We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gloomy but nonetheless warm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Tigli Angera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel dei Tigli Angera to your Saves list
Hotel dei Tigli Angera
Via Paletta n. 20, 21021 Angera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Angera B&B and Inns
Norwich
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A little gloomy but nonetheless warm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I came to Angera because I was working for the week at Ispra. The two hotels offered me at this time of the year (off-season) were the Pavone and the dei Tigli. I chose the second because of its slightly better reviews. First the good points. The receptionists and the caretaker (who spoke no English) were happy and helpful. My computer caught a dreadful malware virus on their unsecured wireless network; yet they were so helpful, even calling in the Caribineiri (who were useless). After one day, the same waitress at breakfast knew exactly what I wanted by way of coffee and brought it without asking. Good service. Additionally, many Italian hotels have dreadful heating systems – but dei Tigli’s was fine. It was snow and sleet on the first day but the room was warm as well as the lobby area. The negatives? My room on the second floor had no desk and was dreadfully gloomy. It overlooked a small courtyard. I am sure it would have been beautifully shady and a refuge from summer heat but in the dreadful March weather, it was depressing. In the bathroom (quite well appointed). The fixed shower head spayed not only the shower cubicle but all of the rest of the bathroom. There is some maintenance needed, including the loose loo seat and other small imperfections that a good hotel would pick up. So I am torn in my rating. I liked the hotel and its people; but the owners cut corners and fail to support adequate maintenance. If you like the laid-back touch and you relish the location right close to Lake Maggiore, you will love it. For me, I had to work in the evening and as I lay on the bed (because there was no desk) I could hardly see my computer keyboard even with every light on. If you stick out for a better room, I am sure you would have a great time – and one of my colleagues had a nice balcony and desk. The TV, by the way, has BBC World Service. The fixed price of Euro 95 per night for a single occupancy seemed to be the same whatever room you got - reasonable value but i wished I had complained and got a better room.

Room Tip: I am told that rooms on Floor 1 are larger and better - but I cannot vouch for that advice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here just one night and it was perfect and incredibly good value. The room was large and very clean with a decent sized shower. Unusually for Italy the wi-fi was free and reached our second floor room without any problem. The staff were really friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was good by Italian standards (i.e. nothing cooked), but fresh rolls and croissants, fruit salad, fresh fruit, yogurts, cold meat and cheeses and the freshly squeezed orange juice was great. We shall definitely visit again when in the area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed there in NOV12 for 4 nights. Very good breakfast - exactly you need in the morning - not more not less. Room comfortable and very clean maintained. Free WiFi - and at a good speed. But, what really makes the difference is the staff attitude - they really make you feel at home. By heart, not by written procedures.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very close to boat from Arona. Staff was very helpful. Free wi-fi in room and lobby. Free use of great bicycles! Very good breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice, selection of meat and cheeses, yogurt, scrambled eggs and croissants.
Room was comfortable. No coffee pot in room.
We were there October 23 - 25, so, unfortunately the castle was already closed.
If you visit here, take the extra cab trip to a great restaurant Golosi dei Renghi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here in Oct 2012 for 3 nights. Good location, quiet, nice Jr. suite on 3rd level with balcony. Room clean, bed comfortable, bathroom clean. Good daily maid service. Friendly and helpful desk staff. Good breakfast included. Easy walk to the ferry to Arona or Stresa. Ferry ride to Arona is about 5 minutes and runs almost hourly. Several good restaurants in the area including the one next to Hotel Pavone about a block away. Would stay here again no doubt, especially if you wanted to drive up to Switzerland or visit towns on this side of the lake. We also took the ferry up to visit Isola Bella, Isola Madre, Isola Pescatore and Stresa. Barbara at the ferry boat ticket office is very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The title of the review says it all. The hotel is down a small winding alley off the main road passing Lake Maggiore through Angera. It is nominally 3-star but expect nice comfortable rooms with a tasteful decor. The hotel appears family run and as a result has a certain degree of (charming) informality to it all. The staff did not speak much English but made effort to be helpful. Had a nice quiet sleep. The breakfast was nice though the choice wasn't large. Having said that, I don't usually have huge breakfasts so was sufficient for my liking. There was no charge for the wifi access and the speed was reasonable. On the night of my arrival, I asked for suggestions for a restaurant and was pointed to a nice place nearby (in the next street effectively next to Hotel Pavone. The pizza and beer were great and very nice large slice of tiramisu was most welcome.

As others have noted, the hotel is a stone's throw away from the lake which is nice to walk around. Angera itself is a charming little town, with winding streets and a 13th century castle. I enjoyed walking around the streets (though they were rather quiet as it seems the place is used mainly for holiday homes by people in Milan - I didn't mind the lack of tourist bustle though). The castle is a short walk up from the hotel and you get some great views from there.

I stayed at the hotel for two nights for business but I could easily consider coming here for a weekend getaway or staying for longer and using Angera as a base to explore the surroundings of Lake Maggiore. Would definitely stay again when back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Dei Tigli as a stop over on our way home and were only looking for ok comfort at a moderate price. After having been made to wait rather long at the reception, we were greated heartily and in English by the very charming host. We asked for parking facilities when booking and were directed to a small parking garage underneath the hotel. It was a bit cramped, but secure. There are public parking spaces nearby so parking in the garage is not necessary.

The hotel is located close to the lake promenade and very well signposted. Our room was spacious for a double room, and with air condition. It even had a private balcony. All in all very comfortable. The breakfast next morning was good, typical Italian but with ham and cheese. We ordered latte macchiato and cappucino at the bar. The cappucino was good, the latte not so much. Unfortunately, they were out of fresh oranges by the time we arrived for breakfast so we didn't get to try this facility.

All in all we had a very pleasant, albeit short, stay and would definitely pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel dei Tigli Angera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Tigli Angera

Address: Via Paletta n. 20, 21021 Angera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Angera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Angera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel dei Tigli Angera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Tigli Angera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.