We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Villa Vittoria

Save Saved
You added Relais Villa Vittoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais Villa Vittoria
via Vecchia Regina 62, 22010 Laglio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Yes, the service is definitely lacking and the food leaves something to be desired, but if You are looking for a quiet, boutique hotel with incredible views of Lake Como, this is it. The rooms are lovely, although not that comfortable to hang in. We had a suite on the third floor (walk up - the elevator is truly ridiculously slow) with a balcony. It was very spacious, but had virtually no closet space, the mattress is not very comfortable, the room service non-existent for all intents and purposes (I hope U don't want ice) and there is nowhere to put your luggage, so the room gets messy real fast. It is also very hard to find, even with an Italian GPS (leave your U.S. GPS home) and parking is a nightmare! That said, the vanishing edge pool is to die for, the hotel is convenient to small towns where you can catch a ferry, Villa D'Este is few minutes down the road for a spectacular dinner and, hey, if Llaglio is secluded and luxurious enough for George Clooney (he lives a few doors down from the hotel), then this hotel should put a smile on your face and provide for a lovely vacation. God willing, this is a hotel to which we will return. (Leave the children at home! There is nothing for them to do and the pool is too small for them to do anything but annoy the guests!).

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    28
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Generally we prefer smaller boutique hotels so Villa Vittoria seemed perfect for our needs. We were greeted warmly and checked in, after initially pulling into a driveway nearby and walking back to access the parking in front of the property. There is another parking area for the hotel just a short distance away and across the road, which we also used at times. But with a GPS, and directions from the website, we had no difficulty finding the property.

The grounds and the villa are lovely, as you can see from the website photos. The villa sits above the pool which is lake side but there are stone walks that are very easy to negotiate that take you down to those levels. The pool itself isn't heated so being there in late September meant it wasn't all that warm----not an issue for us. Relaxing with a view of the infinity pool, lake and hills and villages beyond was quite enough! While it is true that the jacuzzi was cool and the gym quite small, that did not impact our stay in the least.

Our lake view room with balcony met all our needs for the 3 nights of our stay. It was spacious with lots of storage areas, had a beautiful view, wi-fi, comfortable bed, well laid out bathroom and was very quiet. With a small fridge, coffee and tea making facilities, it was very well equipped. But of course the highlight of staying on Lake Como is the view......and we made good use of the balcony, not only for drinks but even a casual "picnic" dinner one evening with two place settings kindly provided by the staff.

Breakfast on the terrace every morning overlooking the lake was a treat and we felt the offerings of fruit, cheeses, meats and pastries were quite good, with a boiled egg station also set up outdoors. Overall platters were freshened and plates cleared quickly, though if all the tables were full it naturally took a bit longer. But we found service was always friendly and courteous.

We did have dinner in the restaurant downstairs on two evenings and though a bit uneven in terms of both service and food, overall we found it pleasant. Driving and negotiating winding roads in the dark or paying for taxis didn't appeal to us after busy days seeing sights, so it was fine. The restaurant is the one place there could be definite improvements made though.

Our day trips included Bellagio and Como but should we be lucky enough to stay here again, we'd definitely just spend more time soaking in the wonderful views and relaxing at the Villa!

Room Tip: Choose a Lakeview with balcony......perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying 4 nights at this picture perfect establishment on Lake Como for our son's wedding to the love of his life in mid September 2013.

We were delighted with the friendly staff, the casual breakfasts in the sunshine on the terrace, the fantastic 'fairy tale' views, and the way that the Hotel was able to deliver such a beautiful setting for the actual Wedding Ceremony and for the Wedding Dinner that followed.

Even a few drops of rain on the Wedding day failed to dampen the spirits of any of the Wedding Guests. The happy faces in our photos prove that it was a truly wonderful place to celebrate a Wedding.

Len & Jean Jackson

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Not impressed at all. This is the type of place that rates appearances over any type of customer service or satisfaction.

About an hour after arriving, we went to use the ‘Spa’ and were told we would need to give 2hours notice to use the Turkish bath. Fine, so we tried the Jacuzzi…it was cold. This place promotes itself as a haven of relaxation yet when we mentioned about the Jacuzzi they didn’t seem too bothered and said they would turn it on. 20mins later there was no change in temperature so we gave up. When we went to complain about this at reception, we were told that the Jacuzzi was only open until 6.30pm and that we should have read this on the website.

Firstly, it was 6pm when we went down but secondly it doesn’t say any such thing on the website. If you go as far as to download the spa treatments brochure from their website it tells you that the Jacuzzi and spa are open until 8pm.

There’s more I am not particularly in the habit of complaining so don’t want to go on…

On the plus side, the food was delicious (although breakfast is nothing to write home about) and dinner was in a gorgeous ‘cave’ downstairs. Slept like a baby in comfy bed with lovely sheets.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I chose this beacuse of the location. I wanted some peace and quiet away from the crowds.

I would agree with the points raised by the other reviews, as they give a good indication of what to expect. I stayed for one night on a tour of the lakes.

Arriving at night is not recommended. I didn't use GPS coordinates or the directions from the hotel website. It was very tricky to find without these.

The lake view room was very nice, but the en suite was a bit of a let down. I found it a bit dated and the shower was stained slightly. The room could do with a bit of tlc. The view is fantastic and it was nice to have a balcony.

