We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Short Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dunkery Beacon Hotel to your Saves list
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near Dunster, Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bath, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Short Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have recently returned from an excellent 3 night break at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel. John and Jane made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a standard double room which was comfortable and clean, with a fantastic view to the front of the property. The guest lounge was a pleasant place to relax, which was kept warm and cosy by the wood burner.

We had dinner at the hotel on each of night of our stay and were very impressed with John's cooking, whilst Jane provided friendly and attentive service. Overall a very pleasant place to stay and enjoy the delights of Exmoor. John and Jane provide the right balance of friendly service and attention to detail throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Manager at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us recently. John is particularly pleased you were impressed by the food he produces, so thank you again for your feedback.

We hope we may see you again if you consider planning another break on Exmoor in the future.

Best regards,

Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
163
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Dunkery Beacon Hotel. It was wonderful! We had a warm welcome from Jane with tea and Scones by the cosy log burner. Our room was clean, warm, comfortable, attractively decorated and had a stunning view . Coffee and tea making provided in the room and delicious home made short bread.
The food at this hotel is outstanding. We enjoyed great breakfasts and superb evening meals. John is a skilled chef producing well balanced perfectly cooked food. What a treat! Jane provides a varied wine list and the service is perfect. We would definitely like to return for another stay and we recommend this hotel with confidence. Jane and John are charming hosts and made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 four poster premier room with bay window offering a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
It's so nice of you to give such great feedback on your stay - it really means a lot to us and is reassuring that we seem to be providing an experience that guests appreciate and value.
We hope you'll come and visit us again when opportunity permits as it was a pleasure to have you both.

Best wishes,

Jane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a great time in the Dunkery Beacon Hotel, with a warm welcome from Jane and John. The place is perfectly located to visit Exmoor. Breakfast was very special too as they seem to have "a breakfast special" every day. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to enjoy John's culinary skills (apart from breakfast) as the restaurant is only open from Wednesdays to Saturdays. But we're planning to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for your review and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took the opportunity to explore quite a bit of this area in the 2 days you were with us. Thank you also for your kind comments about breakfast and we hope to welcome you back so you can sample John's dinners in the future!

A bientôt....

Jane & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a weekend in a lovely room with wonderful food - breakfasts as well as dinners. Was not a break though as with our dog we were in and out of the hotel as he was only allowed in the lounge area of our bedroom and no where else including the garden. This meant that for toiletting we had to walk him down the road (even in the night! we were also on the second floor so may have disturbed other guests going through doors and him going down the stairs), when we had our meals we had to put him out in the car (at the bottom of the drive in the dark and cold). It was particularly cold and wet when we went and so whenever he needed to go out we had to get dressed into winter clothing and muddy boots - a shame when we were dressed for dinner and wanting to then relax. Just not a good venue if you want to go away with your dog. We go on 3 or 4 weekend breaks every winter to get through the miserable weather period and to enjoy walks and time with our dog and therefore can justify our opinion of this not being a good place to stay with a dog. However, we would highly recommend it for stays without your pets, plus the food was outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It was always a concern that when providing the great standard of food & accommodation to our guests that dog owners should also be welcomed, but with a view that the non dog owners be given equal consideration. This is why the two rooms made available to dog owners are the two largest suites, both with their own lounge and located as close to the front door as possible. One of these suites is three meters from the front door and the second room (the room you stayed in) on the First Floor is the next closest to the front door, so eliminating the disturbance to any other guests when your dog does to need to go out.
Other than their proximity to the front door, the reason these two rooms are used for dog owners is that they each have their own lounge for you to share the company of your dog in. As not all our guests are pet lovers and do indeed experience allergies to certain animals, we keep the guest lounge and dining room pet free.

Our pet owners policy is sent out to every guest booking a room with their dog and gives full details of our expectation from the dog owners and also an opportunity to change your mind if you do not agree with these policies.
Not allowing your dog to be left in a strange room on its own is an industry standard policy and one that the majority of guest houses and hotels will stipulate. We will however allow your dog to be left in the room if you provide a travel cage for the duration of your absence.

