We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Encore Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Encore Geneva to your Saves list
Ramada Encore Geneva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 12 Route des Jeunes | Geneva, Carouge 1227, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15%, Book in Advance
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carouge
Boiling Springs, SC USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at the Ramada Encore. We like this hotel because it was somewhat easy to find from the main highway. We had our rental car and we didn't want a place in the heart of the city, with all the traffic. (Cars,trams,buses,bikes,and pedestrians) Too confusing! The location is great. The hotel gives free transportation cards and you could be in the center of the city in 10-15 minutes. Bus D. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very spacious and clean. We loved the hotel being inside the mall. There is a very nice grocery store (Coops) inside the mall for anything you might need. Snacks, etc. There's also a good Italian place to have dinner. However, there was a renovation going on there. It got very loud for us on the 4th floor, which meant no sleeping in. Just wish that we had been told before we made the reservations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encore2009, Manager at Ramada Encore Geneva, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to register your nice comments about your stay.
Indeed the hotel is located within La Praille Shopping Centre, and as you say it only takes approximately 10-15 minutes by public transport to reach Geneva Centre. I would like to apologize for not having informed you about the renovation works but depending on the source of the reservation (internetsite or other) it is very difficult to do. As we have renovated also our kitchen we will reopen our restaurant in September for dinner from Monday till Friday with a new menu.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    157
    74
    18
    9
See reviews for
22
85
33
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and the rooms were spacious- unfortunately I had many issues during our stay, construction being the first! After getting in very late from a flight and then difficulty finding the hotel, we were awakened early to construction. Had I known this I would have never booked this hotel! I understand the need to renovate however I wish I had known before booking. Our room had a sink that did not drain, a clock that didn't work and wifi that could not be accessed on the first floor. To use it,I had to go sit on the 4th floor. We had to change rooms two times- the first because our door didn't shut properly- the second because our air conditioning didn't work! My husband and I spent the past month traveling around europe and we are truly very easy going people, but these kinds of issues ruined our trip in Geneva! Nothing in the hotel worked as far as amenities- the ironing room didn't work, the bar was closed- when we came back one night, we asked the front desk for ice and he said we needed to give him something to put it in, because they didn't have any ice buckets!!! Yikes!!! Unless you are traveling on business I would not recommend this place for tourists nor would I book this summer, at least until construction is done! Very disappointing in such an expensive city! Although the hotel did its best to fix the problems with our room, I still would not return!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encore2009, Manager at Ramada Encore Geneva, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review and would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. We do indeed renovate the hotel and when works started in the kitchen there was unfortunately noise for 3 days. The room renovation is a soft one and the only noise is of a drill. This is also limited to a few days per month. All the works that create noise do not start before 9 AM. It is unfortunately impossible to inform all the the websites around the world off renovation works.
I would like to apologize sincerely for the issues with your rooms and would like to point out that this is not regular. We will however change all the doors during the renovation to secure god closure of the doors. Concerning the WIFI we do have Wireless zones per floor and I presume that you computer didn't change to the first floor zone automatically. In the future we will have individual WIFI points per room. I've asked my staff (housekeeping and reception) to pay attention to technical points as well as the way they answer my guests. I hope that despite everything you will come and visit us again to see the improvements we made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, WA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is distant from city but adjacent to a major mall with a huge Carrefore Market. Great breakfast and large clean rooms. A good value in expensive Geneva but distant from the sights in Geneva. It's adjacent to the soccer stadium as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encore2009, General Manager at Ramada Encore Geneva, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to register your nice comments about the rooms and breakfast.
Indeed the hotel is located within La Praille shopping centre where there is also a Coop supermarket, it takes approximately 10-15 minutes by public transport to reach Geneva centre.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This property was undergoing a renovation. The new rooms were very nicely appointed and clean. It is however rather out out of the way unless you have a car. Downtown Carouge was about a 15 minute walk. Not a long walk but not exactly a charming one either. Driving to Geneve was quick and easy and there is an underground parking garage that was 10 Euros a day. A word to the wise, if you are planning to park late night, talk to the staff before you head out, the lot closes overnight and there is a procedure you need to know to get back in, as we found out the hard way. The hotel is connected to a large shopping mall with a Coop, very good for grabbing a nice snack.

