We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Grove Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Siquijor Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Grove Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tubod, San Juan, 6227, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Siquijor Island
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

If one wants to visit a wonderful place the try Mike and Hana's place at Coco Grove Beach Resort.
A truly serene and quiet place with very friendly staff, nice and comfortable accommodation next to a white coral beach.
The food might be a little expensive but the service and taste make up for the difference.There are a couple of swimming pools, a bar next to one pool, a dive shop where one can hire swimming gear to explore the lovely coral waters off the beach.
The resort has its own jeepney bus and on arrival at the pier in Siquijor they will pick you up and also drop you off when you depart.
There is nothing better than laying in a hammock under a coconut palm next to the beach and listening to the sea washing gently through the coral sand at the waters edge. Just so relaxing and calming.
After working in a busy city for most of my life with the noise and pollution, it is such a relief to visit my special place.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    117
    35
    7
    10
See reviews for
116
183
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Coco Grove, owned by Mike and Hana Butler (Australian) is a huge resort built along a sandy beach in a rainforest. The manager, an active and charming Filipina, takes excellent care of each and every guest. Her entire staff will know your first name within two days making you feel like belonging to a family. The place with around 160 beds is patronized by young as well as elderly people, but you will never feel that you are too close to anyone. It's a good place for divers as the nearby Apo Island is one of the world's best diving spots. On Saturdays there is a buffet dinner accompanied by a remarkable show. The Resort has two restaurants with good food and a handsome choice of good wines at reasonable prices.
We will definitely go back. It's a truly beautiful place!

Room Tip: We had an executive room with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSWICH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

There is not a lot more wonderful things I can say about this place that haven't already been said by other reviewers but I will try.

We were at Coco Grove from the 21st January to the 1st February and found the place to be wonderful. The staff are special and all greet you by name all the time. The only negative I can find is that the showers are not good. They are individual electric showers in each room but the water pressure is so low that the heater often cuts out and you find yourself covered in shower cream standing under a dribble of cold water. You then have to wait until someone further up the line turns their shower off. But it all adds to the charm of the place.

The rooms are basic, but the beds are comfortable. The minibar is well stocked and priced the same as the bars. We had Sampaguita 1 & 2 which are a stones throw from the pool and pool bar and not far from the beach. We found both restaurants to be excellent. The breakfast at the Sunset is superb and the view from the decking breathtaking. The Sunset has a more extensive menu but we liked the ambiance at the Salamandas better.

We agreed when we checked in to pay by card at the end of our stay. We ate and drank exactly as we wanted, we went to Apo island, had massages etc all signed for on the bill. By the end of the 11 days we were beginning to wonder how much the bill was going to be. It turned out to be £250 each. It may be expensive by Phillipino standards but we were happy to pay to stay at such a lovely place. The beach is not good for none swimmers as there is a lot of weed etc. but the snorkelling was very good. We were lucky enough to find and follow a large turtle on our first snorkelling trip The day before we came home we did get stung by jellyfish so were unable to go out on our last day which was a shame.

We were not as impressed with Apo Island as everyone else seemed to be. Maybe we missed something. The boat trip there and back was exciting as it was rough but the island didn't live up to what we expected. Our son and his girlfriend did go round the island on a motorbike but said they did not find anywhere better than where we were. My husband and I never left the complex the whole of the time. We had no need to everything we needed for a good, restful holiday was there. One very minor niggle was the number of children. They were not badly behaved in any way, but were very noisy in the pool which made it impossible to have a snooze by the pool if you wanted to. In our opinion this is a grown up place and not really suitable for children as there is not much for them to do but maybe I'm just a grumpy old woman!!

This place is beautiful but would be very difficult to get to direct from the UK. We were only able to do it as we were already in China visiting our son so we flew from Hong Kong to Manila then to Dumageute and then Ferry to Sequijor. It took 16 hours to get there (only about 3 hours in the air) but it is all the waiting about in between.

Tips:

Get the hotel to organise your transfers, they have it worked out well. If you have to wait for the ferry or your flight they will take you to their sister hotel or restaurant in Dumaguete to pass the time.

Always book your table for you evening meal at your chosen restaurant.

Every nook and cranny has a resident Gecko. Always check your dining table for Gecko poo.
We found it everywhere - on our cutlery, place mats even our pillow in our room.

I would like to thank all the staff for their care and attention particularly, Joy, Loyd, Je Je and many otheres who made our stay so wonderful.

~Would we recommend the place and would we go back. You bet we would recommend it.
Would we go back - yes we would, but then again there are so many places in the world we have not been so probably we will try somewhere else next time. When we have finished paying for this one.

I would suggest that this resort is on a par with the Maldives at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

It was a nice resort for reflection. No internet and celfone signal. So don't expect to have the kind of communication you have in the city. Food is expensive and it just taste fine. Water and sand is great....staff were all nice.