As a country hotel in the UK, I think it is fair to say that some rain, mud and cool temperatures can be expected and walking your dog in these conditions is all part of the fun of being a dog owner.
The field we ask dog owners to use is approx fifty feet from the drive and, although very dark at night, is no darker than the lawn, which unfortunately does get used as a toilet from time to time, without the dog mess being retrieved by the owners. As the garden is particularly well planted, we do get guests exploring and even lying out on the lawn to relax.

We are very welcoming of dogs and are happy you enjoyed the food and accommodation, but we feel that the lengths we go to in order to provide outstanding quality to both dog and non dog owners is not something we will compromise on and our dog owning guests to date have appreciated this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We, a family of four, stayed in the Dunkery Beacon Hotel for a full week this August and had an absolutely superb holiday there. Not only is the house perfectly located to explore the greatnesses of West Somerset and North Devon, hiking along the coastal path or over the hills and the meadows of Exmoor, but the two hotel owners, Jane and John, and their co-worker, Misa, are so warm and nice. Returning in the evening to the hotel was more like returning to family and friends, rather than to just an accommodation. And we will never forget sitting with John late at night in front of the hotel, being in the middle of a grand dark sky reserve and experiencing the wonders of the Earth going through the stream of debris called the Perseid cloud: We counted 20 shooting stars in just one hour. Awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It is alway a great treat for us when we have a family stay for more than just a short break as it gives us more time to get to know them and they become part of our family.
We are so lucky to be in the middle of the Dark sky Reserve, as when we do get clear nights, the view of the stars is just incredible.
It was also fortuitous that your stay coincided with the Perseid meteor shower, so I was more than happy to enjoy the light show with more affable company than the badgers!
This meteor shower is an annual event so we fully expect to see you again next year!!

Best Wishes

John & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leintwardine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I can only endorse the comments of other reviewers here. The hotel is beautifully situated and its internal décor is elegant and relaxed: the lounge and dining room are particularly welcoming. Jane and John made us feel at home immediately, and John's cooking alone was worth the journey. Jane's experience in the wine trade was evident in the wine list as well as in the maps of wine regions adorning the walls. The enthusiasm of the owners was evident at every turn, and we've already recommended the hotel to members of our family.

Room Tip: It would be hard to imagine one that isn't good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review.
As this is not only our business, but our home, we feel like we are having lots of freinds and relatives over to stay, so we do enjoy meeting new guests and making sure that they are well fed and watered before going out to explore the beautiful countryside of Exmoor.
Please thank your freinds for their recommendation and thank you in anticipation of having your freinds and relatives here to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We chose this country house based on recommendations from other guests. What a find it surpassed our expectations. John, Jane and Misha were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even down to preparing a packed lunch. John's food was delicious and well presented with some exciting flavours using many local products. the full english breakfast set you for the day. Janes wine expertise was obvious in the small but very select wines available, all at reasonable prices. The whole building was very clean and the bed linen was crisp and white.
We stayed in the second floor king suite which had superb views over Exmoor and one evening we even saw a badger making its way up the front drive.
A haven of peace to which we will return and next time it's the four poster just for the views.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B, Owner at Dunkery Beacon Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review. One of the biggest selling points when we bought the hotel was its location which we agree is stunning.
The challenge came when we saw that the standards inside needed to match the wow factor the scenery provides and gauging the responses, I think we are getting there.
We both enjoy what we do here and it makes it easier to continue to provide great food, wine and accommodation when we read what you have to say. So thank you again. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunkery Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkery Beacon Hotel

Address: Near Dunster, Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park TA24 8RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wootton Courtenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wootton Courtenay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkery Beacon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderful former Edwardian hunting lodge offering luxury accommodation, gourmet dining and safe, spacious off road parking.Ideally situated for scenic country drives across Exmoor and along the coast.Seven individually decorated en-suite rooms, plus one with private bathroom, all with breathtaking views. Group bookings welcome. Children 10 years of age and over welcome. 2 X dog-friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Dunkery Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkery Beacon Exmoor
Hotel Dunkery Beacon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunkery Beacon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.