We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Lava view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Lava Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cafe Lava Hostel
Save
You added Cafe Lava Hostel to your Saves list
Cemoro Lawang, Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park 67254, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Penang
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Close to Lava view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is located just a few miles away from Lava view lodge where you can see Mount Bromo and Mount Batok at sunset.
Room cleanliness is still acceptable.
Old water heater in bathroom looks dangerous as it uses gas and fire to heat up the water.

Room Tip: Room cleanliness is ok Old water heater in bathroom looks dangerous as it uses gas and fire to heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    56
    72
    14
    12
See reviews for
11
75
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stay at café lava for 1 night before heading to Bromo at dawn,
we rent a superior triple room and it is enough to fit 4 person :-)
the room is nice,clean and complete with hot shower (very important)

we also have our dinner at their café, food was good but service a little bit slow, but no worries, it have a WiFi to killed your boredom while waiting for your food.

they serve simple breakfast, but it is really good.
their staff is friendly too and can speak good English.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I showed up without a reservation hoping to get an economy (budget room). Luckily they had one avaliable. The room was 160,000Rp for the first night and 190,000Rp for the second night. The second night was higher because of some local holiday that we were told is a "red calendar day". Since we stayed two nights they included the breakfast buffet on the first morning after we returned from the view point, and a simple egg toast fruit breakfast the morning we left.

We found cafe lava very clean, the rooms and the restaurant were kept in good shape. All the economy rooms are quite small but cozy. The nights here get a bit cold and we had read there were no blankets provided but our room had two blankets for the double bed.

The staff were friendly and spoke good english. There were two shared bathrooms for the economy rooms with hot water showers. Both hot water showers were working fine. There is a
great view down the valley from outside the economy rooms.

The Lonely Planet guide book mentioned the food was horrible but both of us found it to be quite good. The Gado Gado is great and the banana pancake with chocolate is fantastic. The food may not be resort quality but considering where we were, it was great.

The location of this place could not get any better. The hostel is located 50m from the park entrance and a 2 hour hike to the highest view point.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere in the world
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Like many others, we picked this hotel/hostel to do the sunrise tour of Bromo. The location is great for that, being very near to the edge of the (inner) caldera and therefore meters from the park entrance.

The staff are polite and friendly, but alas pretty clueless when it comes to running a hotel (God bless them). Service is very slow. When we stayed the hotel was pretty full: all foreigners visiting Bromo and all wanting a nice beer to go along with their dinner. Alas, despite a selection of beers on the menu, they had no stock of beer whatsoever! AND despite there being a small supermarket next door, well stocked with beer, they made no attempt to actually re-stock. So I just bought beer myself next door (which kindly they allowed me to drink in the restaurant with dinner). They did however organise our transport for the Bromo tour, which arrived on time and ran smoothly.

The food at Cafe Lava is also very basic, and indeed like the beer, some items were out of stock. One evening we had dinner at Lava View Lodge which is just around the corner. The menu us the same (same owner) but the food was much better, and both food and beer were in stock! There is also a superb view of Bromo from this hotel. I know it is slightly more expensive than Cafe Lava, but I would recommend paying the extra and staying here (but we did not see the accommodation).

Compared to hotels elsewhere in East Java, Cafe Lava is expensive for what you get. At the end of the day, you are paying for the location alone and little else. On our second night at Bromo, we moved to Java Banana, which is certainly a much better hotel, is also very overpriced for what it is, and was somewhat of a surreal experience (read my review if you want to know more).

Overall, I would recommend staying at Lava View Lodge rather than Cafe Lava, based on the food and the view alone. It is also bang on the (inner) caldera edge. Or if you want a nice room, then splash out on Java Banana (its only 10-15 mins further away by car), but again dont expect the kind of service you would normally get for the price you pay there....

For info, the location of Cafe Lava (and indeed some for Lava View Lodge) that pop up on google earth/maps and other mapping softwre are very wrong. Cafe Lave Hostel is at S 7⁰ 55' 19.56" E 112⁰ 57' 53.48. Lava View Lodge is about 400m away at S 7⁰ 55' 34.74" E 112V 58' 01.51".

Room Tip: If you insist on a nice room, stay at Java Banana!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park hotels

Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Accepts credit cards (with small surcharge). Has hot water (which is non-negotiable in chilly Cemoro Lawang). Good breakfast included, good cheap restaurant for lunch and dinner. Will ask for 125,000 rupiah for the sunrise jeep to Bromo, but will accept 100,000. Comfortable, clean standard rooms for 300,000/night with porches, private bathroom, and no view of the crater. (Asks 250,000 for transport to Probolinggo and on to Denpasar on an A/C bus--this is overpriced.) Completely acceptable...

Room Tip: Economy rooms are very small w/ shared bath. Get a standard if you will be staying more than one day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We paid a little extra when we booked our tour to bromo to stay in this place, inspired by the terrible reviews of the other option. However, I don't think it was worth the money. The good thing was the hot shower! Quite good if you're soaked and cold after climbing bromo. Other than that the place is not so good: the interior of the rooms is weirdly dark. Even if you turn on the light you can hardly see anything. The bed was almost falling apart, and the room was real noisy so you can overhear your neighbors. Moreover, the room was small and not too clean. As for the restaurant, the food was so so and because of the low temperatures you have to eat inside where people are smoking. Yuk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenoble
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want to see the Bromo volcano, starting from Cemoro Lawang is a good starting point.
There are however a lot of people willing to do that and the numbers of rooms there is limited so that the price here are quite high ( This year 2012 the peak season is from Sept 21 to January 4,2013) . We stayed in a superior triple. We were unable to get hot water from the shower.

If you want to see the sunrise you have to wake up at 4 am so the night is short...
And as the place is at high altitude, the night is quite cold. Having gloves and a woolen cap is a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cafe Lava Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cafe Lava Hostel

Address: Cemoro Lawang, Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park 67254, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Cafe Lava Hotel Java

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Lava Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.