We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view by Lake Como in Laglio but not worth the inconsiderate staff and mediocre food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Locanda del Cantiere

La Locanda del Cantiere
Via Vecchia Regina | 91, 22010 Laglio, Italy
+39 031 401400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Laglio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice view by Lake Como in Laglio but not worth the inconsiderate staff and mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived as a family if 6 with a newborn just before 7, when they opened. We were told we could NOT sit down until 7,and were directed across the street to wait. This was regardless of the fact they did not have a soul in the restaurant. Promptly at 7 we went back and were greeted with disdain. We motored through because my family was hungry. We were not given certain amenities other tables had(oil and vinegar for bread), nor were were afforded the courtesy given to other customers. Families beware!!! This is not the place for you. Americans beware!!! They are biased against you. If you have a choice(we did not) choose a different restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This restaurant has great ambience and food was exquisite. You should make a reservation for outdoor seating that has awesome view of the lake.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very good village restaurant. Good service and food. Mostly fish on the menu and all the better for it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very friendly local Locanda with a good and varied menu. My friends who had the sirloin steak raved about it. It's not cheap but then nowhere right on Lake Como is! We paid around €40 a head, though were quite light on the drinks as we'd had a heavy one the night before!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Amazing, brilliant food, wine is incredible and staff are so warm and welcoming!

The staff also speak English which was a big bonus - only thing is that if you want to pay with a card you need to pay at the bar area - as they haven't got a machine to bring to your table.

Loved everything about this place (although a little pricey but the food really was worth it). - (I paid around 45/50 euros for 3 course), and would gladly do it again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Cantiere also viewed

Carate Urio, Lake Como
 
Carate Urio, Lake Como
Carate Urio, Lake Como
 

Been to La Locanda del Cantiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locanda del Cantiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.