We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Argegno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Argegno to your Saves list
Hotel Argegno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Milano 14, 22010 Argegno, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Argegno
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
“Excellent stay and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We just returned from our 3 night stay at Lake Como. This is a fantastic value hotel located in a small town 20~30min north of Como by car. There are plenty of free parking in front of town church which is 40meters away from hotel. We enjoyed the lake side short walk everyday to our car. The parking lot in front of hotel is free to park after 10pm to before 8am. The ferry stop is just right outside across the main street from the hotel if you don't have a car.


When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised with how new the hotel and the room looked. The hotel is freshly painted inside and out. Except for the old TV (but hey, who needs to watch TV when you got a view of Lake Como), our lake facing balcony room looked like new with new blanket and clean bathroom. The window seemed very thick but we can still hear some road noise. It is not a problem for us to fall asleep but if you're a light sleeper, i would recommend earplug. If you stay in this hotel, remember to try their pizza. Its the best we had in our 14 day Italy trip. Their menu contains full three pages of pizza selection that explains how serious they are about their pizza.


It is a family owned and run establishment. One of the manager, Paolo, is very friendly and helpful who gave us tips with where to go and very responsive to our requests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We have just returned from the beautifull lake Como, We dined in the Hotel Argegno restaurant on wednesday night 2nd November (we are a family of five) when we finished our meal and having paid the bill we were asked the customery question "did you enjoy your meal" I informed the manager that in fact we did not, my wife did not receive the meal she ordered ,mine was cold , the range of salad's on the buffet were dried up and unappealing.The attitude of the owner was one of total disinterest and bordering on hostility .Overall the restaurants in Argegno are way overpriced when compared to Spain,Portugal or Croatia which we have visited in the past twelve months

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

A very nice and clean hotel. The manager is very friendly and helpful. During our europe trip, we have planned to stay at lake come for 1 night. But due to the train delay, when we reached lake come, it was evening. So we planned to stay 1 more night there, unfortunately, there was weekend , most all the hotels were fully booked. We were so worried and we have limited access to the internet at that moment to search for the room. Finally, we went to the hotel manager and seek for help. Without hestitate, he immediately search and call to the hotel in whole lake como to check for us. Luckily, atter 1 hours , he has get us a room which have a good location and reasonable price. We really touch and appreciate the affort of the Manager or else 3 of us have to sleep by the roadside. Sure we will visit lake como and stay at this hotel again in the future. Thanks a lot, Owner of Hotel Argegno !!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is basic, clean and great value. Rooms have fantastic views but open on main road so a bit noisy. Make sure you have Sunday lunch here!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Location, view and service were great but the noise of the traffic made it quite difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in February - we were freezing cold outside but lovely and warm inside - had laptop but honestly who wants to be bothered about wi-fit whilst on holiday! Mad! Lovely meals, staff so pleasant and friendly - we were actually on our way to Corfu so getting ferry from Venice. Great bar and good nighttime bar service and we are in our late 50s/60's. Only meant to stay for a night but ended up staying for 2. Would love to go back there on our drive back in Dec. Great food. Thank you to all who made us so welcome there. Ann and Roger.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Nicely situated across the road from the lake but it was expensive for basic accommodation. There was no air conditioning at the height of summer and that made for an uncomfortable night. The bars downstairs were loud until late so not the best place for a good night's sleep. They charged extra for the wi-fi as well. Not very good value and would be better when the weather is cooler. A more classier joint can be found across the road at the Belvedere - same price as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Argegno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argegno

Address: Via Milano 14, 22010 Argegno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Argegno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Argegno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Argegno 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Argegno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Argegno Lake Como, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Argegno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.