We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzzing place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie la Bourse

Brasserie la Bourse
7, Place du Marche, Carouge 1227, Switzerland
00 41 22 34 20 46 6
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 66 Restaurants in Carouge
Price range: $22 - $58
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: In the heart of the old Carouge a big Brasserie in the decoration and the service in the Parisian ". To you the choice between the typical put of brasserie according to the season: grilled andouillette, sauerkraut, head and veal tongue or the specialities houses, such as a juicy rib steak, a fresh or Tartar fish prepared in front of you. In the vaults of 1800 we propose you our specialities of fondues in the cheese, the Chinese fondue, the grill-stones, the pizzas and the pastas.
zurich, switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Buzzing place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We popped in for a late lunch on a weekday. The place was buzzing! Most guests were locals and people who worked local that had their business lunch there. From what we could see, the favourite lunch time meal was 'Fondue Chinoise'. Not my cup of tea but clearly a good choice for those that were there: I'd say 80% had this for lunch. My friend choose carpaccio and I had mussels. Delicious! Good and efficient service. The place has a French touch in terms of atmosphere but showed Swiss efficiency in terms of service. A nice combination!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    34
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“If you want to try Fondue, this is the place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

La Bourse is located in the old Carouge, next to the tram station "Marché". It's also easy to get there by car as there are several parking places around.

The brasserie serves French and Swiss cuisine. They have a lovely 18th Century "cave" where you can eat in groups as well. It's recommended to reserve in advance. The decoration reminds us of the traditional French ambiance. In summer the terrace is open and gives a charming view on the place du Marché.

They serve stone grill, Raclette, Pizza, meat, pastas, fish, oysters, mussels and of course the excellent Fondue. Their desserts are wonderful like the typical Meringues with Creme double de Gruyères or the tiramisu, crème brûlée & ice cream among many others.

The price range is around 40 to 70 CHF and the service is good. At lunch time you have a "plat du jour" for only 20 CHF.

I recommended to try this place to enjoy a nice meal among friends or family !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, wine and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you are looking for a place in Carouge to eat with either friends or colleagues, I would recommend la Bourse. It is a traditional Geneva/Carouge style bar/restaurant.

We came late (10pm) and the place was almost full, so we took the only remaining table there.

The steaks were very good (+good sauces) + excellent french fries (thin ones), selection of wines was good as well. Entre and deserts were up to expectation.

It is not cheap, but you get the value for the money you spend there.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always great quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We go to la Bourse at least once a month when in Geneva. Though it is pretty expensive, the quality and service are premium. L'entrecôte de la bourse, served with fresh french fries, with a wonderful salad as appetizer, is the best in Geneva. They are kind, quick, and very well educated.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant and brasserie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had the "fillet de perches", the "moules et frittes" and the fondue. Each time it's been a great experience, the food is wonderful and the service very friendly. Great place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie la Bourse also viewed

Carouge, Canton of Geneva
Carouge, Canton of Geneva
 
Carouge, Canton of Geneva
Carouge, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Brasserie la Bourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie la Bourse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.