We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Business or on vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dei Tigli Angera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel dei Tigli Angera to your Saves list
Hotel dei Tigli Angera
Via Paletta n. 20, 21021 Angera, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Angera B&B and Inns
UAE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay. Business or on vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed there in NOV12 for 4 nights. Very good breakfast - exactly you need in the morning - not more not less. Room comfortable and very clean maintained. Free WiFi - and at a good speed. But, what really makes the difference is the staff attitude - they really make you feel at home. By heart, not by written procedures.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very close to boat from Arona. Staff was very helpful. Free wi-fi in room and lobby. Free use of great bicycles! Very good breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice, selection of meat and cheeses, yogurt, scrambled eggs and croissants.
Room was comfortable. No coffee pot in room.
We were there October 23 - 25, so, unfortunately the castle was already closed.
If you visit here, take the extra cab trip to a great restaurant Golosi dei Renghi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here in Oct 2012 for 3 nights. Good location, quiet, nice Jr. suite on 3rd level with balcony. Room clean, bed comfortable, bathroom clean. Good daily maid service. Friendly and helpful desk staff. Good breakfast included. Easy walk to the ferry to Arona or Stresa. Ferry ride to Arona is about 5 minutes and runs almost hourly. Several good restaurants in the area including the one next to Hotel Pavone about a block away. Would stay here again no doubt, especially if you wanted to drive up to Switzerland or visit towns on this side of the lake. We also took the ferry up to visit Isola Bella, Isola Madre, Isola Pescatore and Stresa. Barbara at the ferry boat ticket office is very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The title of the review says it all. The hotel is down a small winding alley off the main road passing Lake Maggiore through Angera. It is nominally 3-star but expect nice comfortable rooms with a tasteful decor. The hotel appears family run and as a result has a certain degree of (charming) informality to it all. The staff did not speak much English but made effort to be helpful. Had a nice quiet sleep. The breakfast was nice though the choice wasn't large. Having said that, I don't usually have huge breakfasts so was sufficient for my liking. There was no charge for the wifi access and the speed was reasonable. On the night of my arrival, I asked for suggestions for a restaurant and was pointed to a nice place nearby (in the next street effectively next to Hotel Pavone. The pizza and beer were great and very nice large slice of tiramisu was most welcome.

As others have noted, the hotel is a stone's throw away from the lake which is nice to walk around. Angera itself is a charming little town, with winding streets and a 13th century castle. I enjoyed walking around the streets (though they were rather quiet as it seems the place is used mainly for holiday homes by people in Milan - I didn't mind the lack of tourist bustle though). The castle is a short walk up from the hotel and you get some great views from there.

I stayed at the hotel for two nights for business but I could easily consider coming here for a weekend getaway or staying for longer and using Angera as a base to explore the surroundings of Lake Maggiore. Would definitely stay again when back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Dei Tigli as a stop over on our way home and were only looking for ok comfort at a moderate price. After having been made to wait rather long at the reception, we were greated heartily and in English by the very charming host. We asked for parking facilities when booking and were directed to a small parking garage underneath the hotel. It was a bit cramped, but secure. There are public parking spaces nearby so parking in the garage is not necessary.

The hotel is located close to the lake promenade and very well signposted. Our room was spacious for a double room, and with air condition. It even had a private balcony. All in all very comfortable. The breakfast next morning was good, typical Italian but with ham and cheese. We ordered latte macchiato and cappucino at the bar. The cappucino was good, the latte not so much. Unfortunately, they were out of fresh oranges by the time we arrived for breakfast so we didn't get to try this facility.

All in all we had a very pleasant, albeit short, stay and would definitely pick this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel is so well located - in the centre of Angera, only a short 2-3 min walk to the water and the ferry to Arona. I stayed in this hotel as part of a wedding party. The hotel had a computer in the lobby that can be used with free internet. The breakfast in the morning was very good - one is able to make one's own fresh orange juice (there is a huge juicer), and order cappucinos from the bar.
The rooms were clean and spacious, bed comfortable and bathrooms clean.
If you are staying at Angera, this place is very central and very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed at Dei Tigli for 5 nights during business trip. Hotel brings decent and clean accommodation and friendly personnel (although half of the staff speak just Italian). Buffet breakfast is fine, but with no changes during the stay. Parking is not possible in the hotel area - the only way is parking on the street near the lake approx. 100 m from the hotel - blue zones are paid parking, white zones are free. Good hotel, but nothing excellent - you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Room on the first floor offered a lot better equipped and more spacious bathroom in comparison with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angera
1.8 mi away
Il Sole Di Ranco
Il Sole Di Ranco
#1 of 2 in Ranco
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Conca Azzurra
Hotel Conca Azzurra
#2 of 2 in Ranco
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
10.0 mi away
Funivie del Lago Maggiore
Funivie del Lago Maggiore
#2 of 2 in Laveno-Mombello
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel de Charme Laveno
Hotel de Charme Laveno
#1 of 2 in Laveno-Mombello
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#2 of 8 in Arona
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Camin Colmegna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dei Tigli Angera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dei Tigli Angera

Address: Via Paletta n. 20, 21021 Angera, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Angera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Angera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel dei Tigli Angera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dei Tigli Angera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.