Dinner was okay. The food was fine but it was let down by slow and clunky service. It was expensive compared to the other meals during two week holidays. I didn't like the hand written note on the bill suggesting 'tips in cash only'.

The hotel was quiet during the night. The sound of staff and guest the following morning was noticable. The bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was fine, the selection was good. I had cereal, croissants and coffee. I didn't like the idea of cooking my own eggs etc, so I skipped that. It was relaxing to sit on the terrace after breakfast with another coffee. the terrace has the same lovely view as the room.

It is a nice place to stay and I would stay again but I wouldn't eat in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights at the start of our honeymoon recently. We loved it. We picked up a hire car (Fiat 500) at Milan Malpensa airport and drove to Laglio. This was an easy drive (even through the heaviest hailstorm we've ever seen!). We found it easy to find, despite comments noted in the last review- we took our own Sat Nav configured for Europe and found it in the dark with no problem. The is minimal parking outside the hotel but we parked blocking the entrance gate and the staff moved our car to the designated car park up the road and brought our bags up to our room for us. We never had trouble finding a parking spot in the small car park at the end of the day. We had room number 103 - a romantic lake view room (I think this is what it was called). It was absolutely lovely. Beautifully decorated, very tasteful. A large window and French doors overlooking the lake with a little balcony. And properly thought through - full length mirror and a plug next to the dressing table to plug your hairdryer in, good amount of light for putting your makeup on etc - I get really annoyed when the is nowhere in a hotel room to get ready properly!! We arrived in the dark and when we woke up the next morning we were delighted with the view! Great aircon. The bathroom had a tub and shower over. The bathroom is quite classic in style but this is in keeping with the style of the whole house. Coffee machine, kettle and teabags in the room (no extra charge unlike our Rome hotel!), nice bottle of prosecco to welcome us. We had to ask for cold milk. Iron and ironing board was provided upon request. Wifi was free and worked well. Breakfast was served on the lovely terrace overlooking the lake and was just fine, despite no cooked options really I was more than happy with my boiled eggs every morning. We ate once in the restaurant and found it to be nice but we decided to go out and explore other restaurants in the area for our remaining four nights. The restaurant seemed busy later in the week. The pool and lounging area was just lovely and never felt too crowded...BUT do take mozzie repellant if you plan on sitting out the after the sun has disappeared. I didn't and was eaten to pieces by the darned things on our second evening. There is a bar hatch by the pool serving drinks and lunch, which we had by the pool twice. They have a boat for rent which we didn't use but we did take the free kayaks out on our last morning and had a paddle which was great. Service was friendly but not intrusive, exactly how it should be. The girls on the front desk were very helpful when we needed them but did not bother us unneccessarily. If you are looking for an all singing, all dancing 5 star luxury large hotel experience here then you are in the wrong place. It feels more like staying in a friend's beautiful villa which is decorated beautifully and it is a much more intimate experience. Laglio itself is small and peaceful, we had a mooch around on our first morning to take the obligatory pictures outside George Clooney's villa. I think a car is pretty essential here to get the most out of the area. We drove to Tremezzo to see Villa Carlotta, to Argegno for dinner twice and to get the ferry around the lake. Just a couple of things that would have improved the experience for us - firstly there is no bar as such to have a drink in the evening. You can have a drink and sit on the sofa in the lounge, on your balcony or on the terrace but we would have preferred there to be a bar. Secondly - it would be nice if they could burn mozzie coils and candles on the lower terrace one the sun goes down to remind wallies like me to cover up/use insect repellant!! All in all a wonderful start to our honeymoon and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Driving from Milan takes around an hour, if you can choose malpensa airport as it is easier to get out of the city.
One point to consider if you are driving to the hotel, do not try it at night as the roads around the lake are really narrow and the parking at the hotel is for four cars only. It took 4 hours to get there and the evening receptionist spoke little English when we phoned for help.
As you walk in to the hotel you get a sense of calm with the light colour deco and citrus scent. Rooms are as per the website and very luxurious. The views over the lake are breathtaking, if you can get a balcony room it's worth it, it is the best part of the hotel by far.
The restaurants and food are all up to a high standard but expensive.
Outside eating is a must whilst overlooking the lake and the swimming pool is ideal in the summer months. Hire a boat via reception and explore one of the most beautiful places on earth. Try to avoid the weekend to do this as it can get busy. We booked a speedboat for 2 hours on a Monday for €90 plus fuel and there was hardly anyone else on the lake. The hotel can arrange a picnic but we preferred to buy from fresh meat and cheese from the local shop.
Be aware that reception isn't open all day and sometimes you have to go hunting for a member if staff if you need something. Avoid the mini bar as its vastly overpriced and a small shop selling fresh food and drink is a 5 minute walk away and is less than half the price.
A 20 minute drive takes you into Switzerland which we did one evening and a drive around the lakes exploring the gorgeous little towns is worth it. Local restaurants are all worth a visit.
We would definately stay here again, mostly for the setting of the hotel and the fantastic views. The only downside to staying here is that we stayed at the JK Capri in April and it doesn't compare in terms of service and luxury. JK Capri is just an outstanding hotel so any other 5 star equivalents have a lot to live up to.
Would I stay at this hotel again? Without a doubt. I'd just go with expectations slightly lower.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Villa Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Vittoria

Address: via Vecchia Regina 62, 22010 Laglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Laglio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Laglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline and Escapio so you can book your Relais Villa Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Vittoria Lake Como/Laglio, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Villa Vittoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.