We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food but a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda del Cantiere

La Locanda del Cantiere
Via Vecchia Regina | 91, 22010 Laglio, Italy
+39 031 401400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Laglio
Price range: $18 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Lovely food but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were staying in Laglio (Helen House) recently so we decided to try this restaurant as there are some good reviews of this place. The staff speak English but we practiced our Italian on them which they appreciated. We sat outside as there is a lovely view of the lake from there. I tried the pan-fried salmon and mashed potato with parsley sauce and my husband had Misoltini (a fish found in the lake which is dried and salted) with polenta. Both delicious dishes. I then had home-made tiramisu whilst my husband had the cheese platter which came with about 4-5 different cheeses (large pieces) with a sweet onion relish and pieces of pear to accompany it. All great food, served quickly by the friendly staff.

We paid about 60 Euros for a two course meal, a large bottle of water, two beers and included tip, tax and bread - for two people. The food was really tasty but we thought it was a bit pricey for what you got.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    32
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love love love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great food and great service.. We ate here three times during a three night stay for dinners and a lunch. The staff were really helpful and the food was freshly cooked. We asked for wine to compliment and we got what we asked for. We got chatting to others while dining and they have visited for years and go out of there way to dine here whilst visiting the lake. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant hosts fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

A crackling fire warmed us as we sat and reviewed a brief but wide menu

We selected the fish cakes made from local smoked fish, a delicious start with a bottle of the local white. The tagliatelle with wild boar was fantastic ( one serving was sufficient for 2) the sauce was thick and not over seasoned. The pork fillet was also sufficiently large to he shares. This economy enabled us to enjoy a dessert each- deconstructed tiramisu and moist chocolate cake with raspberry sauce. A vin- santo was a perfect accompaniment.

The waiter forgot to charge us for the vin-santo and when we mentioned this he apologized and told us it was complimentary

A great night in a great place

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We ate here twice during a week-long stay and enjoyed both meals. The staff were attentive and helpful and the menu was different both times we went so we could be sure they were using the freshest ingredients for most items. We all enjoyed pasta dishes and I also had some excellent steak on both visits. The only downsides for me were the price (a little expensive) and the fact that the bread was not freshly made.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Relais Villa Vittoria in Laglio for the first 5 nights of our honeymoon. Apart from the restaurant at the hotel there are only two other restaurants in the village (We also found a cafe but it was never open in the evenings). We had a great meal here. Nice staff, good wine and great pasta. The highlight was a pistachio and candied orange semifreddo for pudding. Yummy! Prices not too bad for the quality of the food. It is not open every night of the week so check it's open before you go. It was pretty busy by around 9pm when we visited on a Wednesday evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Cantiere also viewed

Carate Urio, Lake Como
 
Carate Urio, Lake Como
Carate Urio, Lake Como
 

Been to La Locanda del Cantiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda del Cantiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.