We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“come to the Lavarello Temple. You'll like it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ittiturismo da Abate

Ittiturismo da Abate
Frazione Villa, 4, Lezzeno, Italy
+39 031 914986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 restaurants in Lezzeno
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“come to the Lavarello Temple. You'll like it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

we were here invited by friends for Saturday night dinner. It was a great pleasant surprise. The owner Claudio hosts the guests with his natural fishermen class. Food is lavarello and pesce persico dishes of the local tradition much improved by young creativity that is really to be admired. Really a great place Great food. Great hospitality with unique innovative cuisine. Please do not imagine nouvelle cousine. Thus is truly Italian cuisine but new and excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    194
    85
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the best fish restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We get a recommendation from our b&b owners (nest on the lake), who also made the reservation for us. The food was delicious and the whole atmosphere was very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First Solo Dinner wonderful service and Fantastic Food all gluten free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This restaurant is excellent. They went out of their way to make sure that I was comfortable and even brought a gluten free bread basket to the table. I had a starter and a main. Plus some roasted potatoes and some icecream (no judgements but yes I did roll out of there:)The wine was also lovely. All of this for 25 Euro. Make sure you book as this is a popular restaurant with the locals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Enjoyable enough we went back a second night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

da Abate was recommended to us by our hotel Nest on the Lake, and we are glad they did. We ate inside both nights although there is a nice outside area (although with no views) as well. The stone walls and nautical ambiance - with the silver fish - is nice, as is being greeted with a glass of Prosecco.

The menu is focused on the readily available lake fish. I would guess 90% of the menu has fish involved in one form or the other. One would think this might be a problem for my vegetarian wife but not the case. First she had a simple plate of nicely grilled zucchini and eggplant. Then, while normally not a huge fan of polenta da Abate serves a variation called Tocc - typical of the area made with butter and cheese. Delicious, as were the roasted potatoes - perhaps the best roasted potatoes ever. I on the other hand had a nice sampler plate of lake fish.

We enjoyed the ambiance, service and food enough that rather than trying somewhere different we returned our last night in the area. I pre-ordered (must order the previous day) the paella - well prepared with lake fish, chicken and sausage ... a good choice. The brushetta with Missoltino (sundried whole white fish preserved in salt) was only ok - not as flavourful as I expected. My wife had a very nice insalata mixta and of course re-ordered the Tocc and roasted potatoes, they were both that good. We enjoyed two nice desserts - first a local Miascio cake as well as a cinammon and peach tiramisu. Of course there is an extensive wine selection and service was very good.

Both nights we enjoyed very good food (although the choices are somewhat limited for a vegetarian) and service in a nice environment. Prices were very reasonable. If back in the area we will certainly return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“chips supremo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I don't normally bother with chips but had been tipped off that these were special and indeed they were. You must order them!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ittiturismo da Abate also viewed

 
Mandello del Lario, Lake Como
Gravedona, Lake Como
 

Been to Ittiturismo da Abate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ittiturismo da Abate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.