We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad state of Sumidero Canyon” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Canon del Sumidero

Canon del Sumidero
Mexico
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Sad state of Sumidero Canyon”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently took the trip down the river through the canyon. Yes, the canyon is beautiful but I could not enjoy it because of the remarkable sea of garbage in the river. I did some math as we were buzzing along with 20 people in the boat. I counted about 40 other boats. After doing some calculations, I figured that the government could have the tour operators contribute something per tourist to clean this up. It's absolutely shocking. If you go to Youtube and enter "garbage in sumidero canyon" you will get an idea. It is a sea of plastic garbage and other debris. The ecological implications are beyond belief and seeing the tourists just happily going along through the sea of garbage really bothered me. As tourists, we do have some power as far as our dollars spent. I wouldn't recommend spending money on this until there is some clean-up done.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    111
    22
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If your planning a trip to Chiapas, get to Tuxtla airport and buy a tour to the Sumidero Canyon on the Grijalba River. It will take your breath away! My husband and I went there and to other towns and attractions of the state of Chiapas during a 5 day tour, including a city tour to San Cristóbal, El Chiflón Falls, etc. On a tour, you can travel alone, couples, family, friends. The driving is difficult due to the mountain roads.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Best Way to See the Beauty of Chiapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The two hour boat ride through the Sumidero Canyon is the best seat in the house for the most breath-taking views of the Mexican tropics: mountains, cascades, alligators, monkeys ... just relax, ride, and take it all in!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copan, Honduras
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Impressed for all two plus hours of the boat ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This trip is definitely a "must do" if you are in Chiapa de Corzo, or anywhere nearby. The fare for the boat trip was 160 pesos. We saw the requisite crocodiles sunning themselves on one of the beaches. It was rainy season so we saw the waterfalls. I was especially impressed with the Christmas Tree falls. I have been to the Grand Canyon in Arizona and was equally impressed by what I saw here. Three thousand foot cliffs and about a mile wide at the top of the canyon.!!!

Do It!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creteil, France
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Amazing tour with viajeporchiapas.com”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We took a tour from viajeporchiapas from Merimba parque at Tuxtla Guttierez for 350 pesos/ each including transfer and tickets for the Canyon and for Corzo de Chiapa.

Our Guide Mr Chamé (that I highly recommend) explained every thing about the Canyon and the City. We got the 40 seats Lancha boat. The Canyon is impressive and with very high cliffs, we had the opportunity to see many birds and Crocodiles. The trip is about 2h, we went until the dam and back. In the afternoon, we made to the city of Corzo de Chiapa, visiting the Zocalo and the church. We also tasted the Pozol (cold drink with Chocolate and corn) and few Chiapas Candies which are inspired from Spanish-Arab candies.

Finally, we enjoyed a lot the visit, it was perfect during the hot day. It s better to start from Tuxtla then from San Cristobal. The transfer is shorter, allowing you to visit during the mid morning rather than at noon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canon del Sumidero also viewed

Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Chiapas
 
Chiapas, Southern Mexico
 

Been to Canon del Sumidero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canon del Sumidero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.