We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place and Amazing Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JJ's Cafe

JJ's Cafe
Solangon, San Juan, Philippines
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $5
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The place is situated in Solangon,San Juan,Siquijor PHILIPPINES..Its along the road with beach front..The restaurant settings is on the beach.You could enjoy a beautiful sunset every day..and relax on the beach with hammocks hanging out between cooconuts trees...And recently we offer accomodation for backpackers travellers with very affordable prices right on the beach..
Brasov, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Place and Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Absolutely adored JJ's. The owners were the nicest people, so hospitable, welcoming and friendly, not to mention helpful. The same can be said for all the other staff members. The rooms were great, huge bunk beds. The food is also fantastic! This has been by far one of my favourite hostels since I started travelling 7 months ago. Really chilled out atmosphere, and totally laid back and relaxing. Love it, and cannot recommend it enough!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiesa78, Manager at JJ's Cafe, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the appreciation of the place. And were glad that you enjoy staying with us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    27
    16
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average hostel and grouchy owner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent one night in this hostel. We had a reservation for a private bedroom but they didn't take it into account, so we slept in an isolated room inside the dorm. The room was correct and the whole hostel ok, but the shared bathroom was really dirty: full trash bin, dirty floor and toilet bowl whereas there were nobody else using it. There were 2 cats eating in the left plates of the kitchen.
The staff (2 waitresses) was really nice and attentive but the impoliteness of the owner makes it a non-recommendable place to stay. There is so much better in Siquijor !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiesa78, Manager at JJ's Cafe, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
"IM SORRY??"... When your boyfriend booked the room he knows that all our room is share bathroom and I explain to him that the room he will have is adjacent to the dorm beds.. I don't know if you "KNOW" what is backpacking but we have a big sign 4feet by 8feet size of our sign JJS BACKPACKERS VILLAGE that means were a backpacking place. But when you arrive you don't like the room because you want a private toilet inside your room. Your boyfriend should explain to you what kind of room he booked. And straight away you have fight of your boyfriend. And the other people on the dorm bed complain about it. You know you should do next time when you travel again have more money so that you can stay in a 5 star resort or do a research of what accommodation your staying at. And secondly the staff and the other people stayed in JJS didn't like you at all because your very unfriendly and grumpy face and never smiles at all : The owner get angry on you because supposed to be you have a common courtesy and good manners, but you don't have it. You are one of the others that never asked permission of using our computers ,refilling waters, and grabbing drinks in our fridge. And you know that, all of those is not for free. Were running a business here , were not running a charity. If you have a proper manners if wont be happen to you all. It is upsetting at all.. that you never respect the place and owner at all. And to let you know that " We don't raise any cats and dogs in our property" And we don't take left over foods in our kitchen ,it goes straight to our dishwashing area. Good Luck and I'm hoping you will apply common courtesy and good manners towards yourself, and you will count it as one lesson to yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“very lovely place, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This review is for both the restaurant and the hostel.

We had the pleasure of staying in this beachfront hostel for 3 days during the low season. First impression when we arrived was "WOW." we were so surprised at the serenity of the place. Upon entering the main gate, you already see the beautiful sea in front of you. The ambience was very homey, peaceful and relaxing. There were 2 hammocks for lounging by the beach, and the open air cafe was where we had most our our meals.

Food was not cheap, a bit pricey, even. But serving size is good for sharing and Jieza's cooking is superb! They do inform you that you can cook your own food since it is cheaper that way and that there are some cheaper places to eat outside. Jieza also informed us that if we had a water bottle, we can just refill our bottles from their dispenser for way cheaper than if we kept buying bottled water every time. It's just P5 for up to 500mL. I've heard complaints that food takes too long to arrive. In our case, we felt they served the food within reasonable time. Maybe because it's the low season and they didn't have as much orders. You can also connect your iPod to their speaker system in the restaurant. We did this on our 2nd day when there was nobody else in the hostel/restaurant. It felt like our very own secluded little place :D

The beach area is really nice. We noticed, upon looking left and right, that the area in front of JJ's is the cleanest in the area. We could see them cleaning the beachfront every day we were there. You have 3 options here: dorm room (2 double decker beds, total of 4 beds), tent, or double room.

During our time there, we had the dorm room house to ourselves for the first night. Take note that one of the double rooms (there are 3 in total) is connected to the dorm room, and these 2 rooms all share one bathroom. To get from this double room to the bathroom, you would have to pass the dorm room. The other two double rooms are in another house, which just finished construction recently. These other two rooms share another bathroom. The bathroom was clean. There was ample space for placing toiletries and hanging your stuff. In the dorm room were several hangers, big lockers (no need to bring padlock), standing and wall-mounted fan, some hooks for hanging clothes. They also provided bath towels. Had the impression that the design was well thought out.

It wasn't stuffy inside the room at night, esp. with the fan. No mosquitoes, either. Just make sure to close bathroom door every time. Slept well on both nights. The staff were very nice, special mention to Rodette. She always had a smile on her face, we miss her already. The drinks aren't too expensive, ordered a couple of beers ourselves.

Tried the "hilot" massage they offered. They have a massage bed outside the house closest to the beach. Kuya Junell was really good. Slept like a baby after.

I was told this place already has bookings for the upcoming high season, so better to call ahead and reserve if you're thinking of staying here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiesa78, Manager at JJ's Cafe, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the appreciation of the place.From the management and staff , were happy that all of you have a great time staying with us..Were looking forward to see you again in JJs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The grill was very good and the staff was nice. We also had a pasta salad which was slightly sour but decent. There are not that much restaurants around but this is a good choice for average price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiesa78, Manager at JJ's Cafe, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your appreciation of our service.. Hope to see you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“the best of siquijor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

amazing sunset and beach, local village around, nice snorkelling. The owners and the staff make evrything to make your time in siquijor magical...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jiesa78, Manager at JJ's Cafe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
THANK YOU FERNANDA. Were happy to hear that you have a best time staying with us.See you soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to JJ's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JJ's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.