We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise is underestimated under Michela's villa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Michela

Save Saved
You added Villa Michela to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Michela
Piazza Del Boschetto 6 | Fraz. Regoledo, 23828 Perledo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Perledo B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Paradise is underestimated under Michela's villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

WOW!!!!!
thank you tripadvisor for taking me to Villa Michela. Before getting there, my husband was already making plans on changing our lodging reservations because we just kept going up and up in the taxi... but once we got there, he was making arrangements for longer stay.
Michela is not just a villa owner. She made the place prestige, beautiful, relaxing and a true paradise. Neat, Clean and Welcoming... I will only post some pictures but these won't make a justice anyway. JUST GO! STAY THERE! Enjoy the view, the hammocks, breakfast and intelligence of Michela. You won't be disappointed, but rather will want to go back.
BRAVO and BRAVISSIMA. And thank you for taking such a great care of us.
Love - Arman, Lily and Arthur

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at Villa Michela during the second week of September, 2013. While the property is very scenic, the room was very nicely furnished with a comfortable bed, and the breakfasts were delicious, there were several issues which should be pointed out to those considering this property.

The property is located above the village of Varenna, and is very difficult to find. The roads are extraordinarily twisty and narrow, with dozens of blind corners and in my opinion, outright dangerous to drive. On our way there, we went up a set of roads which had turns which were so tight that they required 3 point turns to navigate, and this was with a sub-compact car.

Signage is all but non-existent, and not at all intuitive.

Parking is in a lot about 150 yards from the property, and one must negotiate both cobblestones, stairs, and a hill in order to reach the property with baggage. Our room was on the second floor, which also required dragging two 50 lb. suitcases up a set of winding stairs.

The reservation was made through Booking.com and was reserved with a credit card.

Upon our arrival, we were asked if we could pay in cash as opposed to credit card. She also offered the option of Paypal, but would not pay the Paypal fee. Michela said she would go into town with us to the ATM. This was quite the surprise. We told her that we would get her the money. On the morning after the first night, she again anxiously asked for cash, and wanted it that day. Never have we been asked to pay for a stay until departure. Because of this, we incurred an unnecessary AMT charge.

Also after the first night, she told us that we would have to use the bathroom on the main floor as opposed to the bathroom right next to the room because she was having other guests coming in. Why we had to change bathrooms in mid stay remains a mystery.

We told Michela after the first night that we would be leaving early the next morning. While breakfast the first morning was at the property, the second morning she planning a picnic breakfast at a mountain lookout which required a 15 minute car drive, and this was after we told her we wanted to get an early start.

Maybe we're just not B&B people, but Michela's modus operandi left us angry, confused, and disappointed.

Room Tip: Insist on the bathroom being next to the room, request directions find the property, request help wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Loved the hammock on the balcony! Beautiful view on the lake, stunning garden, set in a nice little village. Be aware that it is difficult to find. Michela is a wonderful host and gave us some excellent restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wonderful, quiet retreat with a spectacular view that we enjoyed most at sunset and in the morning. Michela is a terrific. Her recommendations steered us the best restaurants in Varenna and nearby Bellano. Breakfasts at the Villa were generous and fresh.
A car is essential if you are staying here, as Varenna (with a RR station) is a long winding walk down a steep hill. When you are not relaxing at the Villa, you are one hour or less by car (and/or ferry) from a number of interesting and beautiful places: Lecco, Bellagio, Mennagio, Villa Carlotta, and Lugano (Switzerland) (you need a special decal to drive in Switzerland, which you can purchase for 33 euro). Milan is about 2 hours away by car (less by train). We hope to return to Villa Michela in a few years. Thank you for a wonderful five days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a wonderful week in Regoledo, a small village next to Varenna. A quiet and restful B and B, close to the mountain, the lake and the fantastic Villas. Above all, Michela and her genuine sense of welcoming guests and making them feel at home.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our family of five were staying in Varenna for our wedding which was at another hotel in the town. When we first arrived at Villa Michela we were greeted by the amazingly enthusiastic Michela whom we would have been forgiven for thinking was only in this excitable state when we first arrived, but her drive and passion to ensure that we had a memorable stay went on throughout! The garden is an absolute pleasure and delight! Situated on a downward slope that overlooks Lake Como, there are lanterns, mature Willow tree's, swinging hammocks galore and a random bed in the middle which actually works for lying on and watching the stars. The views are stunning and you have to pinch yourself to be reminded that this is a relatively inexpensive bed and breakfast. Incredible!

Our apartment was quirky, characterful and very comfortable. We had our own breakfast patio area which was set under trees and a joy to come out to each morning. Breakfast each day was varied, plentiful and beautifully presented. If you're planning on staying here, we'd recommend a car. We didn't have one and spent a small fortune on taxi's which are 12-15 euro's each way as it is definitely out of town. The location was fabulous once you were there, but getting to town and back became a pain towards the end of the holiday.

What makes this place above all is Michela. The views, the breakfast and the Villa are all wonderful but she is something else! Within about 15 minutes of being at the Villa we were on hugging terms with Michela like you would with some long lost friend. The children were literally saying 'Bye Michela, love you!' and we were immediately put at ease. Her work ethic is bionic with seemingly no-one else helping her run what is a fairly big operation for one person. Michela threw a party for us upon our return to her Villa which was incredibly generous, if not slightly bizarre at the time. She could not do enough for us and her personality is as much part of the product as her lovely bed and breakfast.

Certainly somewhere we would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great little B&B to stay at if you have a car. It is up on the mountain above Varenna, Italy. We had a wonderful stay here for three nights, and Michela was very accommodating, coming down to he town center to lead us to the B&B (as its nearly impossible to locate on your own)! Lovely, quiet stay for three nights. Highly recommended. Stay in the suite (although bathroom is out in the hall). Lovely person and innkeeper! Michela went back to the restaurant we ate dinner at to find my phone because she felt personal contact may bring better results, which it did! She had it placed on my pillow for me to find when we returned after our day of site seeing. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Michela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Michela

Address: Piazza Del Boschetto 6 | Fraz. Regoledo, 23828 Perledo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Perledo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Perledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa Michela! Located just above Varenna, this picturesque location offers a cozy, intimate atmosphere where guests are welcomed like close friends. Enjoy our terraces and gardens with breathtaking lake and Alpine views like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Michela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Michela Italy/Perledo, Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Michela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.