We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel San Marino - Laglio” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Marino - Laglio

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Marino - Laglio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Marino - Laglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina Nuova 64, 22010 Laglio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laglio
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel San Marino - Laglio”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My friend and I were given a pokey little room on the first floor facing the busy main road. Everyone else in the touring party had far bigger rooms on the third floor. When we asked for a room change after being woken by traffic at 4am two mornings in a row, we were treated like criminals. Although the shower was in a bath with a high step into, no floor mat was provided, and as my companion is 77, stepping from a bath onto a bare tiled floor with wet feet was a concern for both of us. Light switches not working, dirty floors, cranky owner... AND, to add insult to injury, we were accused of stealing food from the breakfast provided.
My advise would be DON'T BOTHER...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    17
    15
    19
See reviews for
19
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

A good value for money hotel, that has a nice restaurant overlooking the lake. There is a swimming pool and table tennis table and fuse ball table for when you are relaxing. There is adequate parking available. The staff are friendly. A short drive to como or Tremmezo for touristy stuff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night during a tour of Italy. Starting with a positive, the views are outstanding and the balcony provides a little piece of tranquility. And there is free wifi, that's where the pros stop! The hotel smells, it's stuck in the 1970's and generally shabby. The one staff member we saw was unhelpful and chasing us to check out before 10am!
Breakfast is elaborately named! Little selection comprising of bread, warm ham and yoghurt, no staff to be seen and the quality of the food was awful.
I wouldn't stay here again if you paid me!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel sits quietly on a hill with a fantastic lakeside view. We stayed in a room over the road (no worry, it's not NYC loud traffic) and woke to the most beautiful views. Even in the rain, we sat on the little terrace and enjoyed the rain.

This hotel is a great location if you have a car. It is not in an area that you just walk out and into a city. You need to take transportation or walk down hill to the little town.

They have a wonderful restaurant for lunch or dinner with a spectacular view of the lake. Lots of Lake Fish options on the menu.

You'll meet everyone staying in the hotel at breakfast or dinner - truly, it's a family run hotel that makes everyone feel like family.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A small family run hotel with a friendly, intimate atmosphere, We arrived at night so we had a wonderful surprise when we opened the shutters to reveal the view. Views from terrace restaurant, rooms and pool just beautiful, we were very well looked after on every level, thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for four nights with group of 7 from 60 years to 4 years. The pool was a must because the young ones and San Marino provided that with reasonable price. The rooms were a bit out of date, but with a balcony and nice view to lake (if booked). The restaurant was mediocre and staff a bit slow. Desert came straight from the freezer... We ate on a room bill and we saw only one bill (and request for this took like half an hour...) before the check out, so keep your own accounting for costs. And even in the check out only the total amount was displayed. You need a car to see anything more than the hotel when staying here. Steps to down-town Laglio are quite long and there is nothing to see in Laglio either.

Room Tip: Air condition only in rooms down-stairs without balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Although we did not plan to stay at the San Marino (we were moved there when the hotel we had originally booked, the Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, lost our booking) we were so glad that we did. The hotel is located above the village of Laglio (where George Clooney has his villa) and meals are served on a terrace overlooking the lake. The food is very good - a selection of pizza, pasta and meat dishes cooked fresh to order, the pizzas in particular are amazing. We saw a number of locals come in to the hotel for dinner, which we think speaks volumes for the quality of the food. The rooms, though basic, are comfortable and clean with a daily maid service. There is also a garden area with gorgeous views of the lake, which includes a pool and sun loungers. Although there is not too much going on nearby, the transport links are great - there is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel (bus number C10) or you can take a walk down to the lake, through Laglio into the village of Urio to catch the ferry. The buses and ferries serve various destinations around the lake (Bellagio in particular is a must see) - it is very easy to get around. Getting to Lake Como from Milan airport is also fairly easy and cheap too - we took a train from Malpensa airport, changed trains at Saronno and came straight into Como before getting the C10 bus along the lake. The staff at the San Marino were faultless - the family work extremely hard and will do absolutely anything for you. For us, it was a taste of the real Italy and we would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Marino - Laglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marino - Laglio

Address: Via Regina Nuova 64, 22010 Laglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Laglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marino - Laglio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Marino - Laglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marino - Laglio Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Marino - Laglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.