Room Tip: There seems to be smoking and nonsmoking floors so if you are sensitive to cigarette smoke make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encore2009, General Manager at Ramada Encore Geneva, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing your nice review via Tripadvisor.
At night, the parking is indeed closed from 1:30 am to 6:00 am. If you want to enter the parking during this period you can give a call to the reception and ask them to open the door. Otherwise you can park in front of the hotel on the Esplanade.
We would like to apologize if this created some confusion.
Please note that after the renovation all our rooms will be non-smoking
We will be pleased to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

the people who worked there were so friendly also a good looking :P
the rooms were very nice and quiet and cold thank god
i recommend this hotel :) even though its kinda far from everything but theres loads of public transport they also give you free cards for public transport

Room Tip: non smoking floor :) or the third floor cause it has ironing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encore2009, General Manager at Ramada Encore Geneva, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It is a pleasure to read your review via Tripadvisor. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff, I will share your feedback with the whole team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramada Encore Geneva soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Our room was decent sized, modern finish, with nice use of glass in the bathroom and very quiet. The hotel has dedicated non smoking floors, our request for non smoking room didn't go thru due to Cosmos bungling up reservations but we were able to change rooms on checkin. Wifi was free on the floor of our room and worked well. The hotel is connected to a mall where there are many eating places on the third floor and a supermarket with inexpensive water, soda etc. so you don't have to use the expensive vending mc in the hotel. If you are a Ramada (Wyndham) member you get a free chocolate and water bottle.
The breakfast was very nice with individual cut fruits (as well as raw) and many kinds of bread and cereal for vegetarians with everything labelled clearly.
The hotel is about 30 minute drive from the city center. They are renovating 4th to 7th floor from July-Sep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encore2009, General Manager at Ramada Encore Geneva, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Ramada Encore Geneva during your stay in Geneva.
It is a pleasure to read your positive comments regarding our room, internet access, and breakfast. I am also glad that you were able to change to a non-smoking room on arrival.
For information our restaurant will open again in August 26th and a new restaurant menu will be available in September.
We will be pleased to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I plus another couple stayed at this hotel during a 5 day vacation in Switzerland by coach. The hotel was arranged through a travel/tour service as part of the total package. We had stayed at several other hotels throughout Switzerland that had also been arranged by the same travel/tour service. This hotel met our needs for a good nights sleep but would not be a place where vacationer would like to establish a home base. It is more suited to either a business traveler or someone in town to meet family/friends.
The rooms were spacious/clean and the free wifi was easily/reliably accessible. Also, directly adjacent or almost connected to the hotel was a shopping mall with food court. This was handy when one wanted a quick meal at a fairly reasonable cost and the opportunity to window shop.
As to the shortcomings of the accommodations, no ice was available on the 5th - 7th floors which required getting the ice and bucket from the 1st floor bar. The furniture in the room was dated and once again there were not any wash cloths available. However, please note it was advertised that the 5th - 7th floors were scheduled to be renovated during the end of this year which I am sure will rectify many of these issues. I do not have any idea how any of the other rooms were appointed. Before booking, you may want to check if the renovation is complete or to which floor your reservation is being held.

Room Tip: Renovation for the 5th - 7th floors is planned for the end of this year (2013).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encore2009, General Manager at Ramada Encore Geneva, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
On behalf of the entire team at the Ramada Encore Geneva I would like to thank you for sharing your review via Tripadvisor. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our room and service but I have also noted some points to be improved.
Indeed we have just started some renovation works on the 7th and 6th floors and will continue with the 5th and 4th and the kitchen. The doors, furniture, and beddings will be replaced in 96 rooms, and we will bring optical fibre and install individual access points in each room for Wifi and cable. In regards to the wash cloths, as a 3 star hotel we do not provide them as those are not part of our standards.
Finally we are preparing a new restaurant menu ready by September.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon, in the meantime do not hesitate to contact us should you need any information.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Encore Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Geneva

Address: 10 - 12 Route des Jeunes | Geneva, Carouge 1227, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Carouge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Geneva 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The concept of this 3 stars hotel is resolutely modern, combining warm colors and a pleasant design. The bedrooms are spacious, very well equipped and with a great comfort. The hotel has in total 154 bedrooms, including standard rooms-Encore, Superior rooms-Business and Junior Suites-Lounge, which have AC, Wifi, TV and Pay-TV and a large desk. The hotel is Non Smoking and rooms for guests with disabilities are available. The hotel has 8 conference rooms with daylight and AC for up to 240 guests. The Event Center can host any event for up to 1000 people. Indoor car park, laundry service, a Fitness & Wellness Center, the largest bowling centre of Switzerland and more than 80 shops in the connecting shopping mall-La Praille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Encore Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Geneve Hotel Carouge
Ramada Geneva
Geneva Ramada
Ramada Encore Geneva Canton Of Geneva/Carouge, Switzerland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Encore Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.