We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand and Imperiale Indeed!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Imperiale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Imperiale to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Imperiale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina Vecchia 24-26, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Grand and Imperiale Indeed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

It's hard to find a bad setting in Lake Como, having said this, The Grand Hotel Imperiale was spectacular. Our lake view room in the smaller Villa in front of the bigger building was the perfect place to relax while sitting in the small balcony enjoying the unearthly scenery. Breakfasts here were Epic!!!, I never knew I could eat so much, everything was delicious, we enjoyed the company of two ducks that walked right up to you looking for scraps. We used the WelComoCard to get a 10% discount on our stay and also for dinner at their Imperialino Restaurant. You can get this card at the tourist info center in the City of Como, just make sure to print the page were it specifies the discounts for this establishment because the staff knew nothing about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    156
    74
    26
    6
See reviews for
85
201
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have just returned from a holiday at this hotel. I found the staff,food and accommodation of the highest standard. Whiilst Montrasio has little facilities it is a typical lakeside village. The hotal has all that you require after a day out including a lakeside bar and pool spa etc. THe ferry terminal is at thebottom of the garden wit easy access to other places on the lake or to como for the train and onward to the airport. The road upto the hotel is very narrow so drive slowly or you will hit the car coming the opposite way. Everyone uses their horn to warn you on the bends

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

When coming to lake como it is the views and the setting you are visiting so it is secondary what your hotel is like - we have had bigger bedrooms with better facilities but it was perfect for what we wanted. Moltrasio is very quiet with little going on - the hotel has a great spot right next to ferry stop and a lovely pool next to a public swimming spot. Hotel staff were all friendly and efficient - good English booked taxis restaurants etc for us no problems - book a lake view room - don't pay for breakfast go to little cafe next door then head to one of the other towns around the lakes - our favourites were belliago, como and cernobbio

Room Tip: Book superior lake view room only tariff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. joseph, michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I discovered this hotel on our way up the coast from the town of Como. The rooms are on the expensive side, but the front desk clerk offered to show us each room and they were very nice. We ended up splurging and getting a Villa Room that overlooked the pool and the lake, with gorgeous views. LOVED it. The hubs said it was worth every penny. The second night we stayed at an adjacent room which was nice as well. It was just a memorable, wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this 4* Hotel. It definitely worthy of its 4* accolades.
Our 4th floor Room view was superb. And with the balcony directly facing the Lake and the mountain it was easy to enjoy the room with the doors being left opened throughout the night.

The staff (Concierge, Restaurant Staff, Chambermaids alike) and very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

The choice (2) of restaurants was good and the 2 evenings where we ate at the Lakeside restaurant we were treated very politely.
The food, service and experience cannot be faulted.

The area itself (Moltrasio) is very picturesque, quaint, romantic and very pleasant wherever we went. A local even invited us in for an 'aperitive' where he gave us his local take on the things to do, with some history. :-)

I want to go back.

Room Tip: High ceilings and doors. Lakeview breathtaking, if sensitive sleeper, with doors opened, you may ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Imperiale for a long week end to celebrate my wedding anniversary. i choosed one of the new rooms with Emotional Shower and i have to say that the description given on the web site is completely right. Room was huge, clean and very very confortable. Service is good, not excellent ( to get my luggage back before leaving the hotel took almost 20 minutes). I bought the Total Wellness package including one entry to the SPA and one Tonic massage. Both experiences were very good. Indeed, SPA and the ladies managing it are an added value to the hotel.
Restaurant is nice. Waiters are friendly and active. Food is good. Only one remark on the risotto we took which was too salty. However waiter was ready to change it for anything else. Breakfast is gorgeous.
The Bar is nice, with early 20° Century decorations. Cocktails are good and not expensive.
The hotel has also a small swimming pool just on the lake. The sight is wonderful, however the space is too crowded. Also the swimming pool could be a kept a bit more cleaner. Costs of the bar at the swimming pool are too high.

Room Tip: Choose the new rooms with emotional shower with balcony on the back of the hotel. Not an amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Overall, our experience at this hotel was very good! I would rate it excellent except that it is overpriced (but I think that speaks for the Lake Como area rather than this specific hotel). Our room had a great view of the lake & mountains. We are a family of 4 (2 adults & 2 teenagers) so I was worried that our room would be tight but we had a king size bed and a queen pull-out sofa. That, along with our large shaded terrace, made the room suitable for a group our size. The pricey wifi was an issue (you pay for one access code, which my kids did not appreciate). We had the breakfast a few times but I agree that it's mediocre and over priced. Better breakfast at the small cafe next door. The access to the ferry is perfect, it's right across from the hotel. We also enjoyed the lounge/bar area at night - our kids would go up to watch a movie and we would hang out for awhile and listen to lounge music. My daughter & I splurged and had an afternoon at the spa - now that was amazing!!! The pool was a nice benefit too (although the drink prices are ridiculous). After a busy day touring it was nice to come back and relax poolside. Overall, we truly enjoyed this picturesque hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Address: Via Regina Vecchia 24-26, 22010 Moltrasio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Moltrasio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moltrasio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Moltrasio, Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Imperiale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.