We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return guests , and loving it !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lady Elliot Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort
Save
You added Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort to your Saves list
Lady Elliot Island, Queensland 4216, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SIMPLY NATURE
Caloundra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Return guests , and loving it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Well what can you say about this place ! We have just returned from trip # 6 or 7 to LadyElliot and miss it like crazy already! L,E,I is a last bastion where you get to experience" the last frontier" so to speak of a relitively untouched piece of the Gret Barrier Reef, and let your kids see nature in its rawest forms whilst feeling completely safe. We snorkelled with reef sharks both black and white tips, Manta Rays , heaps of "Buddy" turtles , soooooo many huge fish, clown fish , sting rays , and even bumped into "Sigfreed" the resident 2.5m Silver tip shark that lives on the Eastern side of the island. We watched whales breaching while eating breakfast ! Our kids are 4 and 10 and our 4 year old snorkeled the snorkel safari and saw all of the above and felt safe the whole time. We have seen many changes in our trips over the past 10 years, with both the resort and with the reef etc. This trip was possibly the best ever with so many helpfull staff that go above and beyond to help out . Mark, our dive instructor this trip was possibly the most thorough instructor we have ever dived with anywhere in Aus along with Kim and Ryan on previous trips. Emma , Maggie, Courtney and Kylie were absolutely fantastic and it was sad to say goodbye to them all . I believe in a management style of being prepared to do what you ask others to do and Greaham the manager was all over the place , from kitchen to dive shop, to bar etc, running around working his butt off , and I believe the resort has improved under his management , and the staff seem very happy. This island is not for everyone , and if you like a resort with a spa for pampering , pedicures, an internet lounge , a massage , gourmet food , and 5 star accomodation etc then go to Bali ! This resort is comfortable , the food is home style but great, and filling after a hard days snorkelling. If you want to turn your phone off , not be contactable , not watch the morbid news story's every night, not listen to a radio , not drive cars , and generally step out of society and our crazy lives for a while and experience something that we all should at least once a year (Each other !). To talk to your kids and to your partner for days with none of lifes disruptions is worth more than gold ! and to see your childrens faces after they have just scratched a sea turles back, leaves an impression burnt into my mind forver. Ok , you get my drift, We love Lady Elliot and will always return , hopefully one day with our grand children. The only negitive we saw this trip was the result of 2 green turtles with plastic bags in their stomachs that they had picked up at sea on their long journeys, and it was very sad to see. These turtles have to battle for survival from the moment they are concieved and it never gets any easier for them , and to see two animals that made it to adulthood out of the hundreds of thousands that did not , only to die by eating a plastic bag that someone threw away after unpacking 2 litres of milk is disturbing ! I only hope these magnificent creatures are there for my grand kids to see !

Room Tip: Anything with those ocean veiws ! Unbeliveable !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    99
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
130
153
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WAIUKU, NEW ZEALAND
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent three nights on Lady Elliot Island this is indeed a unique place 80km off the Queenland coast, swim in Coral Gardens, snorkel with turtles straight off the beach - they love having their backs scratched, walk right up to roosting and nesting birds, watch the whales cruise by while you sit in the bar and restaurant and dive with the friendliest manta-rays ever. This place is magic. But there is more, the resort is tremendous, wonderful buffet food, a great friendly bar and good accommodation to suit all purses. We had a beach front unit which was clean and comfortable for two people. The staff are fantastic and really go out of their way to make you welcome and keep you informed of whats going on around the island. Many of the staff are specialists in the marine ecology and are happy to talk to you about the environment around the island. If you can possibly stay as we did for at least three days or more there are so many things to do if you love the environment both on your own and organised by the resort. ENJOY!!

Room Tip: Beach front units definately enhance the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Have you ever swum with turtles? Well we have.

We only flew over as day trippers from Hervey Bay - we want to come back and stay.
Welcome to Fantasy Island.

Thank you Maggie, Kylie and Garry. You were very hospitable and we would love to come back and stay for a few days. The accessibility to the reefs is awesome, just walk into the water 50 metres from the verandah and you are there. Turtle mayhem only 200 metres out into the lagoon in less than 1 metre of water. What a place, what an experience.

Salt naturally gets into everything. This Eco Island Resort has the look, feel and smell of our old shack. It just scream Aussie!!! Please please do not turn it into Disney Land. We loved it as we saw it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I went to Lady Elliot on School camp. I couldn't believe my eyes, when we landed we got the safety brief from Graham the General Manager, We were snorkeling with the resident turtles by the end of the day. There are not many school days where you can just lie on the beach and watch the sunset. It was spectacular. I would like to thank Maggie for teaching us about Suzanna and the edible food of the Island. If I could give it better than a 5 I would

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This has to be the best place ever to dive! It's so chilled out here! Totally amazing!!! Can't wait to go again. The Marine life will blow you away. The best part for me was diving with so many manta rays

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have now had three trips to Lady Elliot and I love it. I like to go when the noddies are nesting and the turtles are mating (October and November) and find the sheer chaos of the noddies completely entertaining. I have been there at other times and it surprises me how quiet it is without them.

Lady Elliot is a very small island and that means that if there wind on one side, just walk to the other and you'll be in the lea. Both sides have great coral and fish and taking the manta trip was fantastic.

I have snorkelled in many places around the world but the marine life here is by far the best. I think it is because it is a marine park so nothing is fished. As a result, huge schools of often huge fish are just under the surface waiting for you to come and see them. Turtles, reef sharks and rays are there too.

The coral gardens is some of the best coral I have ever seen and an easy swim from the shore.

Food is abundant and tasty, staff are helpful and friendly and I'll keep going back. The nature and history discovery walks are really interesting and delivered with enthusiasm by the activities staff who never get tired of my constantly asking "what is it".

This is a great place to go with friends or family. A place to relax, have early nights, play board games and to see the barrier reef at its best.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a great place to enjoy the real sea, turtles throwing with Stones and sand trying to bury their eggs, and great breakfast and dinner treats..

The sleeping facilities are not luxurious, which noone would expect on such a small island in the middle of the coral reefs, So be happy with a bunk bed indeed.!

Room Tip: Perfect getaway for 2 days.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort

Address: Lady Elliot Island, Queensland 4216, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Lady Elliot Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lady Elliot Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lady Elliot is a true coral cay island located at the southern tip of the Great Barrier Reef, north of Fraser Island. The island is regarded as one of the best snorkeling and diving destinations on the Great Barrier Reef and is famous for its unspoilt coral reef and amazing array of spectacular marine life including turtles and manta rays. Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort provides a range of low key accommodation options ranging from 2BR Island Suites to Eco Cabins for those on a budget. The overnight rate includes: Full buffet breakfast and dinner daily; One free glass bottom boat/guided snorkel tour per person; Free use of snorkel equipment (mask, snorkel, fins); Range of free guided Island activities/tours; and Environmental Management Charge. Scenic flights depart daily from Bundaberg, Hervey Bay/Fraser Coast, Brisbane (Redcliffe) and Coolangatta. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lady Elliot Island Eco Hotel Lady Elliot Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.