We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de la Playa Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa de la Playa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de la Playa Beach Resort
Sandugan Beach | Larena, 6226 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Siquijor Island
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

staying there was a good choice,
nice welcome by friendly staff and they made my stay very enjoyable.
got a charming "casa" called casa romantica and it was romantic. sitting on the private veranda
watching the birds in the morning, the sunset in the evening and life go by the whole day..
toured around the island with a van and cute driver , lots of fun..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
32
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

hi everybody
i was really lucky that someone recommanded this little cute resort to me, cause my wish was to have a real tropical feeling, seeing the ocean all day long in front of my cottage.
and it was given me full satisfaction.... relax, relax, relax,
i had no disire to do much else, ... except eat...nice dish was a tyrolian potato dish with pork...
good food, very nice staff, i will come back in november...
rates were great because of low season...
tour around the island, i had a nice driver,very helpful.

Room Tip: i had a beach cottage with small kitchen and great veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We moved to Casa de la Playa after a horrible night at the neighboring hotel and were incredibly pleased that we made the choice. Though it was a bit more expensive, we had a beautiful, Grecian style room, with a huge balcony overlooking the sea. The beach doesn't have a ton of sand, but the hammocks that lap the water right in front of the hotel are lovely.

The hotel lost power one night for about seven hours and when we complained that the AC we paid for obviously didn't work, they were willing to work with us on the price. That's a huge plus in my book!

They also had affordable motorbike rentals, which made it easy to explore the island: http://erohisms.com/on-siquijor-vast-blue-waters-with-no-black-magic/

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed there for a week. The most exciting thing of this place - you can live in several steps from the sea. Most of the "rooms" are not like even ** hotels. But this is a feature! You can feel yourself a part of the nature.

The only place you can eat - the reastaurant. It's good enough. Not so many dishes, but everything is fresh and good cooked.

Room. As there are lot of creatures: lizards, gekos, different bugs - you should keep your room closed. There are lot of space in the room, but I'd like to see more comfortable bathroom. And aircon was rather loud.

This place has it's own garden. It's very beautiful.

Beach. Siquijor island has only 2 beaches comfortable for swimming. But corals are everywhere! You need only some shoes and a mask and you can discover sea creatures near your house.

Personnel. Excelent! Everyone is very kind and tries to make your rest as comfortable as can.

Wifi. You should remember - it's an island. You should expect only "dial-up" speed and only in restaurant. But that's enough to keep in touch with the rest of the world.

And you should definitely try a hiller massage from Carmen. Ask for her schedule when you are checking in.

I'd like to come here again. But maybe in another "room".

Room Tip: All rooms are special. Ask to see all possible you can choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

i don't take the reviews so serious, i know that they are very personal and express only the opinioun of the one experiencing at that very time (sometimes lucky moments, sometimes unlucky situations) i know that from all my travel experiences so i just read for information what to expect but still i will try as long as the environment suits me. and for this resort , it did!
i stayed for 10 days in june and lucky enough the previous problems with the power cuts on this islands were over, since they got new equipment, so i was not disturbed with no fan in the room, except only one time when there was a thunderstorm and oviously some damage on the power
line.
i spend the most wonderful evenings sitting on the beach almost out on the sandbanks in low tide, watching the sunset and later the fisherman with their lamps out in the ocean..its like you are in another world.. very healing !
no TV, no noice, just nature.
i toured the island with a rented motorbike, so exciting to see the little wonders of this beautiful island and to talk to the very friendly locals. waterfall, mountain regions, churches are some highlights.
my room was right on the beachfront with a hammock to relax and dream the whole day , nice, cute and comfortable. i loved the mango-lassi in the restaurant to enlighten my afternoons or a tasty capuccino. good food, i have to say, takes little time, ok, but here i got the time, nice to sit in the restaurant and watch the birds, the garden, listen to the music..
all in all my best experience for a place to stay and to be right on the beachfront..

