We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Villa Vittoria

Save Saved
You added Relais Villa Vittoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais Villa Vittoria
via Vecchia Regina 62, 22010 Laglio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“lovely but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This really is a very beautiful hotel, in an amazing location. The rooms were lovely, cosy and the environment is very atmospheric. You could not have a more perfect view of Lake Como. However, the downside is the restaurant looks lovely, but the food is not as good as it should be. It feels like the hotel is missing some decent management and it felt like it was being held together by a very small and quite junior team working super hard. It would be nice if they had the support and resourcing they needed.

Room Tip: a balcony would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    27
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I booked Relais Villa Vittoria as our last stop on a three week visit to northern Italy. We booked a room with a balcony facing Lake Como, and we thoroughly enjoyed the room, the view and the hotel. Although we had some difficulty finding the hotel (even with GPS), we were impressed with the setting, the amenities and the helpfulness of the staff. The hotel had dining facilities for breakfast and dinner. The breakfast, which like most hotels in Italy, is included with the room booking. The dinner menu is limited, but well prepared and enjoyable. The service was friendly and efficient. We knew that we had found a gem of a hotel when a staff member at the Villa Serbelloni in Bellagio raised her eyebrows in recognition when we mentioned that we were staying at the Relais Villa Vittoria.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at the Relais Villa Vittoria for 2 nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. After we finally found it (it has a very small sign outside, but this sort of adds to the feeling of exclusivity!) we were very pleasantly surprised at just how wonderful it was.

The building has the feel of a house, so you feel instantly at home. There is a lounge area downstairs with a wonderful baby grand piano, I wonder if anyone ever plays this.. :) Outside in the grounds, there is a balcony area, perfect for sipping prosecco and contemplating the lake, and further down there is a gorgeous glass fronted swimming pool. One thing I would say is that I don't think this is a great place for kids. But it is a fabulously tranquil and relaxing adult hideaway??

Our room was right at the top of the building, and I believe we had a "cosy" room. It was huge! We had a fantastic view of the lake and didnt even miss having a balcony. The bathroom was massive, with really nice little touches. There was a kettle and tea and coffee, basically everything you might need to make yourself comfortable.

We ate in the restaurant on one night, and I was apprehensive as I had read some dubious reviews on here. Well, it was AMAZING. The food was well considered and put together, and the atmosphere in the restaurant was really romantic with the lights and all the bottles of wine. We had 3 courses and thoroughly enjoyed all of them.

Breakfast is also served in the restaurant, but you can take it outside if the weather is nice, which we did on one morning. Blissful.

We really loved this place, and whilst we don't usually go back to places as there are so many others to see, I think this one is going back on the list!

Thank you to all the staff that made our stay and our wedding anniversary so magical.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

After 3 weeks in Italy, we chose the Relais as our last stop and we were delighted

We were the first guests of the season and were given a complementary upgrade.

The room is large, sunny, with a balcony to enjoy morning coffee and a large bathroom... Heaven.

The staff are quietly efficient, breakfasts are sumptuous and can be enjoyed overlooking the lake

The restaurant is good, although the balance between cost and quantity is not a typical Italian balance, but enjoyable all the same.

Great place to enjoy lake Como

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Yes, the service is definitely lacking and the food leaves something to be desired, but if You are looking for a quiet, boutique hotel with incredible views of Lake Como, this is it. The rooms are lovely, although not that comfortable to hang in. We had a suite on the third floor (walk up - the elevator is truly ridiculously slow) with a balcony. It was very spacious, but had virtually no closet space, the mattress is not very comfortable, the room service non-existent for all intents and purposes (I hope U don't want ice) and there is nowhere to put your luggage, so the room gets messy real fast. It is also very hard to find, even with an Italian GPS (leave your U.S. GPS home) and parking is a nightmare! That said, the vanishing edge pool is to die for, the hotel is convenient to small towns where you can catch a ferry, Villa D'Este is few minutes down the road for a spectacular dinner and, hey, if Llaglio is secluded and luxurious enough for George Clooney (he lives a few doors down from the hotel), then this hotel should put a smile on your face and provide for a lovely vacation. God willing, this is a hotel to which we will return. (Leave the children at home! There is nothing for them to do and the pool is too small for them to do anything but annoy the guests!).

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Generally we prefer smaller boutique hotels so Villa Vittoria seemed perfect for our needs. We were greeted warmly and checked in, after initially pulling into a driveway nearby and walking back to access the parking in front of the property. There is another parking area for the hotel just a short distance away and across the road, which we also used at times. But with a GPS, and directions from the website, we had no difficulty finding the property.

The grounds and the villa are lovely, as you can see from the website photos. The villa sits above the pool which is lake side but there are stone walks that are very easy to negotiate that take you down to those levels. The pool itself isn't heated so being there in late September meant it wasn't all that warm----not an issue for us. Relaxing with a view of the infinity pool, lake and hills and villages beyond was quite enough! While it is true that the jacuzzi was cool and the gym quite small, that did not impact our stay in the least.

Our lake view room with balcony met all our needs for the 3 nights of our stay. It was spacious with lots of storage areas, had a beautiful view, wi-fi, comfortable bed, well laid out bathroom and was very quiet. With a small fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, it was very well equipped. But of course the highlight of staying on Lake Como is the view......and we made good use of the balcony, not only for drinks but even a casual "picnic" dinner one evening with two place settings kindly provided by the staff.

Breakfast on the terrace every morning overlooking the lake was a treat and we felt the offerings of fruit, cheeses, meats and pastries were quite good, with a boiled egg station also set up outdoors. Overall platters were freshened and plates cleared quickly, though if all the tables were full it naturally took a bit longer. But we found service was always friendly and courteous.

We did have dinner in the restaurant downstairs on two evenings and though a bit uneven in terms of both service and food, overall we found it pleasant. Driving and negotiating winding roads in the dark or paying for taxis didn't appeal to us after busy days seeing sights, so it was fine. The restaurant is the one place there could be definite improvements made though.

Our day trips included Bellagio and Como but should we be lucky enough to stay here again, we'd definitely just spend more time soaking in the wonderful views and relaxing at the Villa!

Room Tip: Choose a Lakeview with balcony......perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying 4 nights at this picture perfect establishment on Lake Como for our son's wedding to the love of his life in mid September 2013.

We were delighted with the friendly staff, the casual breakfasts in the sunshine on the terrace, the fantastic 'fairy tale' views, and the way that the Hotel was able to deliver such a beautiful setting for the actual Wedding Ceremony and for the Wedding Dinner that followed.

Even a few drops of rain on the Wedding day failed to dampen the spirits of any of the Wedding Guests. The happy faces in our photos prove that it was a truly wonderful place to celebrate a Wedding.

Len & Jean Jackson

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Villa Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Vittoria

Address: via Vecchia Regina 62, 22010 Laglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Laglio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Laglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Escapio so you can book your Relais Villa Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Vittoria Lake Como/Laglio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Villa Vittoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.