We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Marino - Laglio

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Marino - Laglio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Marino - Laglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina Nuova 64, 22010 Laglio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Laglio
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed here for four nights with group of 7 from 60 years to 4 years. The pool was a must because the young ones and San Marino provided that with reasonable price. The rooms were a bit out of date, but with a balcony and nice view to lake (if booked). The restaurant was mediocre and staff a bit slow. Desert came straight from the freezer... We ate on a room bill and we saw only one bill (and request for this took like half an hour...) before the check out, so keep your own accounting for costs. And even in the check out only the total amount was displayed. You need a car to see anything more than the hotel when staying here. Steps to down-town Laglio are quite long and there is nothing to see in Laglio either.

Room Tip: Air condition only in rooms down-stairs without balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    17
    15
    21
See reviews for
17
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Although we did not plan to stay at the San Marino (we were moved there when the hotel we had originally booked, the Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior, lost our booking) we were so glad that we did. The hotel is located above the village of Laglio (where George Clooney has his villa) and meals are served on a terrace overlooking the lake. The food is very good - a selection of pizza, pasta and meat dishes cooked fresh to order, the pizzas in particular are amazing. We saw a number of locals come in to the hotel for dinner, which we think speaks volumes for the quality of the food. The rooms, though basic, are comfortable and clean with a daily maid service. There is also a garden area with gorgeous views of the lake, which includes a pool and sun loungers. Although there is not too much going on nearby, the transport links are great - there is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel (bus number C10) or you can take a walk down to the lake, through Laglio into the village of Urio to catch the ferry. The buses and ferries serve various destinations around the lake (Bellagio in particular is a must see) - it is very easy to get around. Getting to Lake Como from Milan airport is also fairly easy and cheap too - we took a train from Malpensa airport, changed trains at Saronno and came straight into Como before getting the C10 bus along the lake. The staff at the San Marino were faultless - the family work extremely hard and will do absolutely anything for you. For us, it was a taste of the real Italy and we would highly recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel San Marino when our hotel had outbooked us here on our last night of our trip to Lake Como. The hotel is quite basic, but the rooms are spacious and clean with everything you need. The food and drink are good and worth the money. The location is within walking distance if George Clooney's place however, other than that, I would say a car or form of transport is a necessity as the buses are not the most reliable .... we'd still be waiting for the bus now if we weren't home! The only real downside other than location is the fact the hotel is situated on a busy italian road. I would not recommend this for families. If you do stay here, ask for a room on a higher floor or a room at the back as the noise can keep you awake all night.

The hotel is used as an overspill by the Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior but is worth the money overall.

Room Tip: Request a room at the side or back as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We reviewed trip advisor before staying here, I'll admit we gambled but it paid off. The hotel is basic but it is only 80 EUR in one of the most picturesque places on earth, spitting distance from George's place. The room is basic but fine, the breakfast is basic but fine.

I'd recommend as a cheap hotel but nothing more.

Room Tip: pick one at the back of the hotel to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've just returned from a wedding in Como and my husband and I, along with other guests, stayed at the San Marino. Although the hotel is fairly basic in design and facilities, we had a great time there. The pool was nice and quiet and the hotel had incredible views over the lake. We had nightly table tennis tournaments and chilled in the bar and restaurant at night.

The family who run this hotel are very quiet but very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel is very reasonable for it's sought-after location (only being 20min walk from George Clooney's house!) and our room had a lovely balcony. Only room issue was a loud fan on the ceiling, so I think the hotel need to get this sorted. Yes, it was off one of the main roads, but most houses are... this didn't bother me at all and it's not a main road in the 'city' sense with multiple lanes etc.

Laglio as an area is hard to get around by foot (we did a lot of stairs to get down to the lake!) but we did manage to see lots on foot and hired a speed boat and found some lake-side beaches. I would recommend having a car though.

The food was lovely and very reasonable in the hotel, as was the alcohol.

I can see why people who have luxury expectations of Como would be disappointed with this hotel, but we thought it was basic but lovely - great value for money.

Finally - I thought it was very clean, so my experience is very different to that of the other reviewers.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived at the San Marino after booking at a differenet hotel that was over booked.

I have to say when i arrived i was absolutly gutted as it wasn't up to the standard of the hotel i had originally booked, the location wasn't great either.

However the food here was fantastic, i'd recomend people go for the all inclusive option. Everything is feshly cooked and just great italian food.

W e also found 20 metres away steps that went down to the water front where we could get a boat from to take us anywhere in como, it was about 15 mins walk.

We have said that if your after a cheap and cheerful holiday with basic accomodation but fantastic food this is a good place to go.

It has probebly had unfair reviews due to its sister hotel the Britannia Excelsior transfering guests here when they over book.

Room Tip: we had room 2, lovely view however it does look out onto th road, if you don't mind noise its fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had the misfortune of staying in this dump for 2 Long days and nights last week.

Where do i begin???

Rooms,

Room 16 was our cell for the duration, dirty, smelly, broken door handle and toilet flush, and when checking around on leaving we found a pair of pants left by a previous user underneath the cloth covering the bathroom table. They are probably still there, as i wasn't moving them, and neither will the sour faced woman who runs the place i suspect. The beds are poor, and have the Grand Brittania Hotel Cadenabbias coat of arms on the headboard, so god knows how old they are.

Pool

Absolutely filthy, half the sun loungers are held together with tape, i complained to holidaysbooked.com and was confronted by the manager Marina who told me the pool looks dirty because the floor is green. The milky appearance,debris, and dead insects were obviously a figment of my imagination.

Toddlers play area

This was bordered by a flimsy fence with a 20 foot drop to the main road below, and there is a gap starting to appear at the bottom.

Bar and restaurant,

The food was absolutely shocking, the wine was awful, the espresso was undrinkable( from a vending machine), all this was complimented by very poor service.

i suspect the hapless couple running the place are not the owners, and google seems to back this up, however you can make up your own mind.

We also witnessed a family staying in one of the rooms with a dog, i don't suppose he will have enjoyed it much.

This hotel is used as a dumping ground by holidaysbooked.com and Grand Brittania Cadenabbia as an overspill facilty, so be prepared for angry and upset travellers scattered about the place, who are not staying there by choice, but because they were double booked.

ps..Google Ross Whieldon Doriana Marina, and see if you can spot any other connections to Grand Britannia Cadenabbia.










  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Marino - Laglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marino - Laglio

Address: Via Regina Nuova 64, 22010 Laglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Laglio
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Laglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marino - Laglio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel San Marino - Laglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marino - Laglio Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Marino - Laglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.