We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Marino - Laglio

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Marino - Laglio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Marino - Laglio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Regina Nuova 64, 22010 Laglio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laglio
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel San Marino when our hotel had outbooked us here on our last night of our trip to Lake Como. The hotel is quite basic, but the rooms are spacious and clean with everything you need. The food and drink are good and worth the money. The location is within walking distance if George Clooney's place however, other than that, I would say a car or form of transport is a necessity as the buses are not the most reliable .... we'd still be waiting for the bus now if we weren't home! The only real downside other than location is the fact the hotel is situated on a busy italian road. I would not recommend this for families. If you do stay here, ask for a room on a higher floor or a room at the back as the noise can keep you awake all night.

The hotel is used as an overspill by the Grand Hotel Britannia Excelsior but is worth the money overall.

Room Tip: Request a room at the side or back as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    17
    15
    19
See reviews for
19
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We reviewed trip advisor before staying here, I'll admit we gambled but it paid off. The hotel is basic but it is only 80 EUR in one of the most picturesque places on earth, spitting distance from George's place. The room is basic but fine, the breakfast is basic but fine.

I'd recommend as a cheap hotel but nothing more.

Room Tip: pick one at the back of the hotel to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've just returned from a wedding in Como and my husband and I, along with other guests, stayed at the San Marino. Although the hotel is fairly basic in design and facilities, we had a great time there. The pool was nice and quiet and the hotel had incredible views over the lake. We had nightly table tennis tournaments and chilled in the bar and restaurant at night.

The family who run this hotel are very quiet but very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel is very reasonable for it's sought-after location (only being 20min walk from George Clooney's house!) and our room had a lovely balcony. Only room issue was a loud fan on the ceiling, so I think the hotel need to get this sorted. Yes, it was off one of the main roads, but most houses are... this didn't bother me at all and it's not a main road in the 'city' sense with multiple lanes etc.

Laglio as an area is hard to get around by foot (we did a lot of stairs to get down to the lake!) but we did manage to see lots on foot and hired a speed boat and found some lake-side beaches. I would recommend having a car though.

The food was lovely and very reasonable in the hotel, as was the alcohol.

I can see why people who have luxury expectations of Como would be disappointed with this hotel, but we thought it was basic but lovely - great value for money.

Finally - I thought it was very clean, so my experience is very different to that of the other reviewers.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived at the San Marino after booking at a differenet hotel that was over booked.

I have to say when i arrived i was absolutly gutted as it wasn't up to the standard of the hotel i had originally booked, the location wasn't great either.

However the food here was fantastic, i'd recomend people go for the all inclusive option. Everything is feshly cooked and just great italian food.

W e also found 20 metres away steps that went down to the water front where we could get a boat from to take us anywhere in como, it was about 15 mins walk.

We have said that if your after a cheap and cheerful holiday with basic accomodation but fantastic food this is a good place to go.

It has probebly had unfair reviews due to its sister hotel the Britannia Excelsior transfering guests here when they over book.

Room Tip: we had room 2, lovely view however it does look out onto th road, if you don't mind noise its fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had the misfortune of staying in this dump for 2 Long days and nights last week.

Where do i begin???

Rooms,

Room 16 was our cell for the duration, dirty, smelly, broken door handle and toilet flush, and when checking around on leaving we found a pair of pants left by a previous user underneath the cloth covering the bathroom table. They are probably still there, as i wasn't moving them, and neither will the sour faced woman who runs the place i suspect. The beds are poor, and have the Grand Brittania Hotel Cadenabbias coat of arms on the headboard, so god knows how old they are.

Pool

Absolutely filthy, half the sun loungers are held together with tape, i complained to holidaysbooked.com and was confronted by the manager Marina who told me the pool looks dirty because the floor is green. The milky appearance,debris, and dead insects were obviously a figment of my imagination.

Toddlers play area

This was bordered by a flimsy fence with a 20 foot drop to the main road below, and there is a gap starting to appear at the bottom.

Bar and restaurant,

The food was absolutely shocking, the wine was awful, the espresso was undrinkable( from a vending machine), all this was complimented by very poor service.

i suspect the hapless couple running the place are not the owners, and google seems to back this up, however you can make up your own mind.

We also witnessed a family staying in one of the rooms with a dog, i don't suppose he will have enjoyed it much.

This hotel is used as a dumping ground by holidaysbooked.com and Grand Brittania Cadenabbia as an overspill facilty, so be prepared for angry and upset travellers scattered about the place, who are not staying there by choice, but because they were double booked.

ps..Google Ross Whieldon Doriana Marina, and see if you can spot any other connections to Grand Britannia Cadenabbia.










  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I'm really not sure where to begin. Location was terrible. Can not walk anywhere. Off a busy street. We ate at the restaurant for convenience......big mistake....terrible!! The rooms were DIRTY. Cob webs all over, dirty klenex and q-tip under the bed, bugs in bathroom. Noise in air conditioner kept us awake all night. One room had a ceiling fan that was hanging by a cord.

We were suppose to stay 2 nights. Tried to get out of the 2nd night and had the owner (Marina) scream at me and said they have a 48 hr cancellation policy. When I stated how unhappy we were (family of 8) she could have cared less!! Said if I don't pay, she will call the police. I paid. Should not have, it ruined our last 2 nights of a gloriious 3 week vacation in Italy. Would definitely come back to Italy, but NEVER advise anyone to stay at the San Marino.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. No way this is a 3 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferretix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel has a terrible location, with the road nearby, but the food is superb and lake's view, amazing. No luxury here, definitively: just a nice spot to spend one night...

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Marino - Laglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marino - Laglio

Address: Via Regina Nuova 64, 22010 Laglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Laglio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Laglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marino - Laglio 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Marino - Laglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marino - Laglio Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Marino - Laglio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.