We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“A little bit of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Piedra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boca de Tomatlan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Piedra
Al Otra Lado del Rio, Boca de Tomatlan 48292, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bellaire, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 week stay at Casa de Piedra. Our apartment was clean, well maintained, nicely furnished and totally charming. It was fun watching the butterflies and hummingbirds that visited the garden and we spent plenty of time relaxing in the hammock tucked away in the the corner. Our hosts were friendly and attentive and made us feel like we were part of the family! The breakfasts were delicious and it was fun to share them with the other guests, and Bob and Sue. We've gone to Boca de Tomatlan for 5 years and Casa de Piedra is our favorite! We've already made our reservations for next year!

Room Tip: We chose the single room apartment on the second level since we spend most of our time out side and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Casa de Piedra is absolutely, without question, the perfect getaway! My husband and I just celebrated our 10th year anniversary there with the charming owners, Bob and Sue, and could not have been happier. The B&B is stunning, constructed and decorated in the local authentic style, and impeccably clean. We received a delicious breakfast every morning and were able to get shrimp and fish on the beach that had been caught that day. Bob gave us a tour of the village and introduced us to the local restaurant and store owners, who all took excellent care of us (perhaps a bit too many free tequila shots, but who's really complaining?? Go to Ramon's!!). They also arranged for us to go whale watching and were incredibly helpful with directions for getting to town, zip lining, etc. My husband and I had a magnificent hike over the mountain that took us to a completely secluded beach, which was incredibly beautiful and romantic. To top it off, Bob & Sue invited us to a home cooked meal on our last night with them! I am recommending this place to everyone....if you're up for a quiet vacation away from the city of Puerto Vallarta, yet close enough to hop a fifty cent bus ride into town, then this is the place for you! More gracious hosts could not be found!! Thanks for everything, Bob and Sue - we love you!! Jen & Ryan

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were so lucky to find Boca de Tomatlan and the Casa de Piedra. We enjoyed this charming little fishing village and beach so much more than we would've enjoyed Puerto Vallarta itself. We took a short hike over the hill and through the jungle to another tiny beach, nearly deserted with crystal-clear water and white sand. If you don't want to walk, inexpensive water taxis troll the shore, taking you from one beach to the next. Local people sell great food on the beach at Boca and there is fresh fish daily. The next day we visited the Botanical Gardens a short ride away and swam in the deep pools in the river just below the Gardens, then had lunch on the beautiful veranda high above the river and jungle. Bob and Sue were great in helping us navigate the area and find the great spots. They were so friendly and their hotel was so clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable we felt right at home immediately. We congratulated ourselves on finding the perfect place.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the second floor with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My family doesn't often have the chance to go away together, much less travel to another country. I admit I was a little nervous about traveling to Mexico but that all ended as soon as we arrived. Bob and Sue were the perfect hosts from the beginning of our trip to the end, making us feel at home and showing us that there is more to Mexico than we had ever imagined. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have stayed at Casa de Piedra 5 times and two under the new ownership of Sue and Bob Berndt. They have made many nice improvements, new tile, new appliances and best of all, really nice beds. I keep coming back because Boca is a place where nothing is really going on. You can sit on the beach and let the day go by, eating sea food from the palapa restaurants on the beach. The property is accessed by a pedestrian bridge over the clear, lively flowing river that empties out in the bay. This means there is no car traffic in front of the house, only the river with it's egrets, herons, cormorants and grebes.
Following the trail in front of Casa de Piedra south, will take you along the lovely coast through some beautiful and deserted beaches, and then to Las Animas, a lovely beach only accessible by boats or the trail. If you want Puerto Vallarta, you can get there on a short 70 cent bus ride old town Puerto Vallarta. The best of all worlds, Boca de Tomatlan.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I am very honored to have met the owners, Bob and Sue Berndt. Aside from having created a charming comfortable retreat using local skills and materials, they are involved in the life in the village and have made a difference that will last for the next generation. Bob convinced the local youth to help him clean up the garbage that used to clog the river, place garbage containers throughout the village and educate the residents and visitors about the importance of keeping the village clean. You will notice the difference immediately on arrival. Hats off!

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa de Piedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Piedra

Address: Al Otra Lado del Rio, Boca de Tomatlan 48292, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Boca de Tomatlan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Boca de Tomatlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casa de Piedra Bed and Breakfast, the House of Stone and a landmark in Boca de Tomatlan, on the south shore of Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. A spectacular piece of authentic Mexican architecture, it was constructed in 1988 of river rock and brick by Mexican artisans. The property, surrounded by lush tropical gardens and fronting the Rio Los Horcones, offers beautiful views of the river, the Sierra Madre Mountains, and Boca Bay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Piedra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa de Piedra to your Saves list