Room Tip: i had casa ida on the beachfront with a kitchenette. very nice veranda to sit and watch forever..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

1. We rented a 2-storey house and it's good for 7 people. It's not that super-clean as what guests should expect but it's tolerable, I mean it's in the beach and surrounded by trees, plants and sand, so I think that should be fine.
2. Honestly speaking the beach is not that amazing but still it's a beach. It's still a place where you can relax, you hear waves and birds chirping. We did bonfires at night and it was really great!
3. The house holds some kitchen amenities like stove, pan, pot and the likes so we were able to cook some dinners and breakfasts.
4. Beds are not that comfortable.
5. The staff are nice.
6. Bathroom is clean and somehow big. They provide clean towels.
7. Rate is very cheap. You just get what you pay for!
8. It is about 45minutes to 1hour drive from the port of Siquijor to Casa Dela Playa via trike.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My fiance and I just spent 8 nights at Casa de la Playa in Siquijor, and had a wonderful experience. Casa de la Playa is located on a beautiful and very quiet stretch of beach. From the front porch of our beach front cottage we could see the islands of Negros Oriental, Cebu, and Bohol.

There are no vendors on this beach selling beads and trinkets, only freshly caught fish that my Filipino fiance would use to create outstanding Filipino meals in the small kitchen that includes a cold refrigerator in our cottage just using simple ingredients purchased in the town.

We specifically chose Siquijor and Casa de la Playa as a place to escape from the grind of the modern world, and find a quiet and romantic place to experience solitude and peace of mind. When all I can hear is the sound of the ocean and occasional dogs playing on the beach I know I have found my paradise.

We did not find any witches or black magic in Siquijor, which I believe is mostly local legend. What we did find were very friendly and down to earth people in Siquijor, whose only magic is their warm, friendly, and simple way of life. They don't have much in the way of material things, but seem so much happier than many wealthy people I meet.

I don't understand some of the people who write reviews of various places in the Philippines, did they come here expecting a 5 star hotel for $30 per night? You can find those places in the Philippines, but they are few and far between and cost far more than $30 per night. Sure its warm here, you are in the tropics, so put on your swim suit and jump in the ocean, snorkel, or scuba dive.

There are some very pristine coral reefs and walls directly in front of Casa de la Playa that are great for snorkeling and scuba diving. A short walk down the beach and you will find the Kiwi Resort and Dive Shop. Say hello to my friend Raul the dive master. Siquijor should do more to advertise itself as a divers destination because the reefs and walls here are very comparable to other better known dive destinations in Bohol, Cebu, and Apo Island. There are turtles, and lots of very colorful corals, and small tropical fish and is a great place for macro photography.

The one thing that disturbed me while scuba diving is seeing large cages that are used by locals to catch tropical fish for peoples home aquariums. The short term economic gain will dry up when there are no more tropical fish to be caught. This is not unique to Siquijor, I also saw this in Apo Island.

I hope someone will adopt some of the dogs who love to play on the beach, they are really nice animals who have a great time splashing around in the water. They are fed by some locals and tourists, but don't seem to have a place to call home.

Go to Siquijor and Casa de la Playa to find a simple but relaxing place to unwind, don't bring expectations of luxury, and have a wonderful vacation with charming Filipino hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de la Playa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Playa Beach Resort

Address: Sandugan Beach | Larena, 6226 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Siquijor Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Siquijor Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting Beach resort on a white sand beach and in a tropical garden with comfortable, nicely decorated beach houses offering different types of accommodation (self catering to luxury-aircon), also for longterm stay and permanent residence. The ideal hideaway - place for a nature - and peace-loving traveller. The pure tranquility, inspiring atmosphere and charming architecture of houses and restaurant combines with the beauty of white sand beach and a spectacular house - coral reef perfect for swimming, snorkeling and long beach walks. LOCATION: On a long white sand beach(Sandugan Beach) only 6 km from pier & town of Larena, on the island of Siquijor, Visayas (opp. Negros). the island has two major piers: Siquijor town (16 km from the resort) and Larena (6km from the resort). From Manila 1 hour flight to Dumaguete (Negros) and 40 Min. by fast ferry to Larena, from Cebu appr. 4.5 hours by fast ferry. Accommodation:• Standard Houses• Houses with kitchenette and fridge• Double story house with fridge• Aircon Deluxe, Greek style with minibar. Residential houses Restaurant: Big bamboo-style restaurant "Pagoda verde" specializes in vegetarian food as well as international & Filipino cuisine. ACTIVITIES: You can just relax and count the starfish, or go for snorkeling, biking, boating, hiking, cave exploring in the mountains, touring around the Island, jump in the waterfalls, or enjoy the Wellness-SPA and the famous healing massage of local healers. Maybe you take a morning yoga class, join Chinese exercises or learn how to paint in oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa de la Playa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De La Playa Beach Hotel Siquijor Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de la Playa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.