I travelled with my niece.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

If you like the beach, parties, drinking and shopping--- you're better off at Boracay or Puerto Galera

If you like-white sand, clean beach, beautiful surroundings, peace, solitude and relaxation--then welcome to Coco Grove! :)

My husband and I just spent our church wedding anniversary last weekend at Coco Grove and may I just say how special everyone there has helped make our stay? The staff were really friendly and what the other reviews say about them all knowing your name is spot on. They were very attentive to our needs and were indeed very helpful with making arrangements for our transfers to and from dumaguete to siquijor. The deluxe room (which frankly by Philippine resort standards was already pretty good) had some issues with the water heater so we were upgraded to their truly awesome Royal Orchid Villa room absolutely free of charge. We felt like we were on honeymoon! :)

The long strip of white sand beach in front of the resort is very well maintained and one doesn't really have to go far from shore to snorkel and see some fish and corals in the marine sanctuary. Hammocks and very comfortable padded deck chairs can be found all around so one can just plop down and watch in bliss as the waves rolled in. Kayaks are free for use to all resort guests and the other amenities like paraws, boats, snorkeling equipment can be rented with reasonable charges.

They also have these private tables by the beach that you can reserve for a romantic lunch or dinner at absolutely no extra charges. (Yes, it did make for one of the most romantic dinners the hubby and I ever had, thank you very much!)

Saturday nights are also fun with the Siquijor National College dancers performing in both the cultural and variety shows. Even the foreign guests, mostly Europeans who were about 80% of the resort's 60 guests at that time all had a blast trying their hand at the tinikling.

It was also very convenient walking around the resort as you can pretty much just sign for the things you'll be needing/buying and settle up on check out. Hubby and I opted to pay per purchase though (you could if you prefer to) so we won't be too surprised at the total bill on check out.

The resort also have tours you can choose from as well as mopeds and motorcycles you could rent for going around siquijor. It's pretty easy to go around as the whole island just has one major road that passes through all the towns, just be sure to pick up an island map from the reception.

If you want to save a bit, ask one of the friendly room boys to hook you up with a tricycle driver you could hire for the day to take you around Siquijor's tourist spots. This is what we did and it cost us both just P1,500, about a thousand bucks cheaper than if we booked the resort tour.

The food we had at the resort was, as with most places, a mix of average to really good. There was a buffet night last Saturday that we found truly enjoyable. I'm not sure though if it's like that every Saturday so just check with Jesusa, Joy, Criselle and all the lovely, cheerful ladies at the front desk.

The resort is really huge( i.e. the walk from our room to the reception area takes about 10 minutes of brisk walking, another 5 minutes to get to Sunset Bar for breakfast). The rooms don't have phones so if you may want to stock up on snacks and beverages to save yourself the walk if you don't like walking too much. You could request sandwiches/food "to go" from either of the two resort's restaurants for a takeaway midnight snack or when you go out touring.

Mobile phone signal can be difficult though we did find some nice cell spots by the shore near the taller coconut trees, near the internet and wifi area and by the deck of the Sunset Bar.

For snorkeling, bring your own "footies" or rent some from the dive shop. These come in really useful as there are sea urchins on the beach floor. The shore also has some crushed coral that can be not so comfy to walk on with bare feet. You could rent these as well as masks, snorkels and life vests for the day or for the duration of your stay at fairly reasonable prices.

Feel free to ask any of the resort's staff for assistance as they are all pretty good English speakers. They're also very good with young children as we observed that whenever there were children running around the resto or dancing on stage, one of the resort's staff would always be there keeping an eye on the kids even acting as honorary nannies.

The rooms: very spacious, clean, and staff pop in to clean up in the afternoons. They dont have in-room safes but one could always stick their valuables and leave it with the front desk for safekeeping in the vault. Towels are of the nice, thick kind, the pillows fluffy and comfortable and absolutely no scratchy, itchy sheets at least by our experience.

Room Tip: Royal Orchid rooms are near to Salamandas Resto, activity area, pool with swim up bar and gift shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Me and my wife had a honeymoon last October 2011 here and left full of wonderful memories from start to finish. The staff was very friendly and greets you with complimentary drinks and remembers your name. The room we booked needs some repairs so they upgraded our room to Executive Deluxe with no additional charge. I think is one of the best rooms they have and the only room with a TV. I've seen some people complaining why there's no TV in most rooms but we got lucky to have that only room. The sunset view is awesome and it's the biggest resort I've seen as well. I've been to Alona, Panglao which is great but I've never seen a resort as big as Cocogrove. It has two large pools and two great restaurants. It even have it's own snorkeling area because it's within the marine sactuary although the fishes are not as many like Balicasag Island, Bohol (pictures in gear up and play website) having everything in one place is very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Coco Grove Resort is a must stay in Siquijor Island, I'm not gonna say its world class, but its almost there, its very clean, well-maintained, huge with complete amenities, they have wide long stretch of beach, rich in marine life snorkling area and a nice relaxing pool.

Their cottages/room are spacious, clean and well-interiored, with a feel of authentic filipinina style, absolutely gorgeous and relaxing!!!

Its perfect for couples, family and gang getaway, totally laidback and relaxing...I want to go back again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Grove Beach Resort

Address: Tubod, San Juan, 6227, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Siquijor Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Siquijor Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Grove Beach Resort 3*
Also Known As:
Coco Grove Beach Hotel Siquijor Island
Coco Grove Beach Siquijor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Grove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coco Grove Beach Resort to your Saves list