommodating my gluten-free diet. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck and chatting with Leonard and Miss Terry.

Out of all the places we stayed for our honeymoon, Pelican Beach was certainly our favourite. It felt like a magical place, and we definitely could have stayed for longer than 3 nights. We are already talking about visiting again for our anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Heaven on earth. I would absolutely recommend Pelican Beach to anyone looking for both rest and relaxation and a ton of fun. We went here on our honeymoon and spent 6 days on the island. I could have spent more time there! We spent the days snorkeling around the caye, off the caye, fishing, hammock napping, and swimming in the beautiful water. The excursions off the island were a ton of fun and we had a great tour guide! Due to the natural setting of a small island and beauty all around you, this is a very romantic place and a great honeymoon destination. You wont regret your decision to go here! We plan on going back for a family reunion.

To break it down:
Accommodations: We had a wonderful private bungalow with hammocks on the porch facing the reef. The constant breeze kept it cool. The room was simple, but perfect. It felt very private.

Staff: So lovely! Leonard and Terry were so friendly. They not only gave us advice on what to do, but they even played games with us. We found them so welcoming. The rest of the staff was also fantastic. They are funny and very hospitable. I felt like I was at home with them.

Food/drinks: Food was simple in the fact that it was a set menu every day. It seemed at first we wouldn't like this, but it made decisions easy. They were also accommodating if we wanted to switch our order. Drink prices were cheap and someone was always there to take your order.

Location: South Water Caye really does feel like your own private island. It was the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate. It is good for the soul! There was always plenty to do as well.

Excursions: Ishmael, the awesome boat driver, took us to different locations to snorkel. The snorkeling was pretty good. But the highlight was also fishing along the way. I highly recommend drop line fishing. We would be catching fish every other minute! Then, you can take the fish back and have it for dinner. They cook it up for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

June is the start of a mad heat and the rainy season in the tropics. All the weather sites were predicting rain every day, thunder and lightning! I was mentally preparing for the fact that all days I would spend in the room, listening to the rain ... But! Rain and thunderstorms were all around us, but not where we were! :) We hardly believed our luck! But from the beginning...

We flew through Houston airport to the capital of Belize - Belize City. From there, we immediately flew to the town of Dangriga.

In Dangriga, we stopped for one night in Pelican Beach Resort hotel. From the hotel you could smell the old world charm. Belize's colonial past was felt in the architecture of buildings, in the old verandas, flowering gardens and palm trees. Rooms are simple, nothing special. Nowhere to swim, because the water near the shore is muddy ... not very pleasant. But a day or two at this place is worth it at least for the good food, exotic feel and the town. Plus the wonderful silence ... the sound of the breeze, the ocean and the birds singing are all you can hear. We felt we were the only tourists in town. During our stay in this place, I loved the long pier with hammocks and our first sunrise in Belize.

Next morning we took a boat to our magical, mysterious island in the Caribbean - South Water Caye.

30 minutes of gorgeous ride by boat will take you to a one of kind place, real heaven on Earth. The breeze was blowing into my face with incredible force, the sun scorching, water was crystal-clear, sky-blue.

During our visit to the island, we also visited Angel Reef and Tobacco Reef. Both places are full of gorgeous marine life!!! Just amazing!

Our island was also surrounded by incredibly beautiful reef itself, which created a lagoon where the water was blue, smooth and clear even in windy weather! In a word, we swam every day in a live aquarium! Fish, barracuda and lonely stings rays floated so close to the beach.

And nights! Dark and warm with a velvety breeze. The sky full of stars.The first night on the island, we sat on the shore and looked at the stars and the sea sparkled a million lights. At first I thought it was stars reflected in the water ... but no ...this is some kind of organism, like little glowing Swarovski crystals. In very warm tropical water is quite common. This indescribable beauty will stay in my memory forever!

The food in the hotel was amazing. So delicious and every day something new! : ) Loved it! All people are so kind and pleasant. We felt our selves as at home.

In general, all you can do there is just relaxing and enjoying the glorious weather, water, your philosophical thougts, 'hammocking' and kayaking. And reading real books of course. And snorkeling! : ) True romantic spot!

I also have a little video. It's here:
http://www.nadyassideoftheroad.com/2012/07/postcard-from-belize-secret-island.html

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Pelican Beach Resort is an ideal place for the ultimate Belize experience! Not enough positive comments can be made about the service, location,food, and the snorkelling. My family and I stayed 4 nights at Pelican Beach. The island was beautiful and had some of the best snorkelling in the world (comparable to the Great Barrier Reef in Australia). There were only 7 other people staying at the resort during the time we were there and made the place feel so relaxed and serene. The island was very beautiful with sandy white beaches and turquoise blue water. It was very peaceful and quite and had a very laid back atmosphere. Leonard, Martin, Terry, and Kevin were excellent hosts offering great service and being very knowledgeable about the caye and the surrounding area. The food was fantastic! Great Belizean fare with most of it being local sea food caught that day and local ingredients! The portions were small but you could always ask for seconds.
I would highly suggest going on the snorkelling day trips. Ishmael was a great guide and took my family and I to all of the best snorkelling locations which had great coral and fish. All of the trips were around 2 hours long and left at 9:30 and returned in time for a great lunch. The one day trip I would recommend the most would be to the Smithsonian Centre for Aquatic Research located a 5 minute boat trip from the island. This tiny research centre was very idilic located on the minuscule Carrie Bow Caye. It was really cool to see all of the different types of specimens they had collected and the amount of research they had conducted with limited resources. After these trips you had the whole day to spend in the tropical sun lying in a hammock with a good book.
The room my family stayed in was one of the cabins in the part of the duplex in the centre of the resort. They were small and were just one big bedroom and a bathroom but were allowed much space and liberty in the room. They were simple but had a great island vibe to it.

This island is truly an island paradise and I would highly recommend it to anybody looking to experience the beauty and serenity of Belize at its fullest!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avila Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Had a great week at Pelican Beach Resort relaxing and fly fishing. Cannot say enough good things about this place. It wasnt in the same class as dedicated fishing lodges but for the price who can complain?

If you are interested in a Belize family fishing holiday then check out the full review at piscatus.net http://www.piscatus.net/pelican-beach-resort-family-fishing-holiday-belize/

Looking forward to heading back next year!

Room Tip: Make sure you lock in a beachfront room up high to catch the wind and avoid the biteys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Beach - South Water Caye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Beach - South Water Caye

Address: Dangriga, South Water Caye 00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > South Water Caye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Water Caye
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelican Beach - South Water Caye 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two special locations, one great vacation - South Water Caye and Dangriga! South Water Caye, our island getaway-seaside cottages and rooms with fantastic views and cooling trade winds. On a gorgeous beach, atop the barrier reef and within South Water Caye Marine Reserve. Snorkel from shore, dive, fish, kayak or do nothing at all. Environmentally-friendly facilities with separate student group accommodations. For the simple pleasures - spending time together, sharing new adventures and making new friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye Hotel South Water Caye
Pelican Beach - South Water Caye Belize

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Beach - South Water Caye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.