We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like the sea....you'll love this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lady Elliot Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort
Save
You added Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort to your Saves list
Lady Elliot Island, Queensland 4216, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SIMPLY NATURE
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you like the sea....you'll love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed late July/early August for a week, took a few days to get into the rhythm of the place, but didn't want to leave by the end of our stay. Family of 5 with 3 teenage kids, we stayed in eco huts, which are noisy in the wind, and very basic - if not a bit scruffy. But so glad we made that choice, as walking to the loo block (also a bit scruffy, but scrupulously clean...so who cares?) at night is an experience in itself, seeing the stars, listening to the waves. My husband rightly pointed out that 3 adolescents with jet lag need a reason to get outside! At first we thought LEI was overpriced, but then you realise that everything has to be brought in, the restrictions on the place are huge and the leaseholders (who run the resort) do seem to be trying to bring the island back to its former natural glory. In fact the (incredibly helpful and friendly) staff are almost zealous in explaining how the de-salination works, how the tree planting is going, what an amazing marvel the Barrier Reef is. Basically, relax, eat like a pig, go exploring - there is nowhere to get lost, do the activities on offer (even the coconut bowling got my 16 year old son howling with laughter), and get in the sea. If you've never snorkelled (like me) and don't see what the fuss is about, you will understand by the time you leave. Best thing? floating underwater listening to distant whale song in the big blue. Go in the Australian winter - we were told September is good to - it may be a bit cool, but the visibility (sea) is good, and you get the whales. Oh yes.

Room Tip: If you are used to camping, the eco huts are a definite step up. We were very pleased with choosing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    98
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
130
153
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Before we visited LEI last week, I had checked out other reviews on tripadvisor and while we still booked 4 nights there, our expectations were pretty low. Right from checking in for the short light plane flight to the island in Hervey Bay, to the moment we left and were waved off by the staff, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. (Some of the staff wave to all arriving and departing flights - a nice touch). We stayed in a Reef unit, which has a dble bed +a bunk bed, with en suite shower and loo. The deck outside overlooked the beach and the ocean. It was clean and more than adequate, although my husband found the mattress a bit soft. The meals were not fine dining but there was always something to appeal to us and it was plentiful. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the flora and fauna of the island and its surrounding reef. I dived, snorkelled, did a bird watching tour, a reef walk and a trip on glass bottomed boat and that was only a fraction of what was available.

Room Tip: Reef units overlook the beach, and have en suite facilities. The eco units are behind but still clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have dived all over the world but this is world class marine life... Mantas, turtles, dolphins and whales all in 5 days. You don't need to be a diver through as snorkelling is just as amazing sometimes even better. Dive crew Chris, Lorin and Santiago were amazing best we have dived with, resort staff are fantastic, knowledgable and friendly, food is great and the location is superb. If you need to totally get away from the world this is the place to go. The luxury isn't in the accommodation it's the people, the location and the amazing marine life.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We took an Island Suite for the family, us plus our two teenage boys. It was basic accommodation, as expected, but more than adequate and directly onto the beach so could snorkel directly in the lagoon. It was winter so the weather wasn't the best but the diving was great, everything we wanted to see and more, including a close encounter with humpbacks on the way to one dive. The staff were great, from the helpful reservations through to the island staff. Particularly impressed with the enthusiasm and knowledge of the team on the Island. The dive staff were very helpful, and made the best of the bad weather with some fantastic dives, thanks Chris and Ryan. Food was plentiful and enough variety to feed two hungry but fussy teenagers. Very happy after a full day of diving or snorkelling to turn in early so glad that the evening activities were quiet. Overall an excellent experience, if you want 5 star pampering and nightlife go somewhere else but if you want great dives, the reef, the nature and some peace and quiet go to LEI.

Room Tip: Island Suites are perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have just spent 7 wonderful days of scuba diving, snorkelling and relaxing on this beautiful island. The staff are friendly and helpful, the facilities, accommodation and food are excellent. The weather was superb, the manta rays and turtles amazing; even lucky enough to see some whales, and to top this off we have booked again for 2014.
A big thanks to the fantastic dive staff: Ryan, Chris, Kym, Will, Nate, Santiago and Captain Extraordinaire, Clinton. The dives are amongst the best in the world!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Since 1997, we have had 6 one week visits to LEI, and we have plans to return. With the last trip, despite strong south easterly winds, we were still able to snorkel three times each day on the best side of the island, and enjoy clear (around 25m) visibility, friendly turtles and lots of manta ray sightings. The resort manager, Andreas, introduced himself to us and impressed us with his sincerity to make improvements to the tourist experience on the island, such as activities when not in the water. The food was great, the accommodation in the reef units were fine, and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently visited Lady Elliot Island and stayed for 5 days and nights . What a wonderful experience , diving the Barrier reef , and staying on the beautiful Island .
The flights , accomodation and food experience was excellent . The staff were experienced and helpful , always willing to mix with the guests .
A wonderful relaxing eco experience , with so much to see and do

Room Tip: Do not take your cell phone or computer . They will not work .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort

Address: Lady Elliot Island, Queensland 4216, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Lady Elliot Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lady Elliot Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lady Elliot is a true coral cay island located at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef, north of Fraser Island. The island is regarded as one of the best snorkeling and diving destinations on the Great Barrier Reef and is famous for its unspoilt coral reef and amazing array of spectacular marine life including turtles and manta rays. Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort provides a range of low key accommodation options ranging from 2BR Island Suites to Eco Cabins for those on a budget. The overnight rate includes: Full buffet breakfast and dinner daily; One free glass bottom boat/guided snorkel tour per person; Free use of snorkel equipment (mask, snorkel, fins); Range of free guided Island activities/tours; and Environmental Management Charge. Scenic flights depart daily from Bundaberg, Hervey Bay/Fraser Coast, Brisbane (Redcliffe) and Coolangatta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lady Elliot Island Eco Hotel Lady Elliot Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.