We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Aurora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Aurora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Aurora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frazione Sossana, 2, 22025 Lezzeno, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lezzeno
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel Aurora on lake Como. We stayed there 5 years ago and liked it enough to return but this time it was even better than before. The refurbishment of the rooms has been very well done with understated elegance and shabby chic decor. We had a room in the main hotel and my Mother stayed in the new building right on the lake. Her room was very up market and had a beautiful bathroom with a huge walk-in shower.

What makes this the best 3 star hotel you are likely to ever stay in is:
1 - The location. The most beautiful views across the lake and surrounding hills.
2 - The facilities. Kayaks, water trampoline, paddle boards, sun beds on the lakeside deck etc all included in the price and at an additional cost: water skiing, wake boarding and the best ever thing we did was hiring a self-drive speed boat to explore the lake. This is well worth the money at Euro 160 for 3 hours.
3 - The staff. Who could not have been more friendly or helpful in English or Italian.
4 - The restaurant. Which was so good we had all our meals there.
5 - The Breakfast! Last but not least was the amazing huge range of items at the continental breakfast in the beautiful dinning room.

We will return!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    410
    107
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
78
296
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Aurora in one of the apartment rooms overhanging the lake. The room was gorgeous with amazing views of the lake. Free Wifi access was provided and the staff were really keen to help with local information on buses / ferries etc.
We really enjoyed our stay.
Only thing I would warn people about are the roads to get there - travelling from North or South on the main lake road on this side of the lake is all on very thin. windy, hilltop roads so be ready for the journey :)
You can travel a bit easier on the other side of the lake and then get the car ferry across to Bellagio as an alternative

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was a really friendly and clean hotel. We usually eat away from our hotel but having eaten there on our first evening we didn't want to go anywhere else. The restaurant overlooking the lake was superb with an extensive menu. Use of the sun deck, water trampoline, kayaks etc. were all free. The road outside was very busy so care is needed if you have children when crossing to the restaurant and sun deck. Leave your car there and use the ferries.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Wow very professional experience very smoothly run. The steak we had in the resurant was the best we had in our 90 days in Italy! Kayaking on site was a bonus it is hard to find on the lake. Book early, we didn't and had a room with a private bathroom. It was a tiny room and the bathroom had a shower over a bath and it was upstairs from our room. There is a lot of traffic noise but it adds to the atmosphere and fun. Overall a great stay and we were happy they could find us a bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family and I booked here for 2 reasons 1. It was on the water 2. They had a trampoline on the Water for the kids. What we got was only way to put just awesome. The facility is impeccably clean and tidy, the entire staff friendly and accommodating, breakfast plentiful (a tip they will make you a home made cappuccino for free from the bar if you ask for it rather than the using the Nescafe machine) location just right, and the best seafood we had in Italy. We ended up eating there both nights because there is no need to go anywhere else. The large dining room right on the water was full both nights mainly with locals who know where the good food is. This was one of the highlights of our 2 week tour of Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dania, Mariager, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We chose to stay at Hotel Villa Aurora after having studied TripAdvisor and the recommendations of previous guests having stayed at different hotels at the Lake Como – and we were in no way disappointed in our choice.

Hotel Villa Aurora is located directly down to the lakeside with a top class restaurant having an unspoiled view over the lake to the other bank with a background of tall mountains.

Villa Aurora is a family run, small hotel with nice clean rooms and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is managed by two sisters in law being married to the original owners two sons who take care of the hotels external activities mostly connected to sports on the lake. Both parties are very professional guaranteeing an excellent stay for the guests at the hotel.

The hotel restaurant is first class with a friendly and competent service.The menu is at reasonable prices and primarily based on the species of fish available from the lake.

We can - after having stayed 11 days from June 3rd to June 14th - highly recommend Hotel Villa Aurora as a base for exploring Lake Como.

One final advise to be given – we rented a car at the airport and drove directly to the hotel having the idea of exploring Lake Como, its villages and surroundings by car. Don't do that. We parked the car in the hotels parking and left it there until returning to the airport at the end of our vacation. Instead we made very good use of the excellent ferryboats servicing the Lake Como villages from north to south. In this way one really get to see the attractions of the Lake. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk from a ferry landing and only 10 minutes bus ride from Bellagio with more choices of ferry destinations and departure times.

Mona and Jens

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Aurora is a beautiful, well-run hotel, with a fabulous restaurant, beautiful vistas, and a very friendly and helpful staff. We rented a boat from the Watersports Club directly in front of the hotel, and had a fabulous morning on Lago di Como, followed by a delicious lunch in the restaurant. I would highly recommend Villa Aurora!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Aurora

Address: Frazione Sossana, 2, 22025 Lezzeno, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Lezzeno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lezzeno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Aurora 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR SERVICES- Restaurant Pizzeria- Wine & Snack bar- Breakfast Room- Private & free garages and parking- Beach towels- Baggage Store- Equipped sun deck with sun beds and beach umbrellas- Free use of canoes, kayaks and trampolines in the water and on the ground- Packed lunch on request*- Organization of guided trekking/hiking tours*- Tourist information- Storage for bicycles- Transfer with private cars on request*- Internet station and wifi throughout the Hotel- Laundry room with washing machine, dryer and ironing board*- Water ski , wakeboarding school banana & doughnut** Paid Services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Villa Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Lezzeno
Hotel Villa Aurora Lake Como/Lezzeno, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.