We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations, it's all about expectations....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vista Lago to your Saves list
Vista Lago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Via Roma, 22100 Brunate, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brunate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expectations, it's all about expectations....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Now I don't want to set your expectations, as this hotel is far from the most amazing hotel I have stayed in but........

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here back in September on Monza GP weekend. We travelled straight up to Como on the Train from Monza itself, easy, pleasant and cheap....

Arriving in Brunate after having a hectic few days was fantastic, as it is a totally different world from the GP! This hotel was the perfect place to base ourselves and unwind in the mountains. We had a room with a view which is probably the best view I've ever had from a hotel, especially one costing the price of a travellodge back home. Admittedly the standard of the rooms are basic; but everything is clean, tidy, works and the beds are comfy.

This is all the normal hotel stuff, but you also get an owner who is very passionate about his hotel and it shows. We came back from a long day out and he insisted that we sat with him and had a glass of Prosecco! Even though he cannot speak barely any English and we could not speak a word of Italien! Our breakfasts and cappucinos were great too!

You just have to remember that the price of this hotel compared with the others in Como is miniscule, yet the rewards for staying here are great!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We arrived at Vista Lago by car which is a treat in itself as the drive up the hill to Brunate from Como is an amazing experience. The views from anywhere and anywhere are amazing. The hotel is just what we wanted, friendly, small, quaint, and relaxed. The rooms, restaurant, bar, and facilities were excellent. An amazing experience. The proprietor and chef of the restaurant was very friendly and accommodating. He took to the challenge of our requiring gluten free meals and created an amazing dinner for us both. We enjoyed our room and the balcony looking out over the lake. The hotel is a great staring place for hiking up into the hills above Brunate. Excellent, well marked trails. Don't for get to see the Volta tower!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We had reservations to stay here but then didn't get to because of the fenicular schedule and an early flight. BUT, we took the fenicular up to Brunate and had the owner tour us through the hotel. It's nothing too fancy, but very well kept and clean. Small rooms, but AMAZING view from the front of the hotel, all the way across Lake Como, looking onto the Alps. Amazing! We were "crying" that we hadn't made a way to stay there. Next time for sure! Would definitely recommend it if you like being away from the craziness of Como city and like a quiet, quaint stay. Brunate is a quiet, tiny little town that's fun to roam around and get yet another taste of awesome Italy's small towns!

Room Tip: Request a room in the front of the hotel, with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

A good 3 star Italian hotel. Personally we didn't find the drive too bad, a few hair pin bends but nothing untoward. The rooms are on the small side but very comfortable and with fabulous views and the owner could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Brunate is a lovely little hilltop town, the cable car to Como is just minutes from the hotel. We only had one night and a day to make the most of it and from that location is was both very easy and a lovely way to get down to Como and take a boat onto the lake.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

As other reviewers have commented, this hotel's primary asset is its view - perhaps one of the most beautiful in the world. Ask for a top floor room to see it at its best - the twin bed option has an enormous terrace with room for sunbathing and simply enjoying the visage.

The hotel itself is somewhat dated. My room lacked air conditioning , although the hotel provided a useful fan, and mosquitos were an issue. The bathroom, whilst clean, was small and dark. Service was very good and the staff polite and welcoming.

Despite its shortcomings, I would recommend this hotel on the basis of its magnificent view. It may also be worth looking at other options in Brunate.

Room Tip: Top floor for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The funiculare is being repaired for July sothe only way to go to Como is by bus.
The breakfast was below average, but the staff is helpfull and the rooms were clean. .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Amazing view from this hotel with very friendly and helpful staff to ensure you feel right at home. The rooms are modern and clean but could do with some sound proofing between the rooms.

Location wise it is worth checking the Como to Brunate Funicular is working as travelling via bus up the mountain can be a little tiresome and limiting. I believe the Funicular is closed for maintenance from June to July 2011 but worth checking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Lago

Address: 25 Via Roma, 22100 Brunate, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Brunate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brunate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vista Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Lago Brunate, Lake Como, Italy
Vista Lago Hotel Brunate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.