We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Grove Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coco Grove Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coco Grove Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tubod, San Juan, 6227, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Siquijor Island
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Our stay was average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

We had heard so many recommendations from the locals to stay at Coco Grove so we decided to give it a go. I was travelling with my partner and took my mother as well.

The resort is fairly large, has many modern amenities and has an OK beach (sand was more later pieces of rock and coral).

The room:

Even through the rooms had used nicer building materials than many other places we stayed we found it very dark! Even with the lights on it was hard to see where you were going. As around the cottages it's shady and leafy this unfortunately attracts ALOT of Mosquitos and boy did we get ravaged! We got transferred to a bigger room once we realised our lock didn't actually lock our possessions safely away and after much excitement to get a brighter room it was even darker! It was slightly annoying that all double are just twin beds joint together and the mattress was just foam - not a spring one like we'd expected with their over average prices.

The resort:

Staff are very friendly and if you like the americanised 'Good morning - insert name here' then it will be up your street. The pools are lovely and it's nice to have a pool bar. The food is also excellent, a broad choose of dishes and even the steak was good for the Philippines. Kayak rental is free for guests and we recommend kayaking 1 km (take a left if facing the sea) and go to the brand new resort/restaurant 'U.Story' or some excellent organic and creatively crafted cuisine. Unfortunately the beach is average but as we discovered all of Siquijors beaches are just OK by the Philippines standard.

I would recommend this place for families from Europe who don't really have a clue about prices in the Philippines as everything is in one place but definately over priced! Motor bike hire starts at 110 pesos per hour but out of the resort you can get a bike for 24 hours for 350 pesos. Again all the boat trip prices are slightly hilarious as they are 4 times the prices of a local firm. A cambugahay falls trip cost 1300 pesos each - it only cost us 350 for the bike rental and we saw many other attactions for this cost. Food was surprisingly a fair price.

We were looking to buy a home on Siquijor so had the pleasure of staying at many resorts all around the island to get a feel for what's going on. We'd recommend staying somewhere else to do all the touristy things as you'd save LOTS of money then stay at Coco and do nothing to make the most of the facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    137
    41
    8
    11
See reviews for
132
202
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We are a family of 4 (children 5 and 9) booked this resort 6 months ahead o9n a recommendation from a family friend. It totally surpassed our expectations. We had to stay in Dumagete for a couple of nights beforehand due to a Typhoon hitting the island but everyone was very helpful considering the chaos surrounding us. Once we arrived on Siquijor island that past 2 nights melted into oblivion. This island is incredible and the resort much much more beautiful than the pictures. They do not do it justice. The staff are amazing, food delicious, trips worth every penny - swimming with Turtles on Apro island and little Nemo's was just incredible. We never wanted to leave. Rooms, clean and spacious. Surrondings wonderful. I am British but was born in the Philippines and though I do not live there anymore would recommend this place totally. It is not as expensive as other resorts I have been to and is just wonderful. Highly recommended - BTW we stayed m5 nights after originally booking only 3 as we were so impressed. Happy Holidays!

Room Tip: We stayed in Bouganvilla which was right on the beach and close to the Olympic pool - lovely room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Highly recommended. Amazing setting, magic environment, excellent service and great value.
The only negaive point, the beach. It is beautiful but the tide is low during the whole day, which means you can not swim. It is so frustrating but this is nature, it is the same situation with all the hotels in Paleton... Beaches are stunning though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
625 reviews 625 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
1,173 helpful votes 1,173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights in January. What a fantastic place. Peaceful, spacious, nice beach with white sand and 2 pools, beautiful sunsets and surrounded by coconut trees. Lots of hammocks and private gazebos located around the resort to just chill out.

The main asset of this resort are the staff you provide very personal service and greet you by your first name. There are 2 restaurants to choose from but our favourite was the Sunset which offered Filipino and Western dishes at very reasonable prices. Beer is the same price everywhere at the resort and is just slightly higher than in the supermarket and a lot lot less than what I was paying at other hotels in the Philippines.Breakfast is included in the tarrif is plated but you do have many choices including western and filipino.It comes with coffee/tea,a piece of fruit and fruit juice.

We are a family of 5 and booked Sampaguita Rooms 1 and 2. These are located beside the olympic sized pool and very close to the beach. These rooms are the cheapest but perhaps one of the better located rooms but and are very basic and not large. The tarrif for this room does not come with comlimentary mineral water, TV or a kettle . I thought not having a TV was great as there were no distractions from enjoying this fantastic resort.

The pool has a swim up bar, the sunset restaurant offers tables on the beach and some great singers serenade you on the beach. Many activities to choose from including glass bottom boat, banana boat rides,sailing, table tennis and 2 pools to name a few. Mackie the parrot located at the front desk will keep you entertained but be careful as he can bite.

There is a free wifi area located near reception but the internet connection is very slow. The owners adivised that progress is being made for cable internet in the very near future.

I looked some of the other rated resorts on the island and this seems to be the best choice. A great place to stay on Siquijor. A hassle free tip is to get the hotel to organise transfers including ferries etc as it is not expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The resort is great and very relaxing and no complaints, staff friendly and food good but the one annoyance was the lack of a good internet connection, the only connection required going to a particular spot near the reception and even that was not always a sure bet. I think most people would like the option to connect in a convenient place in the resort even if they don't actually use it much!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Snorkeling unbelievable
Food ok
Management professional
Rooms confined
Recommend for families with swimming children

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This resort is one of the best places we have visited. The setting is beautiful, the grounds are extremely well maintained and the staff are very polite and helpful. The restaurant food is gorgeous. It is extremely good value - rooms are approximately €50 per night including breakfast. All in all I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Grove Beach Resort

Address: Tubod, San Juan, 6227, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Siquijor Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Siquijor Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Grove Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Coco Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Grove Beach Hotel Siquijor Island
Coco Grove Beach Siquijor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Grove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.