We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Argegno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Argegno to your Saves list
Hotel Argegno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Milano 14, 22010 Argegno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Argegno
Certificate of Excellence
Aalst, België
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spacious room and large bathroom.
We stayed on the 2nd floor with a great view on the lake.
The rooms could use some better darkening; and a more modern face-lift. It all looks a bit 'old-fashioned'.
Towels are clean but they don't smell clean (vinegar) and instead of blankets (dusty and not ideal for people with allergies !) I would start using continental quilts.
At night the rooms were very chilly/cold, no heating and since the weather wasn't that great (<17°) we could have used it.
Breakfast was OK, though make sure you don't arrive too late because then is not a lot of choice left.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    32
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
38
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel was our base for 5 nights some years ago. We really enjoyed our stay & made a point of returning this time just for dinner. In the end we enjoyed 2 lovely meals there & some of the nicest steak anywhere in the world. The hotel is directly opposite the ferry stop & in the heart of the village. The service was excellent & the owners are really welcoming. Argegno is developing in a very measured & sensible way - not too brash or overwhelming. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara,Mexico
Level Contributor
190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This small village,with a boat dock for the ferries, is very small and compact.
The hotel is reasonably priced for its location;we would have liked the staff to be friendlier and know some English or Spanish or German.
There are good restaurants close by and the morning breakfast in this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to the Como area. We previously stayed in the excellent hotel Centrale in Bellagio, but decided to stay in Argegno this time for a change.

The hotel is right opposite the ferry terminal (we arrrived from Como via the fast ferry).
We stayed 2 nights in a standard room, which was pleasant enough, if lacking some charm. Fortunately our room had a balcony view of the lake, which made up for the basic decor. The bathroom was spacious and fairly modern. The rooms are situated above the restaurant, so you have to walk through the restaurant. At times the noise and smoke from the restaurant wafted upstairs. The atmosphere of this place was more like a boarding house rather than a hotel. Breakfast was basic but okay. Because of the smokiness in the restaurant we ate instead at the cafe next door (left hand side as you exit) and enjoyed the meals there.
We also had afternoon coffee at the Belvedere Hotel just down the road, we were the only ones there, and were served complimentary snacks - wonderful!

Argegno is a very small quiet place, very relaxing, and easy to walk around in less than an hour. It doesn't feel touristy, but there is not that much to explore and see. We took the cable car up to Pigra, the view was fine, but Pigra itself was rather underwhelming.

Because Argegno is not as popular, there are less ferries arriving and departing, so on a Saturday morning, there was only 1 ferry to Bellagio (around 10.30), so you lose a portion of your day. If you don't have that long in Como, we would definitely recommend staying in Bellagio or Varenna, they are more charming and have much better ferry access, which will enable you to see and do more. Don't miss the Villa Melzi garden in Bellagio.

Room Tip: Request a balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We just returned from our 3 night stay at Lake Como. This is a fantastic value hotel located in a small town 20~30min north of Como by car. There are plenty of free parking in front of town church which is 40meters away from hotel. We enjoyed the lake side short walk everyday to our car. The parking lot in front of hotel is free to park after 10pm to before 8am. The ferry stop is just right outside across the main street from the hotel if you don't have a car.


When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised with how new the hotel and the room looked. The hotel is freshly painted inside and out. Except for the old TV (but hey, who needs to watch TV when you got a view of Lake Como), our lake facing balcony room looked like new with new blanket and clean bathroom. The window seemed very thick but we can still hear some road noise. It is not a problem for us to fall asleep but if you're a light sleeper, i would recommend earplug. If you stay in this hotel, remember to try their pizza. Its the best we had in our 14 day Italy trip. Their menu contains full three pages of pizza selection that explains how serious they are about their pizza.


It is a family owned and run establishment. One of the manager, Paolo, is very friendly and helpful who gave us tips with where to go and very responsive to our requests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We have just returned from the beautifull lake Como, We dined in the Hotel Argegno restaurant on wednesday night 2nd November (we are a family of five) when we finished our meal and having paid the bill we were asked the customery question "did you enjoy your meal" I informed the manager that in fact we did not, my wife did not receive the meal she ordered ,mine was cold , the range of salad's on the buffet were dried up and unappealing.The attitude of the owner was one of total disinterest and bordering on hostility .Overall the restaurants in Argegno are way overpriced when compared to Spain,Portugal or Croatia which we have visited in the past twelve months

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

A very nice and clean hotel. The manager is very friendly and helpful. During our europe trip, we have planned to stay at lake come for 1 night. But due to the train delay, when we reached lake come, it was evening. So we planned to stay 1 more night there, unfortunately, there was weekend , most all the hotels were fully booked. We were so worried and we have limited access to the internet at that moment to search for the room. Finally, we went to the hotel manager and seek for help. Without hestitate, he immediately search and call to the hotel in whole lake como to check for us. Luckily, atter 1 hours , he has get us a room which have a good location and reasonable price. We really touch and appreciate the affort of the Manager or else 3 of us have to sleep by the roadside. Sure we will visit lake como and stay at this hotel again in the future. Thanks a lot, Owner of Hotel Argegno !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argegno
4.6 mi away
La Griglia H
La Griglia H
#1 of 4 in Argegno
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Orso Bruno
Hotel Orso Bruno
#1 of 1 in Carate Urio
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
2.1 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Locanda Sant'Anna
Locanda Sant'Anna
#3 of 4 in Argegno
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Argegno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argegno

Address: Via Milano 14, 22010 Argegno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Argegno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Argegno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Argegno 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Argegno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Argegno Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Argegno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.