We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, remember for lifetime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agua Azul

Agua Azul
near Palenque, Mexico
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Karpathos, Greece
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place, remember for lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Close enough to Palenque, its great place for one day excursion compined to Misol Ha. Amazing color... Don't forget to take your swimming suit and a towel with you!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    6
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“it was a gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Very beautiful and a magical place. the color of the water speaks for itself. Amazing how God made this falls. very nice! never ever miss this if you travel to palenque!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villahermosa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Swimming is safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

There are only certain areas where you can swim, my kids loved every minute of it? The water was refreshing, and soo where the snacks they we bought while we were walking

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Breathtaking waterfalls marred by overcommercialization”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The road to Agua Azul in a tourist van winds ever upwards, traversing rainforest vistas and small villages. It seemed like the locations was remote, but when we arrived, (weekend) the area was jammed with tour buses and private vehicles. The area that encompasses the waterfall is vast. There is a stair system of natural rocks, and depending upon available time and energy, a person can choose a variety of view and swimming locations.

The turquoise hue of the waters and the majestic rushing sound they create is mesmerizing. Facing the vista is a powerful, memorable experience. As long as I faced the natural view, I was entranced. However, at my back was an endless line of eateries and booths selling a huge variety of wares which included postcards, jewellery, clothing and trinkets.

Although I loved the falls, the crush of the crowds and commercialization
of the site ruined the experience for me.

Suggestion: avoid weekends and high season, if possible

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Amazing Cascades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is a tour one must not miss. Agua Azul cascades are wonderful. Lots of opportunites to take photos.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Agua Azul also viewed

 

Been to Agua Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agua Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.