We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Ciccia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mamma Ciccia to your Saves list
Mamma Ciccia
Piazza Roma, 15, Mandello del Lario, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

On our trip through the north of Italy we were lucky to find this lovely B&B in a small village on the Como Lake. It is run by a very friendly Italian couple. The restaurant serves delicious dinners. The room we had was very nicely decorated. They offered us their bikes which was a nice way to see something of the surroundings and end the day with a refreshing swim in the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
41
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Would recommend to anyone. The food is excellent, there is only a small menu but everything on it is so flavoursome. Also the people there are fantastic. And only too willing to help you. You are close to so many things, suc as water sports, shopping at bellagio, just a short ferry ride from the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This family run operation suited me very well, great location, great owners and great food. If you are a motorcycle fan and need a home base for a few days or a week, look no further, Mamma Ciccia accomidates you very well. Being from the US and speaking no Italian it was nice to have Sylvia around to translate, but all the staff were excellent. Oh yeah, a big plus, the breakfast was FANTASTIC!! I will be back, it will be nice to visit the family again! Rod Hunt – Paradise-Bound.net

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed two wonderful nights here. We journed around via bicycle and loved the local natural beauty. The room had a welcoming basket that included even a toothpaste packet-wow! The colors and art work in this B and B are uplifting and refreshing to look upon. The room was cozy with a view of the lake-though you have to walk many steps to get there(smile). Sylvia was amazing. She carried so many balls via the resturant and the accomadations. My daughter and I were extremely impressed. She also is very gracious and kind. The breakfast and dinner was delicous as well. I highly recommend this as a great get away from the crowds of Milan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful little B & B away from the maddening crowds. We loved Mandello Del Lario and Mama Ciccia. Had a delicious meal in restaurant, seafood ravioli was amazing.

Steps ++ to room, so pack light.

A few short steps to the most beautiful waterside promenade.

Easy access to the ferries and the other lakeside towns.

Silvia, a lovely host.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schio, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Mandello del Lario is a quiet town on the shores of Lake Como not as fancy or touristy as some but well situated between Varenna and Lecco. The hotel is simple and charming and we received a warm welcome. We parked outside while we unloaded our bags and then used a free car park five minutes walk away for the rest of our stay.

The room was clean and simple up three flights of stone steps, note there is no lift, an incentive to pack lightly. We enjoyed our stay although our meal in the attached restaurant was nothing special contrary to other reviews here. Perhaps we caught them on a poor night at Easter. Would recommend Mamma Ciccia for good value charming accommodation.

Room Tip: On the top floor are two rooms which share a sitting area making it into a mini apartment (minus coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

In the heart of the historic centre. Easy to reach from the train station. We had a spacious apartment, which we did not expect. It turned out that our daughter was provided with a beautiful room of her own. Modern and cosy rooms in an old building. The restaurant offers delicious fine meals, although a lit bit pricy.
We found the town surprisingly pleasant and amusing. There was a summer festival with good food and dances.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamma Ciccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamma Ciccia

Address: Piazza Roma, 15, Mandello del Lario, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Mandello del Lario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mandello del Lario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mamma Ciccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamma Ciccia Mandello Del Lario, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Ciccia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.