We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for anything better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Poeta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casa del Poeta to your Saves list
La Casa del Poeta
Via al castello 8, 23824 Dervio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Dervio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for anything better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

As I'm traveling around Europe I wanted to stop at Lake Como for a while and I needed a place to stay. The one I decided on couldn't be any more perfect. Especially for the price!! I payed 50 dollars and got a beautifully decorated room with an equally beautiful bathroom, a home cooked breakfast (and dinner), my LAUNDRY done (by one of Eugenio's friends...she just offered!), personal transportation to the train station, and a tour of the lake on Eugenio's boat. Not to mention that all this was done with a smile. He even let me print my boarding pass for a flight. WOW! I was also only here one day and a night. Incredible. If any experience beats this I will be surprised. I can't thank him enough for his overwhelming hospitality. Thanks Eugenio!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisa1068, Proprietario at La Casa del Poeta, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
It has been a pleasure to have you as our special guest! see you soon for another trip on lake come we'll waiting you!
greetings
Annalisa & Eugenio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ravensburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent one night in Lisa's and Eugenio's Bed and Breakfast, in a small but very cozy room. From the very first minute we arrived we were welcomed with a big warm smile. Lisa showed us the room and made sure we feel like home. She even encouraged us to take anything we want from the fridge in the kitchen. Next morning the most amazing breakfast was waiting on us in the kitchen. Eugenio's crepes are to not be missed! We were really sad to leave 'La Casa del Poeta' and its great hosts, they definitely made our short visit to Italy unforgettable!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lage, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nts in Dervio on our way to tuscany and I chose La Casa del Poeta due to the very good price. We had a very warm welcome by the owners who gave us two of the best breakfasts we ever had on trip. The rooms are very small but clean, the bathrooms are kind of funny but OK if you are not planning a two weeks stay. We had breakfast in the kitchen of the family and they offered dark bread, very good cheese and ham (all bio stuff) as well as jam, honey and yoghurts. Emilio cooked crepes the way you want it and gave us one on top which we had for lunch (with Nutella, yam yam - thanks Emilio!)
Dervio itself is a very small village, but you find a number of restaurants and can have a swim at the lake. We can recommend La Casa del Poeta very much and will stay there any time we come back to that region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisa1068, Proprietario at La Casa del Poeta, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very mutch for the compliments!
we were happy to have you as our guest! we are wainting for more!

ANNALISA E EUGENIO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

When the ferry first pulled into Dervio, we thought that maybe we'd made a mistake and should have stayed in one of the more expensive, popular towns. We were so wrong! The town itself grew on us and we enjoyed spending time there, and there are plenty of towns nearby to visit (it's near the beautiful Varenna).

But the best thing about our stay was our host, Eugenio. Nothing was too difficult and he made sure we were comfortable and looked after us during our stay. His personally prepared breakfasts were a highlight. He also drove us to nearby locations to make our travels easier, and he gave us a tour of a beautiful nearby town.

The B&B is well located, near a bank and supermarket. The rooms are small but perfectly arranged so you don't feel cramped. Our room was also quiet, which is important for us because we're not good sleepers. We enjoyed our time here so much that we're planning to return very soon. Thanks again Eugenio! Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisa1068, Proprietario at La Casa del Poeta, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
I'm happy to know that you had been fine in our b&b!
see you next time!

cheers
Eugenio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had five wonderful days in Dervio on the end of june. La Casa del Poeta is really cosy place with very very helpful and friendly host Eugenio, three lovely thematic rooms (which were cleaned every day and had all things we needed), kitchen (tasty breakfast made by Eugenio) and wonderful surroundings (eg ask about a track between Dervio and Dorio from Eugenio). We didn't rent a car, so we made short trips by train and ferry to other towns. Dervio is really peaceful place with almost no tourists, but very near to other more touristic places (Varenna and Bellagio). This way we enjoyed two different faces of lake Como.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisa1068, Proprietario at La Casa del Poeta, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
thank you very mutch It had been a pleasure to have you as our guest! see you next time!
Eugenio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

la casa del poeta was everything that the reviews led me to expect. it was lovely to feel part of the village and to have such interesting conversation with Eugenio who is a mine of information and a thorough gentleman.. Eugenio has got his crepe recipe worked out to perfection and we thoroughly enjoyed our freshly prepared breakfasts. The room was lovely and had everything we needed truly a home from home

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisa1068, Proprietario at La Casa del Poeta, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
thanks for the nice compliments we 'll wait you for a next time with our crepes!

Eugenio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The B&B is easily accessible, well located, close to the lake and the main services (bank, grocery shop), with outdoor car parking.
The double room is clean, pretty, quiet, free WiFi, with a balcony where you can admire the mountains.
Breakfast is offered with typical products, the Eugenio's crepes are fantastic.
It's nice having enjoyable conversations with Annalisa and Eugenio, they are very familiar with the surrounding places and restaurants.

We have already booked for another weekend in August, so...better than this!:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa del Poeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Poeta

Address: Via al castello 8, 23824 Dervio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Dervio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dervio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast "la casa del poeta" is located in historical centre of Dervio on Como lakeOnly a 15 minutes by foot from lake near sport centre for sailing, windsurf and kite surf, only 5 minutes by foot from bar, supermarket, and other shops. Near the Dervio's station.We are at only 700 metres from the famous Crotto del cech RestaurantThe house has more than 300 years old and we have just reorganize it without change the original structure.The house has 3 room with private bath, 2 rooms have 4 places: a queen size bed with bunk bed and one room with a queen size bed.There is a living room for breakfast and a backyard for sports equipment. You are welcome to our B&B! Annalisa e Eugenio ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Casa del Poeta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Poeta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.