We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sumidero Canyon

Sumidero Canyon
| Sumidero Ecotourism Park, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 70 Attractions in Chiapas
Type: Canyons, Outdoors
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Day tour arranged through Terra Maya. 300 pesos. Smooth travel, walked straight onto boat, solid 2 hours up and down the river through the canyon which is spectacular. Crocs and monkeys spotted. Stopped at Chiapa de corzo (thankfully only briefly) on the way home.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    100
    22
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“The Christmas tree falls are amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I wasn't very impressed with the boat ride until we got to the falls. The canyon is pretty but it was cold and we didn't see much wildlife on the trip. After the trash dam I was wondering if it was worth the trip and then we saw the Christmas tree falls and that made the trip worthwhile. It's really an amazing sight and worth the ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto vallarta, mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“canon del sumidero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

An awesome experience. If you are visiting either San Cristobal, or Tuxtla, you MUST go see el canon. It is truly awesome. Not only is it beautiful, but it also has an amazing profusion of wildlife from great blue herons to crocodiles and more. The best way to do it from San Cristobal is to go with a tour group that does not make you spend the day at one of the two "eco-parks". Ask
for a tour that takes you to Cahuare (pronounced cow-ah-ray) and that gives you lunch there. We did it on our own because we were wary of a full-day "eco-tour". Getting there was easy. We took a combi from the Tuxtla combi stand in San Cristobal just to the south (right) of the ADO/OCC bus terminal(45 pesos each). We asked to be left off at Cahuare. We crossed the highway and walked about a minute or two to the embarcadero. We hopped on a lancha (190 pesos each) for a tour through the canon. It lasted 2 hours and was worth every peso. Magnificent. Coming back to San Cris was a bit more difficult. Combis only get going when they are full, so all the combis from Tuxtla to San Cris passed us by. We waited about 45 minutes as they all passed us by and finally gave up. We tried to get a taxi, but none of the Cahuare taxis will go to San Cris. So we ended up taking a collectivo back to Tuxtla (10 mins, 10 pesos each). Then we took a taxi to the Expreso bus terminal (30 pesos) and a deluxe Mercedes combi back to San Cris (45 pesos each). The round trip between San Cristobal and Tuxtla is just an hour, so it is a pretty short trip as long as you realize you will not get a combi back to San Cristobal from Cahuare. The only way to get there is counter-intuitive: go further on to Tuxtla, and get a combi there back to San Cristobal. From Tuxtla, it was so easy. The buses leave every 10 minutes. But, actually, it might be easier to just join a tour group from San Cristobal as long as they don't leave you for the day at one of those dreadful eco-tourism places. But, however you do it, you must see el Canon del Sumidero. It was just so fantastic and beautiful and magnificent and memorable and wonderful. Cannot miss.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Too bad the locals cannot get a few boats to remove all the garbage in the river. Definitely left a bad experience but otherwise, the canyon is awesome

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stunning!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is an incredible nature experience, don't miss it.

It's possible to do this by yourself, just take a collective between San Cristobal de las Casas and Tuxtla for 45 pesos per person (from San Cristobal) and ask to be let off at the "Embarcadero Cahuare". It's only a couple of steps down the side of the road and you can buy your ticket there for 190 pesos for a 2 hour trip (price in Oct. 2013). However, there are organized tours available that will bring you there for approx. the same price and that are more convenient since they usually pick you up at the hotel/hostel.

We were amazed by the nature (high cliffs and amazing rock formations and plants on the cliffs) and the wildlife (crocodiles!!! :-) ) It is a shame about the trash in the canyon. Our guide explained to us that the problem only exists in the rainy season. People throw trash on the streets, the heavy rainfalls wash it into the smaller rivers and the rivers flow into the canyon where it al collects. They are cleaning it but it just keeps accumulating...

Nevertheless, the nature will astound you, don't miss this if you are in the region!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumidero Canyon also viewed

Chiapas, Southern Mexico
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas
 

Been to Sumidero Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumidero Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.