We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice start to a trip to Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Bogno B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Il Bogno B&B to your Saves list
Il Bogno B&B
via Genico 12A | angolo Via Plinio il Giovane, 23827 Lierna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Lierna B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice start to a trip to Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent our first 2 nights in Italy at this small B and B. Laura made the transition painless with helpful suggestions and providing such lovely accommodations. We were two couples traveling together and this place was just perfect for us. There are local restaurants nearby but be prepared for a rather long uphill walk back to the B and B. Great value with a great view and lovely breakfast. Host was pleasant and accommodating.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogno, Proprietario at Il Bogno B&B, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your nice review,I'm happy for your beautiful remember of Como lake .
All best,Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We can only echo what other reviewers have already said about the B&B and Laura. We arrived, hot and a little stressed from the drive and were made to feel so welcome immediately that we were instantly glad we had booked this room. There were four of us - two teenage boys in the bunk-bed room. This was fine for two nights but the bunks are a little small for adult-sized kids! The breakfast served to us in the delightful garden with a breath-taking view over the lake was enough to satisfy even our boys' large appetites and you had the feeling that nothing was too much trouble for Laura. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogno, Proprietario at Il Bogno B&B, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Gillian , thanks a lot at all your nice family.All best,Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech republic
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our third time in this B&B and it was yet another wonderful stay! We felt like visiting our old friends, we were welcomed with opened arms and felt like home for the entire stay. We were pleased to find out that nothing has changed and it's still the number one place to be in Lierna and Como lake. Even though Lierna might seem as a little boring village, there is a wonderful restaurant, grocery store, gelato and everything you need on holidays, there are actually two beaches (one is sandy in the end of the village, and another with grass is in the centre of the village) and there is also romantic lake walk-path with stunning views on the lake. Breakfasts were very tasty and plentiful as always and Laura was the best host ever. She made a reservation in a restaurant for us, she gave us many tips and advices on where to go and was always helpful, nice and very friendly. As I mentioned, it was like visiting old friends rather than staying in "no-name"B&B:-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogno, Proprietario at Il Bogno B&B, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Very thanks Eliska, for us was a great pleasure to welcome you again this third time.
Greetings,Laura and Gerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The house is very nice designed, everything is comfortable, clean, beautiful and stylish. The host is polite and charming women. The breakfast was great - nice and tasty.
We spent wonderfull our time in this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogno, Proprietario at Il Bogno B&B, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Many thanks Juliana,for your opinion, greetings to you and all family,Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A superb place to stay. The host, Laura, is exceptionally welcoming, generous and hospitable and the whole house is impeccably decorated and furnished, making for a truly relaxing stay. The main sights of Lake Como aren't that far away either, if you have a car, or are prepared to wander 10 mins down the hill to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogno, Proprietario at Il Bogno B&B, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks Jamie for your review,
Thanks also at you for your sympathy,Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Thanks to Laura, the owner, we had an amazing experience near Como Lake. Room was cosy,clean and the garden view was breathtaking. Amazing breakfast and hospitality. Laura provided us with great tips for dining and sightseeing. We had also good discounts in few restaurants thanks to her. We wish we could stay more. We will definitely go back soon and stay in Il Bogno to relax and refresh ourselves.
P.S. We still smile for the note above "the smelly flower", very thoughtful. And we miss Nova:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Il Bogno B&B is really exceptionnal. The owner, a lady who is also an artist, has decorated the place in a nice artistic fashion. Everything in this house tells you: "Hey, look at me, I have something to tell you".

The lady is very welcoming, comes to the entrance of the land to welcome you and shake your hand, calls you up with your name, offers coffee, tea, and was always available and very eager to give us advice and help. We felt as if we were getting in our own home.

The breakfast was: personalized, delicious, and large. For 2 people we had in total: 3 breakfast breads, 2 types of (seemed homemade) jam, 3 eggs, cereals, 2 cappuccinos, 2 large croissants (one with crème patissière, the other with Nutella), and 4 glasses of grapefruit juice. We could not physically eat anything more (and we usually eat a lot more than the average people in the morning). The breakfast was a treat really. We ate inside because we took breakfast early (and it was a bit cold that morning), but the other couple ate outside.

The place is very quiet - we could hear birds in the morning, not cars or city noise.

Too bad we stayed there only one night. If we had known that it was so easy to do travel trips across the lake from Varena (closeby), we would have stayed 4 nights at that B&B.

The B&B also had the fastest and most stable internet access we had seen during our trip in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogno, Proprietario at Il Bogno B&B, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very mutch for your pleasent visit and for your accurate review,I think a help to other future guests.
Greeting,Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Bogno B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Bogno B&B

Address: via Genico 12A | angolo Via Plinio il Giovane, 23827 Lierna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Lierna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lierna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast Il Bogno is situated steeded in the green, going up the street that take to Genico, near at the ancient "Sentiero del Viandante".From the garden that surround the house you can see the beatiful view of lake of Como, otherwise at the back of the house you can see woods and mountains, in a place quiet and relaxing.The house has got 2 rooms from 4 to 7 person, 2 bathrooms en-suite, a garden outside and parking free for cars and motorbike.A patio where in summer you can eat a good breakfast and during the day you can stay that for relaxing.From here you can start nice natural walks or reach Varenna (which is very close) and do boot trips to admire the central part of the lake from its best point of view: the lake itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Il Bogno B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bogno B&B Lierna, Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Bogno B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.