We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ortensie Due

Le Ortensie Due
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Ortensie Due to your Saves list
Le Ortensie Due
Via Roma, 180, 23827 Lierna, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Lierna B&B and Inns
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at the Le Ortensie with friends who had been 3 times before. The owners are so friendly and welcoming and make the place a home from home. It has lovely views of the lake, is really clean and the owner makes sure you have everything to enjoy your stay whether it be a travel plug or information on local restaurants and transport. Its a two minute stroll to the lake. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liu L, Proprietario at Le Ortensie Due, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you!
I hope to see you next year.
Kisses
Liù
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have so far stayed at Le Ortensie 3 times and plan to stay there once again this year.
The bedrooms are comfortable and clean, the b&b itself is an excellent location, right next to the lake and near transportation/shops and good restaurants. It is also has less tourists, so it is lovely and quiet.
The owner of the b&b is very welcoming and lovely, she gave us any information we needed on arrival, and has surprised us with evening meals in the past, which was a lovely touch.
Needless to say, the breakfasts are fantastic.
All in all, this is easily the best b&b we have stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We(4 of us) have visited Lake Garda 3 times and loved it, but wanted to experience Lake Como. This lovely b/b situated in Lierna(between Lecco & Varenna) was just what we hoped it would be. The top balcony where breakfast could be taken had wonderful views of Lake Como, and the owners Emilia & Pietro were great hosts. The breakfast varied every day, and the evening meal that came as part of our deal was first class, the best rissoto I have ever eaten. Also included in our 5 day stay was a complimentary hop on hop off cruise on the lake, which we loved. Belaggio is a must and also Bergamo where we had a lovely lunch on our way to the airport at Milan. If you have the time take a ride on the Bernina Express to St Moritz, a lovely rail journey. We thoroughly recommend this guest house and the owners who could not have been more welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I recently stayed at Le Ortensie Due with my boyfriend for a weekend trip to Lake Como. The hotel is located in Lierna, which is between Lecco and Varenna along the lake. There is not much to do in Lierna itself, but there are a few restaurants and a place for swimming if you are not necessarily interested in sightseeing around the lake. If you are, it's easy enough to walk to the train station (10 minute walk) and take a 10 minute train ride to Varenna, from which you can access other famous Lake Como towns by ferry or water taxi. The house is gorgeous with a nice breakfast on the balcony overlooking some gardens and the lake - the owner speaks english, but occasionally it's hard to understand so it's definitely easier to stay here if you speak a little Italian. It's also important to remember to shut your blinds since even seemingly private areas of the backyard are actually public spaces. Overall I would recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hörby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

My fiancé and me stayed att this place for four nights. The reason we chose this was mainly because of the many positive entries at this site. The location is really great, close to a beatiful beach and a pizzeria with a great view. The rooms are OK and the garden aswell. I have stayed at two other accomodations in the area of Lago di Como where I was very satisfied in particular with the service. But at this place service was not at it´s peak. The landlady was abscent at our arrival (we waited for almost half an hour before she eventually showed up), we did not get the room that we had reserved, and during our stay we experienced a "forgotten" breakfast. All these things might still have been OK if the landlady would have had a warm and caring attitude. But she had not.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We were traveling with another couple and needed a last minute place to stay on the Lake. I saw a sign for B&B and sstopped in. The hostess owner was sooo hospitable. She made us feel like family. The price was so reasonable and the rooms were clean & comfortable with a private bathroom, free wifi, too. Breakfast was a beautiful spread complete with bottomless coffee in her idyllic garden looking out to the lake. What a find! Close to great restaurants in Varenna.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

This is a reasonably priced alternative near Varenna on Lake Como. This three room B&B is in the small lakeside village of Lierna just minutes from Varenna. The rooms are adequate and ours had a ensuite bathroom. The breakfast room and deck have a lakeview. Its only a short stroll to the village and its beach. The breakfast is very nice and varies each day. Your host Liu is very warm and helpful. Parking is provided.

  • Liked — price, breakfast, host
  • Disliked — train tracks run behind the B&B
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Ortensie Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ortensie Due

Address: Via Roma, 180, 23827 Lierna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Lierna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lierna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Ortensie Due reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Ortensie Due Lierna, Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ortensie Due, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.