We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Marino - Laglio

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Marino - Laglio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Marino - Laglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina Nuova 64, 22010 Laglio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laglio
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“What a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel sits quietly on a hill with a fantastic lakeside view. We stayed in a room over the road (no worry, it's not NYC loud traffic) and woke to the most beautiful views. Even in the rain, we sat on the little terrace and enjoyed the rain.

This hotel is a great location if you have a car. It is not in an area that you just walk out and into a city. You need to take transportation or walk down hill to the little town.

They have a wonderful restaurant for lunch or dinner with a spectacular view of the lake. Lots of Lake Fish options on the menu.

You'll meet everyone staying in the hotel at breakfast or dinner - truly, it's a family run hotel that makes everyone feel like family.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    17
    15
    19
See reviews for
19
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A small family run hotel with a friendly, intimate atmosphere, We arrived at night so we had a wonderful surprise when we opened the shutters to reveal the view. Views from terrace restaurant, rooms and pool just beautiful, we were very well looked after on every level, thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for four nights with group of 7 from 60 years to 4 years. The pool was a must because the young ones and San Marino provided that with reasonable price. The rooms were a bit out of date, but with a balcony and nice view to lake (if booked). The restaurant was mediocre and staff a bit slow. Desert came straight from the freezer... We ate on a room bill and we saw only one bill (and request for this took like half an hour...) before the check out, so keep your own accounting for costs. And even in the check out only the total amount was displayed. You need a car to see anything more than the hotel when staying here. Steps to down-town Laglio are quite long and there is nothing to see in Laglio either.

Room Tip: Air condition only in rooms down-stairs without balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Although we did not plan to stay at the San Marino (we were moved there when the hotel we had originally booked, the Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, lost our booking) we were so glad that we did. The hotel is located above the village of Laglio (where George Clooney has his villa) and meals are served on a terrace overlooking the lake. The food is very good - a selection of pizza, pasta and meat dishes cooked fresh to order, the pizzas in particular are amazing. We saw a number of locals come in to the hotel for dinner, which we think speaks volumes for the quality of the food. The rooms, though basic, are comfortable and clean with a daily maid service. There is also a garden area with gorgeous views of the lake, which includes a pool and sun loungers. Although there is not too much going on nearby, the transport links are great - there is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel (bus number C10) or you can take a walk down to the lake, through Laglio into the village of Urio to catch the ferry. The buses and ferries serve various destinations around the lake (Bellagio in particular is a must see) - it is very easy to get around. Getting to Lake Como from Milan airport is also fairly easy and cheap too - we took a train from Malpensa airport, changed trains at Saronno and came straight into Como before getting the C10 bus along the lake. The staff at the San Marino were faultless - the family work extremely hard and will do absolutely anything for you. For us, it was a taste of the real Italy and we would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel San Marino when our hotel had outbooked us here on our last night of our trip to Lake Como. The hotel is quite basic, but the rooms are spacious and clean with everything you need. The food and drink are good and worth the money. The location is within walking distance if George Clooney's place however, other than that, I would say a car or form of transport is a necessity as the buses are not the most reliable .... we'd still be waiting for the bus now if we weren't home! The only real downside other than location is the fact the hotel is situated on a busy italian road. I would not recommend this for families. If you do stay here, ask for a room on a higher floor or a room at the back as the noise can keep you awake all night.

The hotel is used as an overspill by the Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior but is worth the money overall.

Room Tip: Request a room at the side or back as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We reviewed trip advisor before staying here, I'll admit we gambled but it paid off. The hotel is basic but it is only 80 EUR in one of the most picturesque places on earth, spitting distance from George's place. The room is basic but fine, the breakfast is basic but fine.

I'd recommend as a cheap hotel but nothing more.

Room Tip: pick one at the back of the hotel to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've just returned from a wedding in Como and my husband and I, along with other guests, stayed at the San Marino. Although the hotel is fairly basic in design and facilities, we had a great time there. The pool was nice and quiet and the hotel had incredible views over the lake. We had nightly table tennis tournaments and chilled in the bar and restaurant at night.

The family who run this hotel are very quiet but very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel is very reasonable for it's sought-after location (only being 20min walk from George Clooney's house!) and our room had a lovely balcony. Only room issue was a loud fan on the ceiling, so I think the hotel need to get this sorted. Yes, it was off one of the main roads, but most houses are... this didn't bother me at all and it's not a main road in the 'city' sense with multiple lanes etc.

Laglio as an area is hard to get around by foot (we did a lot of stairs to get down to the lake!) but we did manage to see lots on foot and hired a speed boat and found some lake-side beaches. I would recommend having a car though.

The food was lovely and very reasonable in the hotel, as was the alcohol.

I can see why people who have luxury expectations of Como would be disappointed with this hotel, but we thought it was basic but lovely - great value for money.

Finally - I thought it was very clean, so my experience is very different to that of the other reviewers.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Marino - Laglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marino - Laglio

Address: Via Regina Nuova 64, 22010 Laglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Laglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marino - Laglio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Marino - Laglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marino - Laglio Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Marino - Laglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.